Centre de presse

Note d'actualité

La Directrice générale de l'UNICEF, Ann M. Veneman en visite en République arabe syrienne

DAMAS, 29 juin 2009 – Pour la première visite d'un Directeur général de l'UNICEF en République arabe syrienne, Mme Ann M. Veneman a rencontréle Président syrien Bashar Al Assad, les ministres du gouvernement, La première Dame Asma Akhras Al Assad et visité des programmes d'aide aux enfants, aux jeunes et aux réfugiés iraquiens.

« La Syrie reconnaît l'importance cruciale d'investir dans l'enfance et ladolescence, » a déclaré Mme Veneman. « Pourtant des défis restent à relever comme la garantie d'une éducation de qualité, de donner le choix aux jeunes et de répondre à  l'impact de la sécheresse. »

La Syrie a fait des progrès significatifs vers l'accomplissement des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement. La mortalité des moins de cinq ans a diminué, passant de 37 pour 1000 naissances vivantes en 1990 à 17 pour mille en 2007. Et plus de 90 pour cent des enfants en âge scolaire vont à l'école.

Malgré tout, environ quatre pour cent des enfants âgés entre 5 et 14 ans doivent encore travailler et 13 pour cent des femmes entre 20 et 24 ans ont été mariées avant d'avoir 18 ans. La malnutrition demeure un problème de santé publique, avec 22 pour cent d'enfants de moins de cinq ans souffrant de retards dans leur développement. Beaucoup d'enfants sont confrontés à la violence à la maison et à l'école. Il  est donc important de les protéger de telles violations de leurs droits..

Selon l'agence des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés, la Syrie accueille plus d’un million de réfugiés en provenance d'Irak. Cet afflux de réfugiés fait pression sur les capacités d'enseignement et des systèmes de santé du pays. L’UNICEF travaille avec des partenaires pour pouvoir répondre aux besoins des femmes et des enfants réfugiés irakiens.

Des espaces d'accueil "Amis des adolescents et des enfants" ont été établis pour fournir aux enfants et aux femmes réfugiés un appui psychosocial, la possibilité d'apprendre et d'acquérir des compétences.

Pendant son voyage, Mme Veneman a visité des programmes d'aide aux adolescents et  rencontrés les représentants d'organisations non gouvernementales essentielles qui oeuvrent pour apporter aux enfants et aux jeunes l’esprit d’initiative. Elle a également visité des projets Eau et assainissement.

Elle a aussi visité un centre de santé communautaire soutenu par l'UNICEF pour les femmes s'occupant des réfugiés iraquiens, une institution de microfinance soutenue par la Fondation Agha Khan , un programme d'orientation professionnelle pour les adolescents soutenus par le projet Syria Trust for Development (SHABAB).

Mme Veneman a aussi rencontré les ministres de la Santé et de l'Éducation, ainsi que le chef de la Commission de planification nationale, le ministre adjoint des Affaires étrangères, le chef de la Commission syrienne pour les Affaires familiales et le président du Croissant rouge arabe syrien.

A propos de l'UNICEF
L'UNICEF est présent dans environ 150 pays et territoires afin d'aider les enfants à survivre et à grandir, depuis la petite enfance, en passant par l'adolescence. L'UNICEF est le principal pourvoyeur au monde de vaccins pour les pays en développement ; il soutient des programmes de santé et nutrition pour les enfants, d'eau potable et assainissement, d'éducation de base de qualité pour toutes les filles et tous les garçons ainsi que de protection des enfants contre la violence, l'exploitation et le SIDA. L'UNICEF est entièrement financé par les contributions volontaires de personnes, d'entreprises, de fondations et de gouvernements.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter :
Abdel-Rahman Ghandour
Bureau régional de l'UNICEF pour le Moyen-orient et l'Afrique du Nord,
tél. : + 962-79-700-4567
Courriel : arghandour@unicef.org 

Razan Rashidi
UNICEF Syrie,
tél. : + 963-933-549-020
Courriel : rrashidi@unicef.org


 

 

 

Vidéo (en anglais)

29 juin 2009 :
Un reportage de la correspondante de l'UNICEF Amy Bennett sur la visite décisive de la Directrice générale Ann M. Veneman en Syrie.
 VIDÉO  haut | bas

Obtenez des vidéos de
qualité professionnelle
chez The Newsmarket

Forum humanitaire mondial

La sécheresse était une des questions abordées pendant  La visite de Ann M. Veneman en Syrie. Au Forum humanitaire mondial à Genève juste avant son voyage, elle avait rejoint une réunion-débat sur le changement climatique, qui est de plus en plus cité comme une cause de sécheresse et de mauvaises conditions climatiques.

