Centre de presse

Protection de l'enfant

Protection de l'enfance contre la violence, l'exploitation et les mauvais traitements

Introduction

La protection des enfants contre la violence, l’exploitation et les mauvais traitements fait partie intégrante de la protection de leur droit à la survie, à la croissance et au développement. L'approche de l'UNICEF vise à créer un environnement protecteur, où filles et garçons sont à l'abri de la violence, de l'exploitation, et des séparations inutiles de leur famille, et où les lois, les services, les comportements et les pratiques minimisent la vulnérabilité des enfants, répond aux facteurs de risques connus et renforce la propre résistance des enfants. La stratégie de protection de l'enfant de l'UNICEF, qui a été approuvée en 2008, dispose des actions stratégiques nécessaires pour  construire cet environnement protecteur. La Stratégie est centrée autour :

  1. du renforcement des systèmes de protection des enfants, comprenant les lois, les politiques, les règlements et es services nécessaires sur l'ensemble des secteurs sociaux - particulièrement la protection sociale, l'enseignement, la santé, la sécurité et la justice. Ceci afin de  soutenir la prévention et la réponse à la protection des risques liés;
  2. de la promotion du changement social compatible avec les principes des droits de l'homme; et
  3. du renforcement de la protection des enfants dans les situations d'urgence. La construction de preuves, la convocation et la catalyse d'un grand nombre de partenaires sont des secteurs transversaux prioritaires.

Les données essentielles sur la protection de l'enfant :

L'enregistrement des naissances

  • L'enregistrement à la naissance fournit une preuve officielle de l'existence d'un enfant et de sa nationalité, et il est considéré comme un droit de l'homme fondamental par l'article 7 de la Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant (CDE). 
  • En 2007, quelque 51 millions de naissances n’ont été enregistrées sur aucun registre, dont près de la moitié de ces enfants vivent en Asie du Sud.
  • Un pays en développement sur quatre ()pour lesquels on dispose de données fiables) a un taux d’enregistrement des naissances inférieur à 50 pour cent.
  • Près de deux enfants sur trois en Afrique subsaharienne et Asie du Sud n’ont pas été enregistrés en 2007.
  • A l'échelle des pays, cependant, les données indiquent que l'enregistrement à la naissance a augmenté dans plusieurs pays dont la Gambie, la République démocratique populaire Lao et le Viet Nam.
  • Les enfants de moins de cinq ans auxquels on a refusé le droit à une identité sont exposés à la pauvreté et beaucoup d'enfants qui n'ont pas de certificat de naissance vivent en zone rurale. Cependant, dans beaucoup de régions et pays, il continue d'y avoir des disparités intra-nationales entre les zones urbaines et rurales et entre les riches et les pauvres.
  • On constate dans la plupart des pays que le taux d’enregistrement des naissances est plus élevé parmi les 20 pour cent les plus riches de la population, ce qui confirme que la pauvreté va de pair avec le faible niveau d’enregistrement des naissances.
  • Les enfants qui ne sont pas enregistrés ont souvent un accès limité à la protection et aux services auxquels ils ont droit, comme la santé et l'éducation.
  • Le coût de l’enregistrement et la distance à parcourir pour accéder à un centre d’enregistrement sont les raisons les plus fréquemment citées par les parents qui n’inscrivent pas leurs enfants sur les registres.

La violence à l'encontre des enfants 

  • Il est impossible de mesurer la véritable ampleur des violences faites aux enfants dans le monde. Nous manquons de données sur le nombre exact d'enfants victimes, car beaucoup de ces violences sont commises en secret et ne sont pas rapportées. Néanmoins, on estime entre 500 millions et 1,5 milliard le nombre d'enfants victimes de violences chaque année. Il y aurait jusqu'à 275 millions d'enfants victimes de violences domestiques chaque année.
  • Dans l'Étude mondiale sur la santé à l'école des élèves, entre 20 et 65 pour cent des enfants en âge scolaire témoignent avoir été verbalement ou physiquement intimidés à l'école au cours des 30 derniers jours.
  • Bien que certaines violences demeurent imprévisibles et isolées, la plupart des violences envers les enfants sont le  fait de personnes qui leurs sont connues comme les parents, les beaux parents ou les partenaires de leurs parents, les membres de la famille étendue, les éducateurs, les petit(e)s ami(e)s, les camarades de classe, les enseignants, les chefs religieux et les employeurs. Des personnes en qui les enfants  devraient avoir confiance et sur lesquels  ils devraient pouvoir compter pour leur protection et leur soutien.
  • Alors que la famille devrait naturellement constituer pour les enfant un environnement protecteur, la maison peut aussi être un lieu où les enfants sont victimes de violences sous le prétexte de la discipline. Des données provenant de 37 pays montrent que 86 pour cent des enfants de 2 à 14 ans subissent des châtiments corporels et/ou des pressions psychologiques. Deux enfants sur trois sont soumis à des châtiments corporels.
  • Certains groupes d'enfants sont particulièrement exposés à la violence. Cela comprend les enfants handicapés; les enfants appartenant à un groupe d'une minorité; les enfants des rues; les adolescent en conflit avec la loi, et les enfants réfugiés, déplacés ou migrants. Généralement, les garçons sont plus exposés à la violence physique et les filles sont confrontés à un risque plus grand de négligence, d'abus sexuels et d'exploitation.

