新闻中心

官方声明

联合国儿童基金会:发展中国家的孕妇和新生儿面临着极大危险

在最不发达国家,怀孕的死亡率要高300倍

约翰内斯堡/纽约/日内瓦, 2009年1月15日 - 根据联合国儿童基金会今天在这里发布的最新«世界儿童状况报告»,世界上最不发达国家中的妇女相比发达国家妇女更可能死于分娩或妊娠并发症,比率可高达300倍。

与此同时,出生在发展中国家的儿童,在出生后第一个月死亡的可能性要比出生在发达国家的儿童高几乎14倍。

母亲们和新生儿的健康与生存是紧密相关的,许多拯救母亲生命的干预措施也有利于其婴儿。联合国儿童基金会2009年版的旗舰出版物«世界儿童状况报告»,突出了孕产妇和新生儿生存之间的联系,但也指出在缩小富国与穷国之间的差距上存在机会。

“每年,有50多万妇女死于怀孕或分娩并发症,其中包括约7万名年龄在15至19岁之间的少女和年轻妇女,”联合国儿童基金会执行主任安•维尼曼(Ann M. Veneman)在约翰内斯堡的首发式上说。“自1990年以来,有关妊娠和分娩并发症已造成约1,000万名妇女死亡。”

母亲在分娩和婴儿在出生后的数天和几周内都是非常脆弱的——这是进行生存干预的一个关键时期。干预措施包括就孕产妇和新生儿健康中出现的危险迹象进行产后检查、采取适当的卫生方法和提供咨询。

虽然近年来许多发展中国家在提高儿童生存率上已取得巨大的进展,但是在降低产妇死亡率方面的进展还不够。

比如,尼日尔和马拉维的儿童死亡率在1990年和2007年间几乎减半;在印度尼西亚,五岁以下儿童死亡率下降到1990年的近三分之一;在孟加拉国,五岁以下儿童死亡率下降了一半以上。

然而在降低母亲健康风险上,却没有这么大的进步,而母亲在分娩期间和婴儿出生后的头几天内是最脆弱的。同时,虽然在全球范围内5岁以下儿童的生存率正在提高,在许多国家婴儿在出生头28天内所面临的风险仍然高得令人无法接受。

在发展中世界,产妇一生中面临的死亡风险为1/76,而发达国家妇女这一比率则为1/8000。全球因怀孕及其并发症引发的死亡中,约99%发生在发展中世界,在那里生孩子仍然是妇女面临的最严重的健康风险之一。其中,绝大多数死亡发生在生育率高的非洲和亚洲,那里缺乏训练有素的人员及卫生系统薄弱使许多年轻妇女面临着悲剧的结果。

产妇一生死亡风险最高的10个国家为尼日尔、阿富汗、塞拉利昂、乍得、安哥拉、利比里亚、索马里、刚果民主共和国、几内亚比绍和马里。在这些国家范围,一名妇女一生所面临的产妇死亡风险从尼日尔的1/7到马里的1/15不等。

同时,每名妇女死亡的同时,会另有20名妇女患有疾病或受伤,并且往往造成严重和持续的影响。

为了降低孕产妇和婴儿死亡率,报告建议,通过将家庭、社区、外展和医疗机构综合在一起的卫生系统来提供基本的服务。

这种一体化照顾的概念超越了传统上重点放在单一的、特定疾病的干预措施方法,而是主张建立一个能涵盖每一阶段的孕产妇、新生儿和儿童的卫生保健模式。

“拯救母亲和她们新生儿的生命,需要的不仅仅是医疗干预措施,”维尼曼说。“女童教育是改善孕产妇和新生儿健康的关键,这也有利于家庭和社会。”

报告还发现,保健服务在一个支持赋予妇女权利、保护和教育妇女的环境中可以得到最好的发挥。

###

关于联合国儿童基金会
联合国儿童基金会在150多个国家和地区设有办事处,以帮助从幼儿到青春期的儿童生存和茁壮成长。作为全球发展中国家最大的疫苗供应者,联合国儿童基金会 在儿童保健和营养、良好的供水和卫生设施、男女平等的优质基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病影响等领域提供援助。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来 自于个人、企业、基金会和政府的自愿捐款。

广播电视机构请注意

您可在以下网址得到免费的录像资料: www.thenewsmarket.com/unicef

如需更多信息或安排采访,请联络

约翰内斯堡

联合国儿童基金会驻南非办事处 Shantha Bloemen +27 11517-1617 sbloemen@unicef.org
联合国儿童基金会驻南非办事处 Yvonne Duncan  +27 (0) 82 561 3970 yduncan@unicef.org
联合国儿童基金会                    Brian Hansford    1 917 605 1699 bhansford@unicef.org

