新闻中心

官方声明

联合国儿童基金会:报告强调发展中国家产妇死亡威胁

几乎所有的产妇死亡情况都发生在发展中国家;其中超过80%发生在撒哈拉以南的非洲和南亚。

日内瓦,2008年9月19日 - 联合国儿童基金会今天发布的有关产妇死亡的最新报告强调了发展中国家妇女在孕期及分娩时面临的生命风险。

《进步为儿童:产妇死亡报告》表明,最新数据显示超过99%的产妇死亡情况都发生在发展中国家,而84%集中出现在撒哈拉以南的非洲和南亚。

“令人悲哀的是每年超过50万的妇女由妊娠或分娩导致的综合症致死,”联合国儿童基金会卫生项目处主任彼得.萨拉玛(Peter Salama)说,“导致产妇死亡的原因很明显,而战胜它的方法也是同样显而易见的,但是妇女仍在无辜的死去。”

大出血是最常见的死因,尤其是在非洲和亚洲。妇女的综合健康状况(包括营养水平和艾滋病状况)同样影响妊娠和分娩。其他的影响还包括一些社会因素,如贫困、不平等及对妇女保健的普遍态度。产妇死亡率还经常受到文化及传统习俗的影响,这些因素常常阻碍妇女获得分娩护理或产后护理。

在发展中国家,妇女死于妊娠或分娩综合症的风险为七十六分之一,而在工业化国家这一比例仅为八千分之一 。在尼日尔,妇女分娩时死亡的机率最大,据估计该风险机率为七分之一。

大多数死亡情况都是可以避免的。避免死亡的一个主要手段就是提供更好的医疗保健,尤其是在妊娠期、分娩时和分娩后。促进产妇保健的干预措施包括:产前保健、卫生保健提供者发起的艾滋病毒检测和咨询、熟练的分娩护理、紧急产科护理、产后护理及按照国策进行的计划生育。当全套护理中包含了基于家庭、社区、外延及设施的服务,这些干预措施可为母亲、儿童及他们所在的社区带来更多的福祉。

近年来,在产妇保健方面已取得了一些喜人的成果。发展中国家产前保健的覆盖率在过去的十年中增长了15%,而现在75%的孕妇正在接受产前护理。与此同时,很多国家已经大幅增加了专业分娩护理的覆盖率。例如,在亚洲的一些地区,妇女在分娩时有专业护理人员在场的比例从1995年的31%提高到2005年的40%。在一些非洲国家,这一比例也有所升高。确保分娩时有专业护理人员在场,并且保证这些护理人员能够在需要的时候进行急救护理是挽救产妇生命的最有效的方法。

千年发展目标中关于产妇保健的目标呼吁从1990年到2015年期间将产妇死亡率降低75%。然而,发展中国家实现该目标的步伐过于缓慢。如果要按时实现该目标,就必须加快步伐。

为了实现千年发展目标,必须把产妇保健作为全面护理的一部分,将必不可少的产妇保健、新生儿保健和儿童保健服务连接起来。事实上,产妇死亡率的高低往往能够反映出一个国家保健系统的综合状况,尤其是分娩时和分娩后,即母亲和新生儿最脆弱的时期。为了填补这一差距,必须扩大有益于母亲和孩子的服务,因为母亲的健康与新生儿的健康息息相关。

“挽救母亲们的生命不仅仅是道德上的要求,还是使儿童及其家人、社区乃至国家受益的可靠投资,”联合国儿童基金会统计和监测处主任泰莎.沃德劳(Tessa Wardlaw)说,“事实上,在产妇保健和其他千年发展目标之间是有着明显联系的,比如根除极度贫困 、降低儿童死亡率以及抗击艾滋病等其他疾病。”

关于联合国儿童基金会

联合国儿童基金会在150多个国家和地区设有办事处,以帮助幼儿到青春期儿童的生存和茁壮成长。该组织是全球发展中国家疫苗的最大供应者。联合国儿 童基金会支持儿童保健和营养、良好的水和公共卫生设施、男女平等的高质量的基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病的影响。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来自于个人、企业、其他基金会和政府的自愿捐款。


广播专业人士请注意:欲获得广播质量的b带,请访问: www.thenewsmarket.com/unicef

如需了解更多信息,请联系:

维罗尼克.塔沃(Veronique Taveau)
联合国儿童基金会日内瓦总部
电话:++ 41 22 909 5716
电邮:vtaveau@unicef.org