Le travail des enfants

  • En 2006, le nombre d’enfants de 5 à 14 ans qui travaillaient était estimé à 158 millions.
  • Plus d'un tiers des des enfants travaillent en Afrique subsaharienne.
  • L'Organisation internationale du travail (OIT) estime que plus des deux tiers de tous les enfants travaillent dans le secteur agricole. On a découvert que les enfants dans les régions agricoles, les filles en particuliers, commencent le travail agricole dès l'âge de 5 à 7 ans.
  • Cependant les garçons sont plus exposés que les filles au travail des enfants car il est plus probable qu’ils participent à l’activité économique. Les travaux ménagers sont effectués dans la plupart des cas par des filles.
  • Comprendre le travail des enfants, un projet commun à l'OIT, la Banque mondiale et à l'UNICEF a recensé les données de plusieurs pays pour lesquels des données comparables sur le travail des enfants existent. Il a été constaté un désengagement des enfants de l'activité écnomique dans la plupart des pays, y compris dans des grands pays comme le Brésil, l'Inde et le Mexique. Mais dans plusieurs pays, la tendance est demeurée stable voire même a augmenté.

La mutilation génitale féminine/excision

  • L’UNICEF estime que 70 million de filles et de femmes de 15 à 49 ans, dans 28 pays d’Afrique plus le Yémen, ont subi une mutilation génitale féminine/excision (MGF/E). La prévalence de la MGF/E a reculé légèrement mais régulièrement durant les 15 dernières années. Il est moins probable à présent que des adolescentes et des jeunes femmes aient subi une forme quelconque de MGF/E que des femmes plus âgées.
  • Environ 60 pour cent des filles et des femmes qui ont subi une excision vivent en Afrique subsaharienne, tandis que 40 pour cent vivent au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord.
  • Dans 29 pays, la prévalence des MGF/E est de 1 pour cent ou plus, selon les données d'enquètes nationales des ménages. Sur l'ensemble de ces pays, seul le Yémen ne fait pas partie du continent africain.
  • En 2006, una groupe de travail de l'OMS sur les MGF/E et les résultats obstétriques a démontré clairement que les risques de complications à l’accouchement sont bien plus importants chez les femmes ayant subi une MGF/E. En outre, on a constaté que la MGF/E était dommageable pour l’enfant et qu’elle était à l’origine de deux décès périnatals pour 100 naissances.
  • La MGF/E  est généralement effectuée sur des filles âgées de quatre à 14 ans, ainsi que sur des nourrissons, des femmes qui sont sur le point de se marier, et parfois des femmes enceintes de leur premier enfant ou qui viennent d’accoucher. Elle est souvent réalisée par des praticiens traditionnels, en particulier des accoucheuses et des coiffeuses, sans recours à l’anesthésie et en utilisant des ciseaux, des lames de rasoir ou du verre brisé.

