新闻中心

新闻发布稿

在世界疟疾日,联合国儿童基金会称已取得显著成果并呼吁加大努力

美国华盛顿特区,2009年4月24日 - 联合国儿童基金会在世界疟疾日前夕发布了一份最新的联合报告,报告中指出世界在防治疟疾方面取得了长足的进展,尤其是在疟疾最猖獗的非洲,但是仍需付出更多的努力才能应对这一全球性的灾难。

点击此处查看报告

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼说:“我们已经准备好不再让疟疾导致人类死亡或残疾,这在历史上还是第一次。这份报告表明有地方性流行病的非洲国家在2004至2008年间获得了足够的驱虫蚊帐,以覆盖多达40%的高危险人群。”

减疟伙伴关系(RBM)与全球防治艾滋病、肺结核和疟疾基金共同发布的《疟疾与儿童:干预行动范围的进展》报告中的数据表明,有明显迹象显示非洲在防止疟疾方面取得了巨大的进展,尤其是驱虫蚊帐的分发数量明显增加。自2004年以来,全球生产的驱虫蚊帐数量已经增加了两倍——从3000万增至2008年的1亿。

维尼曼女士说:“然而,疟疾每年仍夺走100万人的生命,其中大多数为非洲的儿童。疟疾每年还影响大约5000万名孕产妇,造成产妇贫血、低出生体重儿甚至孕产妇死亡。

今年4月25日世界疟疾日的主题为“疟疾倒计时”,因为距离2010年12月31日的最后期限只剩下600天了。联合国秘书长设立的这个日子,旨在让所有有地方流行病的国家在此前普及必要的防治疟疾干预措施。

维尼曼女士说:“扩大有效的干预行动帮助很多国家的保健设施减少了疟疾病例及死亡病例的数量,包括厄立特里亚、卢旺达、赞比亚和马达加斯加。这帮助减轻了不堪负荷的医院及诊所的负担,还使工作岗位和学校的缺勤率降低。”

防治疟疾是事关全球发展的重要议题,并对非洲实现千年发展目标至关重要。全球防治疟疾意识的提高使得可用资源在过去的几年内有明显的增加,这还要感谢全球防治艾滋病、肺结核和疟疾基金、美国总统疟疾倡议、世界银行及其它合作伙伴的大力支持。

维尼曼女士说:“该报告表明现在已有资金购买足够的驱虫蚊帐,以帮助非洲在2010年前实现蚊帐的全面普及。”

###

背景信息

联合国儿童基金会是世界最大的全球驱虫蚊帐采购者及递送者,该组织在2008年采购了2000万顶蚊帐。目前,联合国儿童基金会采购的蚊帐的数量是2000年的20倍。这些蚊帐中超过90%是用药效持久的杀虫剂处理过的蚊帐,因而不需要再处理。作为产前保健和免疫接种综合项目的一部分,这些蚊帐被分发给孕产妇及年幼的儿童。

联合国儿童基金会在150多个国家和地区设有办事处,以帮助从幼儿到青春期的儿童生存和茁壮成长。作为全球发展中国家最大的疫苗供应者,联合国儿童基金会在儿童保健和营养、良好的供水和卫生设施、男女平等的优质基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病影响等领域提供帮助。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来自个人、企业、基金会和政府的自愿捐款。

更多信息请联络

Brian Hansford
联合国儿童基金会纽约总部媒体处
电话:+1 212 326 7269
电邮:bhansford@unicef.org

Kate Donovan
联合国儿童基金会纽约总部媒体处
电话:+1 212 326 7452
电邮:Kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

报告原文

搜索

Press centre

Press release

On World Malaria Day, UNICEF highlights successes but calls for greater effort

WASHINGTON, D.C. - 24 April 2009 – Progress has been made in combating malaria, particularly in Africa where the disease is most prevalent, but more must be done to address the global scourge, UNICEF said, as it released a new joint report on the eve of World Malaria Day. 

View report: Malaria & Children:  Progress in Intervention Coverage {pdf}

“We are, for the first time in history, poised to make malaria a rare cause of death and disability,” said Ann M. Veneman, UNICEF Executive Director.  “The report shows that endemic African countries received enough nets during 2004-2008 to cover more than 40 per cent of their at-risk populations.”

Data presented in the ‘Malaria and Children, Progress in Intervention Coverage’ report, a joint effort with the Roll Back Malaria (RBM) Partnership and the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, show major signs of progress across Africa in the fight against malaria, particularly in the increase in distribution of insecticide-treated nets (ITNs). Since 2004 the number of ITNs produced worldwide has more than tripled—from 30 million to 100 million in 2008.

“However every year, this disease still kills an estimated one million people, most of them children in Africa,” said Veneman. “Malaria also affects around 50 million pregnant women annually, contributing to maternal anaemia, low birth weight babies and even maternal death.”

The theme of this year’s World Malaria Day, which is marked on April 25, is “Counting malaria out", and there are now just over 600 days remaining until 31 December 2010, the Secretary-General’s deadline for all endemic countries to achieve universal coverage with essential malaria control interventions.

“Scaling-up effective interventions has led to declines in malaria cases and deaths at health facilities in many countries, including Eritrea, Rwanda, Zambia and Madagascar,” said Veneman. “This has the added benefit of reducing the burden on over-stretched hospitals and clinics and having less absentees in the workplace and in school.”

Malaria control is now a major global development priority and is critical for achieving the Millennium Development Goals in Africa. Increased global awareness about malaria has contributed to a significant rise in available resources over recent years, thanks to the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria, the US President’s Malaria Initiative, the World Bank, and others.

“The report shows financing is now available to purchase enough nets to put Africa well on the way to achieving universal coverage by 2010,” said Veneman.

###

Background information

UNICEF is the world’s largest global procurer and deliverer of ITNs with 20 million procured in 2008.  The number of nets procured by UNICEF is 20 times greater today than in 2000. More than 90 per cent of these were long lasting insecticide-treated nets that do not require re-treatment. These nets are distributed to pregnant women and young children as part of integrated programmes that include antenatal care and immunization.

UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence. The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, safe water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS. UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.


For further information, please contact:

Brian Hansford, UNICEF Media NY, +1 212 326 7269, bhansford@unicef.org
Kate Donovan,  UNICEF Media NY, +1 212 326 7452, Kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

Video

21 April 2009: UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman talks about the progress UNICEF and its partners have made towards eradicating malaria.
  VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search