新闻中心

媒体咨询

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼就首届世界人道主义日发表讲话

2009年8月19日,纽约 – “在首届世界人道主义日到来之际,我们对那些在为帮助世界上最弱势群体所进行的人道主义行动中无私奉献的人道主义工作者们表示最诚挚的感谢和敬意。

“从苏丹到津巴布韦,从刚果民主共和国到索马里,人道主义工作人员以非凡的勇气和献身精神,帮助那些陷入冲突或暴力中的人们。

“今天,我们也停下来缅怀那些作出了最大牺牲的人道主义工作人员。六年前的八月十九日,联合国驻巴格达总部遭到袭击,21位工作人员不幸遇难,其中包括时任联合国驻伊拉克首席特使塞尔希奥.比埃拉.德梅洛(Sergio Vieira de Mello)。遇难人员还包括联合国儿童基金会驻伊拉克的方案协调员,克里斯.克莱恩.比克曼(Chris Klein Beekman),他遇难的时候年仅32岁。今年6月,联合国儿童基金会驻巴基斯坦教育部主任、来自菲律宾的帕西弗兰达.索(Perseveranda So)在白沙瓦明珠大酒店汽车炸弹袭击中不幸遇难,年仅52岁。

“一个令人不安的趋势表明,针对人道主义工作者的安全事件有所增加。在过去十年中,700多名人道主义工作者,在世界上一些最恶劣的环境中努力帮助那些最需要的人们时献出了自己的生命。数千人遭到轰炸、绑架、攻击、劫持、抢劫和强奸。

“确保工作人员的安全是我们最优先的事务。为他们提供机会开展工作是一个整体性的挑战和责任。不能为提供挽救生命帮助的人道主义行动确保安全空间,是不可接受和不能妥协的。每年的这一天,将成为纪念那些始终不渝地致力于贯彻人道主义行动原则的人道主义者们的永久见证。”

如需了解更多信息请联络:
联合国儿童基金会纽约总部 派屈克.麦克考米克
电话:+ 1 212 326 7426;
电邮:pmccormick@unicef.org


 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Statement

Ann M. Veneman, Executive Director of UNICEF, on the occasion of World Humanitarian Day

NEW YORK, 19 August 2009 – “On this, the inaugural World Humanitarian Day, we extend our deepest appreciation and respect to those who selflessly dedicate their lives to humanitarian action for the world’s most vulnerable.

“From Sudan, to Zimbabwe, from the Democratic Republic of Congo to Somalia, humanitarian workers display uncommon courage and dedication to helping those caught up in the midst of conflict or violence.

“Today we also pause to remember those who have made the ultimate sacrifice. Six years ago, on August 19th, twenty-two people were killed in an attack on UN headquarters in Baghdad, including the-then UN Special Representative Sergio Vieira de Mello. Among the victims was Chris Klein Beekman, UNICEF's Programme Coordinator in Iraq. He was 32. This June, UNICEF’s Chief of Education in Pakistan was killed in a car bomb attack at the Pearl Hotel in Peshawar.  Perseveranda So was from the Philippines. She was 52.

“A disturbing trend shows an increase in security incidents against humanitarian workers. In the last decade, more than 700 humanitarian workers have given their lives while striving to help those most in need in some of the world’s most hostile environments. Thousands more have endured bombing, kidnapping, attacks, hijacking, robbery and rape.

“Ensuring the safety of staff is of utmost priority. Providing access for them to carry out their work is a collective challenge and responsibility. Failure to ensure a humanitarian space for the provision of life-saving help is unacceptable and non-negotiable. This day stands as a testament to that and to those who unfailingly commit themselves to the principles of humanitarian action.”

For more information, please contact:
Patrick McCormick, UNICEF New York
Tel + 1 212 326 7426;
E-mail: pmccormick@unicef.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search