Le mariage des enfants

  • En 2007, il y avait, au niveau mondial, plus de 60 millions de femmes âgées de 20 à 24 ans qui s’étaient mariées avant d’avoir atteint l’âge de 18 ans. L’importance du mariage des enfants varie fortement selon les pays, mais environ la moitié des filles qui en sont victimes vivent en Asie du Sud.
  • Les dernières estimations internationales indiquent que, dans les pays en développement, plus d'un tiers des femmes âgées de 20 à 24 ans s’étaient mariées ou vivaient en ménage avant d’avoir atteint l’âge de 18 ans. Dans certaines régions, le taux de mariage des enfants est particulièrement élevé; il est de 46 pour cent en Asie du Sud et de 39 pour cent en Afrique subsaharienne, selon les dernières estimations.
  • Le mariage des enfants devient moins fréquent partout, mais cette évolution est lente. Dans six pays où le mariage des enfants est le plus prévalent, plus de 60 pour cent des femmes de 20 à 24 ans sont mariées avant l’âge de 18 ans.
  • Les filles des ménages plus pauvres risquent plus d'être mariées pendant leur enfance que les filles issues de ménages plus riches.
  • les données dans 47 pays montrent qu'en général l'âge médian du premier mariage augmente progressivement, mais qu'il restent en dessous de 18 ans.
  • Le risque de décès des enfants dans leur première année de vie est plus élevé de 60 pour cent chez ceux dont la mère à moins de 18 ans que chez ceux dont la mère à plus de 19 ans.

Les enfants associés aux forces armées et à des groupes armés

  • Il y aurait dans le monde 250 000 enfants impliqués dans des conflits. Ils sont utilisés comme combattants, messagers, espions, porteurs, cuisiniers, alors que les filles sont en particulier forcées de fournir des services sexuels, ce qui les prive de leurs droits et de leur enfance.
  • Depuis le début de 2008, l'UNICEF et les partenaires sur le terrain ont été directement impliqués dans la libération de plus de 12 600 enfants, dont 1648 filles, par différentes forces et groupes armés dans 9 pays.
  •  Des Equipes spéciales de pays des  Nations Unies chargées de suivre et de rapporter les graves violations des droits de l'enfant, dont le recrutement d'enfants, ont été établies dans 14 pays : Afghanistan, Burundi, Colombie, Côte d'Ivoire, Myanmar, Népal, Ouganda, Philippines, République centrafricaine, République démocratique du Congo, Somalie, Sri Lanka, Soudan et Tchad.
  • En 2006, on estimait à 18,1 millions le nombre d’enfants se trouvant dans des populations supportant les effets d’un déplacement. Parmi eux, il y avait 5,8 millions de réfugiés et 8,8 millions de déplacés dans leur propre pays.
  • Un rapport de  2004 a établi que dans 65 pays au moins dans le monde, des garçons et des filles étaient recrutés dans les forces armées gouvernementales, soit de manière légale en tant que volontaires, soit en violant la loi, par recours à la force ou à la duperie.

La traite des enfants

  • L'estimation du nombre d'enfants victimes de la traite continue d'être un défi étant donné la nature clandestine du crime. Des variations dans les chiffres peuvent prévaloir selon la méthodologie utilisée. L'OIT en 2005, par exemple, estimait que de 980 000 à 1 250 000 enfants  - tant des garçons que des filles - se retrouvent en situation de travail forcé suite à la traite (http://www.ilo.org/ipec/areas/Traffickingofchildren/lang--fr/index.htm).
  • Evidence from United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) indicates that more than 20 per cent of victims of all trafficking, both within countries and across borders, are children, while the 2006 US Department of State Annual Trafficking in Persons report notes that of the 600,000 – 800,000 trafficked across international border annually, 50% are children (http://www.state.gov/g/tip/rls/tiprpt/2006/65983.htm).
  • Dans des parties de l'Afrique de l'Ouest, de la region du Mekong en Asie de l'Est, et dans certains pays de l'Amérique du Sud et en Amérique centralein, les enfants sont en majorité les victimes de la traite, bien que des informations de l'UNODC (2009) montrent que parmi les  survivants identifiés dans 61 pays, 13 pour cent étaient des filles et 9 pour cent étaient des garçons.
  • L'attention permanente portée à l'exploitation sexuelle produit des données où l'on constate que l'exploitation sexuelle continue d'être, et de loin, la forme la plus courante de traite des êtres humains, 79 pour cent, suivie du travail forcé, 18 pour cent (Rapport global sur la traite, 2009, p. 51). Les victimes de l’exploitation sexuelle sont surtout des femmes et des filles.
  • Des données récentes rassemblées dans 46 pays suggèrent que les femmes constituent un part disproportionée des responsables de la traite. Cette information peut être interprétée de différentes manières. Savoir si oui ou non les femmes "font la traite" ou la facilitent doit être analysé.  L'information selon laquelle 80 pour cent des responsables de la traite sont des femmes ou des filles (Département d'État, 2006, Annual Trafficking in Persons Report) pourrait également signifier que les “victimes” de la traite auraient tendance à faire plus facilement confiance à des femmes qu'à des hommes.
  • La traite des êtres humains est l’un des crimes transnationaux qui rapporte le plus et qui se développe le plus vite – Selon une récente publication de l'OIT, les criminels qui exploitent les enfants victimes de la traite, à la fois pour une exploitation économique et sexuelle, ont généré approximativement 32 milliards de dollars É.-U. par an («Le coût de la coercition», rapport global du BIT sur le travail forcé 2009). 

