新闻中心

脊髓灰质炎

导言
1988年由世界卫生组织(WHO)、国际扶轮社、美国疾病预防和控制中心(CDC)和联合国儿童基金会发起了“全球根除脊髓灰质炎运动”(GPEI)。自倡议发起,脊髓灰质炎病例已从1988年的平均每年35万病例减少到2008年的1,660病例,减少了99%以上。

脊髓灰质炎的关键事实和数字:

  • 索马里,这个在2002年已根除脊髓灰质炎的国家,在2005年又重新发生感染病例。然而,最后一例脊髓灰质炎病例报告的时间为2007年3月,表明该国再次根除了脊髓灰质炎。
  • 脊髓灰质炎在四个国家流行:阿富汗、印度、尼日利亚和巴基斯坦,2008年这些脊髓灰质炎病例加在一起占了1,514例,即所有病例的91%。该病毒在其余的国家流行主要局限在特定地理区域,其中包括不安全、交通不便及管理和行政问题使这些地区活动的质量受到影响。需要通过更多协调继续作出努力,应对这些挑战,以便能使所有儿童都能接种疫苗,终止病毒的循环。
  • 联合国儿童基金会的任务是协助各国政府的努力,使每个儿童都接种脊髓灰质炎(小儿麻痹症)疫苗,直至终止脊髓灰质炎的传播,并在全球彻底消灭脊髓灰质炎。
  • 自1988年日内瓦的世界卫生大会发起的“全球根除脊髓灰质炎运动”,将近500万原本将瘫痪、由于小儿麻痹症而丧失工作能力的儿童,可以行走,自理生活及没有出现病症。
  • 每年脊髓灰质炎病例报告数量已从1988年的35万减少到2008年的1,660病例,减少了99%以上。通过一个为每个五岁以下儿童免疫接种的全球性运动,迅速取得了成功。自90年代后期,通过“全国免疫日活动”(NID)的大规模免疫运动已在流行病国家为儿童接种了脊髓灰质炎疫苗。
  • 只有在三年后,如果全球已证实无脊髓灰质炎病例,我们才能说已经达到了全球根除的目标。

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Polio

Introduction

The Global Polio Eradication Initiative is spearheaded by the World Health Organization (WHO), Rotary International, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and UNICEF. The initiative is a unique collaboration of governments, international organizations, the private sector, and civil society. UNICEF is committed to the goal of polio eradication. Since the Global Polio Eradication Initiative (GPEI) started, polio cases have been reduced by more than 99 per cent from an average of 350,000 per year in 1988  to 1,651 cases in 2008. 

Key Messages

  • Somalia, a country that had eradicated polio in 2002,  was re-infected in 2005.  However, the last case of polio was reported in March 2007,  indicating that the country is once again polio-free.
  • Polio is endemic in four countries: Afghanistan, India, Nigeria and Pakistan, which together accounted for 1,505 polio cases in 2008, or 91 per cent of all cases.  The virus circulation in the remaining endemic countries remains to be restricted primarily to specific geographic areas with identified challenges including insecurity, inaccessibility and managerial and administrative issues which influence the quality of activities in these areas. More concerted efforts continue to be made to address these challenges to be able to reach and vaccinate all children and stop virus circulation.
  • UNICEF’s mission is to assist governments in their efforts to immunize every child against polio until transmission has stopped and the world can be certified polio-free.
  • Since the momentous launch of the Global Polio Eradication Initiative in 1988 during the World Health Assembly in Geneva, nearly five million children, who otherwise would have been paralyzed and incapacitated by polio, are walking, able and symptom-free. 
  • The number of polio cases reported annually has decreased by more than 99 per cent – from 350,000 in 1988 to 1,651 cases in 2008. This rapid success has been achieved through a global campaign to immunize every child under five. Since the late nineties, the polio vaccine has been delivered to children in endemic countries through mass immunization campaigns, known as National Immunization Days (NIDs).
  • Only when three years have passed without a case and the world has been certified polio-free can we say we have achieved global eradication.

Updated – January 2010


 

 

New enhanced search