Regardez la vidéo
de la table ronde
« Acteurs Humanitaires »
 
(Humanitarian Actors).
(lien externe, s'ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre)

Recherche

Press centre

News note

UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman visits Syrian Arab Republic

DAMASCUS, 29 June 2009 – On the first visit ever of a UNICEF Executive Director to the Syrian Arab Republic, Ann M. Veneman met with Syrian President Bashar Al Assad, government ministers, First Lady Asma Akhras Al Assad and visited programs assisting children, youth and Iraqi refugees.

“Syria is recognizing the critical importance of investing in children and adolescents,” said Veneman. “Yet challenges remain including ensuring quality education, providing opportunities for youth and addressing the impact of drought.”

Syria has made significant progress in achieving the Millennium Development Goals. Under-five mortality decreased from 37 per 1,000 live births in 1990 to 17 in 2007, and more than 90 per cent of primary age children are attending school.

However, some 4 per cent of children aged 5 to 14 are involved in child labor and 13 per cent of women between the ages of 20 and 24 were married before they reached 18. Malnutrition is a public health concern, with 22 per cent of children less than five years old suffering from stunting. Many children face violence in homes and schools and it is important to protect them from such violations of their rights.

According to the United Nations refugee agency, Syria is hosting over 1 million refugees from Iraq. This influx of refugees has put pressure on the country’s education and health systems, and UNICEF is working with partners to help meeting the needs of Iraqi refugee women and children.

Adolescent and child-friendly spaces have been established to provide psychosocial support, learning opportunities and life skills to refugee children and women.

During her trip, Veneman visited programs to support adolescents, met with representatives of  key non-governmental organizations  promoting entrepreneurship among children and young people, and visited water projects.

She also visited a UNICEF-supported community health care centre for women serving Iraqi refugees, a microfinance institution supported by the Agha Khan Foundation, a business orientation program for adolescents supported by Syria Trust for Development project SHABAB.

Veneman also met with ministers of Health and Education, as well as the Head of the State Planning Commission, the Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Head of the Syrian Commission for Family Affairs and the President of the Syrian Arab Red crescent.

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence. The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.

About the UNICEF Executive Director
Ann M. Veneman assumed the leadership of UNICEF on 1 May 2005, becoming the fifth Executive Director to lead UNICEF in its 60-year history. Prior to joining UNICEF, Veneman served as Secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture. At UNICEF, Veneman directs a global agency of over 10,000 staff and annual total resources of more than $3 billion, funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of governments, businesses, foundations and individuals. Since assuming the position of Executive Director, she has traveled around the world, witnessing firsthand the work of UNICEF, speaking at meetings and conferences, and visiting heads of state or government and other partners.

For more information, please contact:
Abdel-Rahman Ghandour
UNICEF Regional Office in the Middle East and North Africa,
Tel + 962-79-700-4567
E-mail: arghandour@unicef.org 

Razan Rashidi
UNICEF Syria,
Tel + 963-933-549-020
E-mail: rrashidi@unicef.org


 

 

 

 Email this article

 Printer friendly

 Press Releases

Video

29 June 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on Executive Director Ann M. Veneman’s landmark trip to Syria.
 VIDEO high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Global Humanitarian Forum

Drought was one of the issues addressed during Ann M. Veneman's visit to Syria. At the Global Humanitarian Forum in Geneva just prior to the trip, she joined a panel discussion on climate change, which is increasingly cited as a cause of drought and severe weather.

Watch the panel entitled 'Humanitarian Actors'.
(external link, opens in a new window)

New enhanced search