布莱恩. 汉斯福特(Brian Hansford)
联合国儿童基金会纽约总部
电话:++ 212 326 7269
电邮:bhansford@unicef.org

凯特.多诺万(Kate Donovan)
联合国儿童基金会纽约总部
电话:++ 212 326 7452
电邮:kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

视频(英文)

2008年9月16日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.尼尔斯报告在发展中国家造成妇女无谓死亡的主要原因。

  视频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Press centre

Press release

UNICEF: Report highlights risk of maternal mortality in developing world

Nearly all maternal deaths occur in developing countries; over 80 per cent in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia

GENEVA, 19 September 2008 - A new report on maternal mortality, released by UNICEF today, highlights the risks faced during pregnancy and childbirth by women in developing countries.

Progress for Children: A Report Card on Maternal Mortality states that, according to the latest data, more than 99 per cent of all maternal deaths occur in developing countries, with some 84 per cent concentrated in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia.

“The tragic fact is that every year more than half a million women lose their lives as a result of complications due to pregnancy or childbirth,” said Peter Salama, UNICEF’s Chief of Health.  “The causes of maternal mortality are clear – as are the means to combat them. Yet women continue to die unnecessarily.”

Haemorrhage is the most common cause of death, particularly in Africa and Asia. A woman’s overall health – including her nutritional level and HIV status – also influences the chances of a positive outcome to her pregnancy and childbirth. Other influences include societal factors, such as poverty, inequity and general attitudes towards women and their health. Maternal mortality rates are often impacted by cultural or traditional practices that often prevent women from seeking delivery or post-partum care.

In the developing world, the risk of death from complications relating to pregnancy and childbirth over the course of a woman’s lifetime is one in 76, compared with one in 8,000 in the industrialized world. The riskiest place to give birth is Niger, where that risk is estimated to be one in seven.

Most maternal deaths are avoidable. A key to avoiding them is better health care – particularly during pregnancy, delivery and in the post-partum period. Interventions that improve maternal health include: antenatal care, provider-initiated HIV testing and counseling, skilled attendance at birth, emergency obstetric care, post-partum care and family planning in keeping with national policies. When offered across a continuum of care that integrates home, community, outreach and facility-based services, these interventions can have multiple benefits for mothers, children and the communities in which they live.

There have been some promising areas of improvement in maternal health interventions in recent years. Coverage of antenatal care throughout the developing world has increased by 15 percentage points in the past decade, with 75 percent of expectant mothers now receiving some antenatal care. At the same time, many countries have boosted coverage of skilled delivery attendance. In parts of Asia, for example, the proportion of women who have a skilled attendant present during delivery jumped from 31 to 40 percent between 1995 and 2005. Increases have also been seen in many African countries. Ensuring that skilled personnel are present at all deliveries and that these personnel have access to emergency care where necessary is the most effective means of saving the lives of mothers.

However the pace of progress towards reaching the Millennium Development Goal on maternal health, which calls for a 75 per cent reduction in the maternal mortality ration between 1990 and 2015, has been too slow throughout the developing world and must now be accelerated if the goal is to be reached.

To achieve the MDG target, maternal health must be addressed as part of a continuum of care that connects essential maternal, newborn and child health services.  Indeed, levels of maternal mortality often reflect the overall performance of a country’s national health system – particularly during delivery and in the postnatal period, when mothers and newborns are most vulnerable. To fill this critical gap, services that benefit both mother and child need to be scaled up, as the health of the mother is closely linked to that of her newborn.

“Saving mothers’ lives is not only a moral imperative, but a sound investment that benefits their children, their families, their communities and their countries,” said Tessa Wardlaw, UNICEF’s Chief of Statistics and Monitoring. “Indeed, there is a clear connection between maternal health and other Millennium Development Goals, such as eradicating extreme poverty, reducing child mortality, and combating HIV and AIDS and other diseases.”

About UNICEF

UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.


Attention broadcasters to obtain broadcast quality b-roll, please visit: www.thenewsmarket.com/unicef

For further information, please contact:

Veronique Taveau, UNICEF Geneva, Tel: ++ 41 22 909 5716 e-mail: vtaveau@unicef.org

Brian Hansford, UNICEF New York, Tel:  ++ 212 326 7269 e-mail: bhansford@unicef.org

Kate Donovan,  UNICEF New York, Tel:  ++ 212 326 7452 e-mail: kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

Video

16 September 2008: UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the factors that contribute to the needless deaths of women in developing countries.
 VIDEO high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search