新闻中心

新闻发布稿

联合国儿童基金会表示儿童死亡率逐渐下降并呼吁加强努力挽救儿童生命

纽约/日内瓦,2008年9月12日-联合国儿童基金会今天发布了新的数字,显示五岁以下儿童的死亡率在2007年继续下降。

最新的统计数字表明五岁以下儿童的死亡率降低了27%,即从1990年每千名活产儿中有93例死亡下降到2007年的68例死亡。在工业化国家中,平均每千名活产儿中仅有6例死亡。

根据这一数据,1990年全球有1270万名五岁以下儿童死亡,而2007年则降至920万。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼说:“自1960年以来,全球五岁以下儿童死亡人数降低了60%,而新的数字显示这一下降的趋势还在继续。虽然目前我们已经取得了一定的成果,但是还有许多工作要做。”

在全世界920万例五岁前儿童死亡中,超过三分之一死于营养不良。自1990年以来,虽然五岁以下儿童中体重不足儿童的比例已经有所减少,但是估计发展中国家仍有1.48亿儿童营养不良。为了确保这些儿童能够有生存的机会,必须加强努力以满足妇女、婴儿和儿童的营养需求。

很多国家在降低五岁以下儿童死亡率方面已经取得了骄人的成果,其中包括老挝人民民主共和国、孟加拉、玻利维亚和尼泊尔。自1990年以来,这些国家已将五岁以下儿童的死亡率降低了50%以上。他们正继续朝着实现千年发展目标的方向前进,即在1990年和2015年期间把五岁以下儿童死亡人数削减三分之二。

非洲的一些国家也取得了重大的进展。在1990年到2007年期间,厄立特里亚的五岁以下儿童死亡率降低了52%。在同一时期,马拉维、莫桑比克、尼日尔和埃塞俄比亚的儿童死亡率降低了40%以上。   然而,非洲的儿童死亡率仍然是最高的。塞拉利昂的五岁以下儿童死亡率居全球首位,平均每一千名儿童中即有262名在五岁前死亡。

维尼曼女士说:“最新的数据还显示了在基本卫生措施的许多方面,比如早期和纯母乳喂养、麻疹免疫、维他命A补充剂、预防疟疾的驱虫蚊帐以及预防和治疗艾滋病等所取得的喜人进展,在今后的几年内,这些措施可以使儿童死亡率继续降低。”

关于联合国儿童基金会

联合国儿童基金会在150多个国家和地区设有办事处,以帮助幼儿到青春期儿童的生存和茁壮成长。该组织是全球发展中国家疫苗的最大供应者。联合国儿童基金会支持儿童保健和营养、良好的水和公共卫生设施、男女平等的高质量的基础教育以及保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病的影响。联合国儿童基金会的资金完全来自于个人、企业、其他基金会和政府的自愿捐款。

如需了解更多信息,请联系:

布莱恩. 汉斯福特(Brian Hansford),联合国儿童基金会纽约总部
电话:  ++ 212 326 7269 电邮: bhansford@unicef.org

凯特.多诺万(Kate Donovan),联合国儿童基金会纽约总部
电话:  ++ 212 326 7452 电邮: kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Press release

Releasing Declining Numbers for Child Mortality, UNICEF Calls for Increased Efforts to Save Children’s Lives

NEW YORK/GENEVA, 12 September 2008 – UNICEF today released new figures that show the rate of deaths of children under five continued to decline in 2007.
 
The new estimates show a 27 per cent decline in the under-five mortality rate, from 93 deaths per 1,000 live births in 1990, to 68 deaths per 1,000 live births in 2007. In industrialized countries there are, on average, just six deaths for every 1,000 live births.

According to this data, 12.7 million children under five died around the world in 1990, and in 2007 child deaths declined to about 9.2 million. 

“Since 1960, the global under-five mortality rate has declined more than 60 per cent, and the new data shows that downward trend continues,” said UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman. “While progress has been made, much remains to be done.”

Under-nutrition is a contributing cause of more than one-third of the 9.2 million under-five deaths worldwide.  While there has also been progress in reducing the percentage of under age five children who are underweight since 1990, an estimated 148 million children in the developing world remain undernourished. To ensure these children have the opportunity to survive, efforts to address the nutritional needs of women, infants, and children must be accelerated. 

A number of countries have made particularly good progress in reducing under-five mortality, including Lao PDR, Bangladesh, Bolivia and Nepal, each of which has reduced their under-five mortality rates by more than 50 percent since 1990.  These countries are on track to reach the MDG target to reduce by two-thirds the under-five mortality rate between 1990 and 2015.

There has also been significant progress in parts of Africa. Eritrea’s under-five mortality rate declined by 52 per cent between 1990 and 2007. In Malawi, Mozambique, Niger, and Ethiopia child mortality rates have declined by more than 40 per cent across the same period.

However the highest child mortality is still found in Africa. In Sierra Leone, the country with the worst under-five mortality rate in the world, 262 out of every 1,000 children die before their fifth birthday.

“Recent data also indicate encouraging improvements in many of the basic health interventions, such as early and exclusive breast feeding, measles immunization, Vitamin A supplementation, the use of insecticide-treated nets to prevent malaria, and prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS,” said Veneman. “These interventions are expected to result in further declines in child mortality over the coming years.”

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.

For further information, please contact:

Brian Hansford, UNICEF New York, Tel:  ++ 212 326 7269 e-mail: bhansford@unicef.org

Kate Donovan,  UNICEF New York, Tel:  ++ 212 326 7452 e-mail: kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

Video

12 September 2008: UNICEF correspondent Roshni Karwal reports on newly released data showing a continued decline in child mortality.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search