新闻中心

新闻发布稿

联合国儿童基金会执行主任维尼曼宣布向刚果共和国(布拉柴维尔)提供50万美元援助用于社会保障计划

2009年8月24日,刚果共和国布拉柴维尔 - 正在刚果共和国(布拉柴维尔)访问的联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼女士今天宣布增加五十万美元额外援助用于卫生、营养和教育项目,以帮助减轻全球经济危机对最脆弱人口的影响。

地处非洲大陆腹地的刚果布拉柴维尔,正在从造成100多万人流离失所的两次内战中艰难恢复。尽管自2003年和平协议签署以来已经取得一些进展,但目前仍有超过一半的人口生活在贫困线以下。

维尼曼指出,贫困使儿童和妇女受到最严重的影响。在刚果布拉柴维尔,每八个儿童中就有一名儿童在五岁前死于大部分本来可以预防的疾病。刚果也是非洲产妇死亡率最高的地区之一。

维尼曼走访了与刚果政府密切合作的“生命救援”国家行动(Life Savers)。这个项目推广主要推广12种简单易行的家庭日常措施,比如六个月纯母乳喂养、睡觉使用驱虫蚊帐、用肥皂洗手、腹泻时采用口服补液疗法等。她还走访了生命救援电话急救中心,这个每天24小时开通的热线为家长和照顾者在孩子生病时提供紧急帮助。

维尼曼会见了伊西多尔.姆埃姆巴总理(Isidore Mvoumba)和几位部长,她赞扬刚果政府在改善人民获得包括健康和教育等社会服务方面取得的成就。维尼曼还探讨了土著人口(俾格米人)、特别是那些被边缘化和受到社会歧视的儿童所面临的问题。 


联合国儿童基金会概况

联合国儿童基金会在全世界150多个国家和地区开展工作,帮助从幼儿期到青少年时期的儿童生存与健康成长。联合国儿童基金会是世界上向发展中国家提供疫苗最多的机构,并在以下领域开展支援工作:儿童卫生保健和营养、提供清洁饮水和环境卫生设施、帮助所有的男童和女童得到优质的基础教育、以及保护儿童免受暴力侵犯、剥削和艾滋病的伤害。联合国儿童基金会所有资金均来自政府、企业、基金会和个人的自愿捐助。

如需更多信息请联络

Kate Donovan
联合国儿童基金会媒体处
Tel: + 1 212 326 7452
E-mail: kdonovan@unicef.org

Hector Calderon
联合国儿童基金会布拉柴维尔办事处
Tel: + 242 578 24 27
E-mail: hcalderon@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Press release

UNICEF Executive Director announces $500,000 for social protection programs in The Republic of the Congo (Brazzaville)

BRAZZAVILLE, The Republic of the Congo, 24 August 2009 – UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, in her visit to The Republic of the Congo (Brazzaville), today announced $500,000 in additional support for health, nutrition and education programs to help mitigate the effects of the global economic crisis on the most vulnerable.  

Congo-Brazzaville, which lies in the heart of the African continent, is recovering from two civil wars that resulted in the displacement of over 1 million people.  Despite progress made since the peace agreement in 2003, more than half the population now lives below the poverty line.

“Women and children are the most affected by poverty,” said Veneman.  “In Congo-Brazzaville, one in eight children die before their fifth birthday, largely from preventable causes. The country also has one of the highest rates of maternal mortality in the region.”

The UNICEF Executive Director visited the ‘Life Savers’ national initiative, which in close cooperation with the Congolese Government, promotes 12 simple, easy to practice household behaviors, such as exclusive breast feeding for 6 months, sleeping under an insecticide-treated mosquito bednet, hand washing with soap, and the use of oral rehydration therapy for diarrhea.  She also visited the ‘Life Saving Telephone’ center, a 24/7 hotline which provides parents and caregivers an emergency number to call when their child is sick.

The UNICEF Executive Director met with the Prime Minister Isidore Mvouba and several ministers where she commended the government on improving access to social services including health and education.  Veneman also raised the issue of treatment of indigenous people (pygmies) especially children who are marginalized by society and often face discrimination. 

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.

For additional information and/or requests for interviews, please contact:
Kate Donovan, UNICEF Media,
Tel + 1 212 326 7452
E-mail: kdonovan@unicef.org

Hector Calderon, UNICEF Brazzaville
Tel + 242 578 24 27
E-mail: hcalderon@unicef.org


 

 

 

 Email this article

 Printer friendly

 Press Releases

New enhanced search