纽约

联合国儿童基金会            Kate Donovan  + 212 326 7452  kdonovan@unicef.org
联合国儿童基金会           Christian Moen  + 212 326 7516  cmoen@unicef.org

日内瓦

联合国儿童基金会            Vronique Taveau +41 22 909 5716  vtaveau@unicef.org


 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Press release

UNICEF: Extreme Risks for Pregnant Women and Newborn Babies in Developing Countries

Pregnancy 300 times deadlier in least developed world

JOHANNESBURG/NEW YORK/GENEVA, 15 January 2009 - Women in the world’s least developed countries are 300 times more likely to die in childbirth or from pregnancy-related complications than women in developed countries, according to UNICEF’s latest State of the World’s Children report, released here today.  www.unicef.org/sowc09

At the same time, a child born in a developing country is almost 14 times more likely to die during the first month of life than a child born in a developed one.

The health and survival of mothers and their newborns are linked, and many of the interventions that save new mothers’ lives also benefit their infants. The 2009 edition of UNICEF’s flagship publication, The State of the World’s Children, highlights the link between maternal and neonatal survival, and suggests opportunities to close the gap between rich and poor countries.

“Every year, more than half a million women die as a result of pregnancy or childbirth complications, including about 70,000 girls and young women aged 15 to 19,” said Ann M. Veneman, UNICEF Executive Director, at the Johannesburg launch. “Since 1990, complications related to pregnancy and childbirth have killed an estimated 10 million women.”

Both mothers and infants are vulnerable in the days and weeks after birth – a critical time for life-saving interventions, such as post-natal visits, proper hygiene, and counseling about the danger signs of maternal and newborn health.

While many developing countries have made excellent progress improving their child survival rate in recent years, there has been less headway in reducing maternal mortality.

Niger and Malawi, for example, nearly cut their under-five death rates in half between 1990 and 2007. In Indonesia, under-five death rates fell to nearly a third of what they were in 1990, and in Bangladesh they fell by more than a half.

The same progress has not been made in addressing health risks for mothers, who are most vulnerable during delivery and in the first days after birth. And while the rate of survival for children under five years of age is improving globally, the risks faced by infants in the first 28 days remain at unacceptably high levels in many countries. 

In the developing world, a woman has a 1 in 76 lifetime risk of maternal death, compared with a probability of 1 in 8,000 for women in developed countries.  Approximately 99 percent of global deaths arising from pregnancy and complications occur in the developing world, where having a child remains among the most serious health risks for women.  The vast majority occur in Africa and Asia, where high fertility rates, a shortage of trained personnel and weak health systems spell tragedy for many young women.

The ten countries with the highest lifetime risk of maternal death are Niger, Afghanistan, Sierra Leone, Chad, Angola, Liberia, Somalia, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Guinea-Bissau, and Mali. A woman’s lifetime risk of maternal death in these countries ranges from 1 in 7 in Niger to 1 in 15 in Mali. 

And for every woman who dies, another 20 suffer illnesses or injury, often with severe and lasting consequences. 

To lower maternal and infant mortality, the report recommends essential services be provided through health systems that integrate a continuum of home, community, outreach and facility-based care.

This continuum of care concept transcends the traditional emphasis on single, disease-specific interventions, calling instead for a model of primary health care that embraces every stage of maternal, newborn and child health.

“Saving the lives of mothers and their newborns requires more than just medical intervention,” said Veneman. “Educating girls is pivotal to improving maternal and neonatal health and also benefits families and societies.”

The report finds that health services are most effective in an environment supportive of women’s empowerment, protection, and education.

###

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments

Attention broadcasters:

Video footage is available free of charge at www.thenewsmarket.com/unicef

For more information, and interviews, please contact:

In Johannesburg:

Shantha Bloemen, UNICEF South Africa,  +27 11517-1617, sbloemen@unicef.org
Yvonne Duncan, UNICEF South Africa,  + cell: + 27 (0) 82 561 3970 yduncan@unicef.org
Brian Hansford, UNICEF, mobile ++ 1 917 605 1699, e-mail: bhansford@unicef.org

In New York:

Kate Donovan, UNICEF New York, Tel:  ++ 212 326 7452 e-mail: kdonovan@unicef.org
Christian Moen, UNICEF, New York, Tel:  ++ 212 326 7516 e-mail: cmoen@unicef.org

In Geneva:

Veronique Taveau, UNICEF Geneva, Tel: +41 22 909 5716, vtaveau@unicef.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search