Les enfants privés de soins parentaux

  • Il a été établi que plus de 2 millions d'enfants sont pris en charge par des institutions dans le monde, dont plus de 800 000 d'entre-euxsont  en Europe centrale et orientale et la Communauté des États indépendants (ECO/CEI. Cette évaluation mondiale est probablement trèst sous-estimée en raison du manque d'études et de données fiables. Beaucoup d'institutions ne sont pas enregistrées et beaucoup de pays ne collectent pas de données régulièrement ni ne publient de rapports sur ces données concernant les enfants en placement institutionnel.
  • Plus de 17,5 millions d’enfants ont perdu un de leurs parents ou leurs deux parents à cause du SIDA et plus de 14 millions d’entre eux se trouvent en Afrique subsaharienne.
  • En 2007, plus de 82 millions d’enfants, en Asie du Sud et en Asie orientale, vivaient dans des institutions avaient perdu un de leurs parents ou les deux pour toute sorte de causes.

Exploitation sexuelle et abus sexuel des enfants

  • Il y a peu de statistiques précises quant à l'exploitation sexuelle et l'abus sexuel des enfants, comme ces crimes sont souvent cachés, secrets et associés à un profond sentiment de honte qui empêche des enfants et des adultes de chercher de l'aide et de dénoncer ces crimes.
  • Bien que la relation à l'abus sexuel et à l'exploitation soit largement une estimation qu'il convient de considérer avec prudence, on évalue que 150 millions de filles et 73 millions de garçons de moins de 18 ans auraient eu des relations sexuelles sous la contrainte ou subi d'autres formes de violence sexuelle et d'exploitation impliquant un contact physique. En 2000, on  évaluait que 1.8 millions d'enfants étaient sexuellement exploités dans la prostitution et la pornographie. On considère qu;environ un million d'enfants entre chaque année dans la prostitution.
  • Bien que la majorité des enfants victimes d'exploitation sexuelle et d'abus soient des filles, a la fois les filles et les garçons, de tous âges et de toutes conditions, partout dans le monde, sont les victimes d'exploitation sexuelle et d'abus sexuel. 

Justice pour les enfants

  • Plus de 1 million d'enfants sont retenus par les systèmes judiciaires dans le monde entier. Bien que ce soit probablement largement sous-estimé étant donnée les difficultés d'obtenir des données sur les nombreux cas d'enfants détenus qui ne sont pas rapportés. Non seulement les données sont recueillies inconséquemment, mais elles n'incluent pas bien souvent les enfants en attente de jugement, les jeunes enfants détenu avec leurs parents ou eles enfants en détenus provisoirement par la police.
  • Parmi les 44 pays pour lesquels les données étaient disponibles, environ 59 pour cent des enfants en détention n'avaient pas été condamnés.
  • La grande majorité des enfants en détention n'a pas commis de délits majeurs. Beaucoup sont seulement accusés d’avoir  fugué de la maison, d’avoir violé l'heure du couvre-feu pour les enfants, d'absentéisme scolaire ou de consommer de l'alcool. Les enfants sont aussi détenus dans le cadre de l'immigration, pour des questions de santé mentale ou pour  « leur propre protection ». Les enfants qui sont victimes de crime et les enfants témoins de crime sont souvent 're-victimisés' par les systèmes judiciaires qui ne sont pas adaptés aux droits des enfants ni  à leurs besoins.
  • Cinq pays sont réputés appliquer la peine de mort à des enfants depuis janvier 2005.

