新闻中心

媒体咨询

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼参加“国际土著人民日”庆祝活动

2009年8月9日 纽约 – “在许多地方,土著人在其所处社会中都属于最脆弱和边际化的群体。 比如在拉丁美洲,许多土著社区的生活水准远远低于全国平均水平。”

“近年来,在促进和保护土著儿童权利方面已取得了显著进展。2009年1月,儿童权利委员会“关于儿童权利的一般性评论”(11号评论)的最后成文为各国保护土著儿童的权利提供了指导,是这一进程中最新的贡献。 另外,2007年9月大会通过了《土著人民权利宣言》,这将有助于为履行土著儿童的权利制定标准。

2009年“世界土著人民国际日”纪念活动的主题是“土著人与艾滋病毒/艾滋病”。

“许多土著人生活在艾滋病毒特别易蔓延的环境和条件下。然而,对土著人进行艾滋病监测的努力往往不够,通过当地参与干预的例子可反映出这一状况。”

“健康教育是预防止艾滋病毒传播必不可少的。在对待疾病、性生活和生育方面,土著人有自己不同的信仰、习俗和敏感性,这些将对土著社区的健康教育成功与否产生影响。”

“为了土著儿童和妇女得到有效的艾滋病毒预防和护理,必须找出和明白造成土著社区艾滋病流行的原因,并以土著社区可接受的方式提供适当的信息。”

“今年是《儿童权利公约》通过20周年,包括土著人的新一代儿童,已在公约的保护下成长。 虽然已取得了显著进展,但在实现土著儿童的权利方面依然存在重大障碍。联合国儿童基金会将继续与合作伙伴一起为实现所有儿童的权利而努力。”

更多信息请联络:

联合国儿童基金会媒体联络处
Kate Donovan
Tel + 1 212 326 7452
E-mail: kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Statement

Ann M. Veneman, Executive Director of UNICEF, on the occasion of the International Day of the World’s Indigenous People

NEW YORK, 9 August 2009 – “In many places, indigenous people are among the most vulnerable and marginalized members of their societies. In Latin American, for example, any indigenous communities have standards of living that are far below national averages.”

“In recent years, remarkable progress has been made in promoting and protecting the rights of indigenous children. The finalization of a Committee on the Rights of the Child’ General Comment (Comment 11) in January 2009, which provides guidance to States on the protection of the rights of indigenous children, is the latest contribution to this process. Combined with the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, adopted by the General Assembly in September 2007, it helps set standards for the fulfilment of indigenous children’s rights.”

“The theme of the International Day of the World’s Indigenous People in 2009 is indigenous people and HIV and AIDS.”

“Many indigenous peoples live in conditions that make them especially vulnerable to the spread of HIV.  Yet efforts to monitor the epidemic among indigenous peoples are often lacking, as are examples of interventions informed by local participation.”

“Health education is essential to preventing the transmission of HIV and AIDS.  Differing indigenous beliefs, practices and sensitivities about illness, sex and reproduction will have an impact on the success of that health education in indigenous communities.”

“If indigenous children and women are to receive effective HIV prevention and care, the factors that drive the epidemic in indigenous communities must be identified and understood, and appropriate information must be provided in ways that are accessible to indigenous communities. “

“This year marks the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, and a generation of children, including those who are indigenous, has grown up under the protection of the Convention. Remarkable progress has been made but significant obstacles to the realization of indigenous children’s rights remain. UNICEF will continue to work with its partners towards the realization of the rights of all children.”

For further information, please contact:
Kate Donovan, UNICEF Media,
Tel + 1 212 326 7452
E-mail: kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search