Les enfants handicapés

  • On estime qu’il y a dans le monde de 500 à 650 millions de personnes vivant avec un handicap.
  • Des statistiques fiables sur les enfants vivant avec un handicap sont difficiles à obtenir. Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), de l’ordre de 10 pour cent des enfants et des jeunes dans le monde, soit environ 200 millions de personnes, souffrent d’un handicap d’ordre sensoriel, intellectuel ou mental. Quelque 80 pour cent d’entre eux vivent dans des pays en développement.
  • L’incidence et la prévalence des handicaps dans la population sont signalées de façon très variable selon les pays. Les spécialistes s’accordent sur une hypothèse portant sur un minimum de 2,5 pour cent d’enfants, âgés de 0 à 14 ans, souffrant de handicaps visibles – de modéré à sévère – sensoriels, physiques ou intellectuels.
  • À ce groupe, on estime pouvoir en ajouter un autre, représentant 8 pour cent, d’enfants ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage et/ou de comportement.
  • La mortalité des enfants handicapés de moins de cinq ans peut atteindre 80 pour cent dans certains pays à faible revenu.
  • Les enfants ayant une infirmité sont particulièrement vulnérables à la violence physique et  aux abus sexuel, émotionnels et verbal, et dans quelques cas, cette infirmité est provoquée par les mauvais traitements.
  • Les données dans 15 pays montrent que, pour 7 d'entre eux, les enfants chez qui l'on a détecté des signes évidents d'infirmité auraient le plus souvent été frappés par leurs parents au visage, à la tête ou sur les oreilles, et ce plusieurs fois et avec la plus grande brutalité. Dans seulement deux des pays, les infirmités constatées chez les enfants ne seraient probablement pas dûes à des coups. (dans six pays, la relation entre une infirmité constatée et des coups portés ne serait probablement pas statistiquement significative.)

Mise à jour : décembre 2009


 

 

 

 Version imprimable

Recherche

Press centre

Child Protection

Protecting children from violence, exploitation and abuse is an integral component of protecting their rights to survival, growth and development. The approach of UNICEF is to create a protective environment, where girls and boys are free from violence, exploitation, and unnecessary separation from family; and where laws, services, behaviours and practices minimize children’s vulnerability, address known risk factors, and strengthen children’s own resilience.  UNICEF’s Child Protection Strategy, which was approved in 2008, lays out the strategic actions needed to build this protective environment.  The Strategy is centred around   a) strengthening child protection systems, including the set of laws, policies, regulations and services needed across all social sectors — especially social welfare, education, health, security and justice — to support prevention and response to protection related risks; b) Promoting social change that is consistent with human rights principles; and c) Strengthening child protection in emergencies.  Evidence building and convening and catalyzing a wide range or partners are priority cross-cutting areas.

Child Protection key data:

Birth Registration

  • Birth registration provides an official record of a child’s existence and nationality, and is considered a fundamental human right under Article 7 of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC).
  • Around 51 million children born in 2007 have not had their births registered. Nearly half of these children live in South Asia.
  • One in four developing countries with available data has birth registration rates of less than 50 per cent.
  • Nearly two out of three children in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia were not registered in 2007.
  • At the country level, however, data indicate that birth registration has increased in several countries including the Gambia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic and Vietnam.
  • Children under five who have been denied the right to identity tend to be poor and many children without a birth certificate live in rural areas. However, in some regions and countries, there are still intra-country disparities between urban and rural areas and between rich and poor.
  • Most countries show that birth registration is highest among the richest 20 per cent of the population, confirming that poverty is associated with low levels of birth registration.
  • Children who are not registered often have limited access to the protection and services to which they have a right, such as health care and education.
  • Cost and distance to the registration centre are the reasons most frequently cited by parents for not registering their children.

Violence against children

  • It is impossible to measure the true magnitude of violence against children worldwide. There is a lack of data on the exact number of child victims because so much happens in secret and is not reported. However, between 500 million and 1.5 billion children are estimated to experience violence annually.  In each year as many as 275 million children worldwide are estimated to witness domestic violence.
  • In the Global School Based Student Health Survey, between 20% and 65% of school-aged children reported being verbally or physically bullied in school in the previous 30 days.
  • Although some violence is unexpected and isolated, most violence against children is carried out by people children know and should be able to trust and look to for protection and support, such as parents, step-parents or parents’ partners, extended family members, caregivers, boyfriends, girlfriends, schoolmates, teachers, religious leaders and employers.
  • While the family should be the natural environment for protection of children, the home can also be a place where children experience violence in the form of discipline. Data from 37 countries shows that 86 per cent of children 2–14 years old experience physical punishment and/or psychological aggression. Two out of three children are subject to physical punishment.
  • Certain groups of children are particularly vulnerable to violence, including children with disabilities, children belonging to minority groups, children living on the streets, adolescents in conflict with the law, and refugee, displaced and migrating children. Generally, boys tend to be at greater risk of physical violence and girls face greater risk of neglect and sexual violence and exploitation.

Child Labour

  • It has been estimated that 158 million children, aged 5-14, are engaged in labour, as of 2006.
  • More than one third of children in sub-Saharan Africa work.
  • The International labour Organization (ILO) estimates that more than two thirds of all child labour is in the agricultural sector. It has found that children in rural areas – girls in particular – begin agricultural labour as young as 5-7 years old.
  • However, boys are more likely to be engaged in child labour than girls because they are more likely to be engaged in economic activity. Those engaged in household chores are overwhelmingly girls.
  • Understanding Children’s Work, an interagency project of the ILO, the World Bank and UNICEF, has reviewed the data from several countries for which comparable data exist in child labour. It observed a reduction in children’s engagement in economic activity in most countries, including large ones such as Brazil, India and Mexico. But in several countries, the trend is stable or child labour has even increased.

Female Genital Mutilation and Cutting

  • UNICEF estimates that 70 million girls and women aged 15–49 in 28 countries in Africa, plus Yemen have undergone female genital mutilation/cutting (FGM/C).The prevalence of FGM/C has declined slowly but steadily during the past decades. Older girls and younger women are less likely to have experienced any form of FGM/C than older women. Some 60 per cent of girls and women who have been cut live in sub-Saharan Africa, while 40 per cent live in the Middle East and North Africa.
  • There are 29 countries in which the prevalence of FGM/C is 1 per cent or more, according to data from nationally representative household surveys; of those countries only Yemen is outside the African continent.
  • A 2006 WHO Study Group on Female Genital Mutilation and Obstetric Outcome provides clear evidence that complications in deliveries are significantly more likely among women with FGM/C. It also found that FGM/C is harmful to babies and leads to an extra one to two perinatal deaths per 100 deliveries.
  • FGM/C is generally carried out on girls between the ages of four and 14; it is also done to infants, women who are about to be married and, sometimes, to women who are pregnant with their first child or who have just given birth. It is often performed by traditional practitioners, including midwives and barbers, without anesthesia and using scissors, razor blades or broken glass.

Child Marriage

  • As of 2007 worldwide, more than 60 million women aged 20–24 were married before they reached the age of 18. The extent of child marriage varies substantially between countries, but about half of the girls who are affected live in South Asia.
  • In the developing world, the latest international estimates indicate that more than one third of women aged 20–24 were married or in union before the age of 18. In some regions, the incidence of child marriage is particularly high, at 46 per cent in South Asia, and 39 per cent in sub-Saharan Africa, according to the latest estimates.
  • Child marriage is becoming less common overall, but the pace of change is slow. In the six countries where child marriage is most prevalent, more than 60 per cent of women 20-24 years old married as children.
  • Girls from poorer households are more likely to be married as children than girls from richer households.
  • Data for 47 countries show that, overall, the median age at first marriage is gradually increasing. But the pace of change is slow in many countries. In Bangladesh, Guinea and Nepal, for example, the median age at first marriage has increased but remains below 18.
  • If a mother is under the age of 18, her infant’s risk of dying in its first year of life is 60 per cent greater than that of an infant born to a mother older than 19.
    Children Associated with Armed Forces and Groups
  • An estimated 250,000 children are involved in conflicts around the world. They are used as combatants, messengers, spies, porters, cooks, and girls in particular are forced to perform sexual services, depriving them of their rights and their childhood.
  • Since the beginning of 2008 alone, UNICEF and partners on the ground have been involved in the direct release of over 12,600 children from various armed forces and armed groups in 9 countries, including 1,648 girls. 
  • UN Country Task Forces on the monitoring and reporting of grave child rights violations, including child recruitment, have been established in 14 countries: Afghanistan, Burundi, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Myanmar, Nepal, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, the Philippines and Uganda.
  • In 2006, an estimated 18.1 million children were among populations living with the effects of displacement. Within that group 5.8 million were refugees and 8.8 internally displaced.
  • A 2004 report found that in at least 65 countries around the world, boys and girls are recruited into Government military forces, either legally as volunteers, or illegally through force or deception.

Child Trafficking

  • Estimation of the number of child trafficking continues to be a challenge given the clandestine nature of the crime. Variation in the numbers prevail depending on methodology used. ILO in 2005, for example, estimated that 980,000 to 1,250,000 children - both boys and girls - are placed in a forced labour situation as a result of trafficking (http://www.ilo.org/ipec/areas/Traffickingofchildren/lang--en/index.htm). 
  • Evidence from United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) indicates that more than 20 per cent of victims of all trafficking, both within countries and across borders, are children, while the 2006 US Department of State Annual Trafficking in Persons report notes that of the 600,000 – 800,000 trafficked across international border annually, 50% are children (http://www.state.gov/g/tip/rls/tiprpt/2006/65983.htm). 
  • In parts of West Africa, the Mekong region in East Asia, and some countries in Central and South America, children are the majority of persons being trafficked, although information from UNODC (2009) shows that of survivors identified in 61 countries, 13 per cent were girls and 9 per cent were boys.
  • Given continued focus on trafficking for sexual exploitation, available information continues to cite sexual exploitation as by far the most commonly identified form of human trafficking (79 per cent), followed by forced labour (18 per cent). (Global Report on Trafficking (2009) p. 51). The victims of sexual exploitation are predominantly women and girls. 
  • Recent data gathered in 46 countries suggest that women make up a disproportionately large proportion of traffickers. This information could be interpreted in a number of ways. Whether or not these women are “traffickers” or facilitators of movement needs to be analysed.  The information that some 80% of those trafficked are women and girls (Department of State, 2006 Annual Trafficking in Persons Report) also could mean that these “victims” would have a greater tendency to trust women than men.
  • Trafficking in human beings is one of the most lucrative and fastest growing transnational crimes.  According to recent publication by ILO, it is estimated that some $32 billion per year profit is made by criminals who exploit trafficked victims for both sexual and economic exploitation (2009, ILO Global Report on Forced Labour, The Cost of Coercion).

Children without Parental Care

  • It has been estimated that more than 2 million children are in institutional care around the world, with more than 800,000 of them in Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CEE/CIS). This global estimate is likely to be severely underestimated due to under-reporting and lack of reliable data. Many institutions are unregistered and many countries do not regularly collect and report data on children in institutional care. More than 17.5 million children have lost one or both parents to AIDS, over 14 million of whom live in sub-Saharan Africa.
  • In 2007 more than 82 million children in South Asia and East Asia had lost one or both parents due to all causes.
    Sexual Exploitation and Sexual Abuse of Children
  • There are few accurate statistics regarding sexual exploitation and sexual abuse of children as these crimes are often covert, secret and associated with intense feelings of shame that prevent children and adults from seeking help and reporting them.
  • Although statistics in relation to sexual abuse and exploitation are broad estimations and should be treated with caution, 150 million girls and 73 million boys under 18 are estimated to have experienced forced sexual intercourse or other forms of sexual violence and exploitation involving physical contact.  In 2000, it was estimated that 1.8 million children were being sexually exploited in prostitution and pornography.  Around 1 million children are thought to enter prostitution every year.
  • Although the majority of the child victims of sexual exploitation and abuse are girls, both girls and boys, of all ages and backgrounds, everywhere in world, fall victims of sexual exploitation and sexual abuse.

Justice for Children

  • More than 1 million children are detained through justice systems worldwide at any one time, although this is likely to be a significant underestimate given the difficulties in obtaining data about the many unreported children in custody. Not only are data collected inconsistently, they often do not include children awaiting trial, young children detained with their parents or children held temporarily by the police.
  • Among 44 countries for which data were available, around 59 per cent of children in detention had not been sentenced.
  • The vast majority of children in detention have not committed serious offenses. Many are only charged with status offenses, such as running away from home, violation of child-related curfews, truancy or alcohol use. Children are also detained in the context of immigration, mental health concerns or for ‘their own protection’. Children who are victims of crime and children who are witnesses to crime are often ‘re-victimized’ by justice systems that are not adapted to children’s rights and needs.
  • Five countries are known to have applied the death penalty to children since January 2005.

Children with Disabilities

  • It is estimated that, overall, some 650 million people worldwide live with a disability.
  • Reliable statistics on children with disabilities are difficult to obtain. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), around 10 per cent of the world’s children and young people, some 200 million, have sensory, intellectual or mental health impairment. Around 80 per cent of them live in developing countries.
  • The reported incidence and prevalence of impairment in the population vary significantly from one country to another. Specialists, however, agree on a working approximation giving a minimum benchmark of 2.5 per cent of children aged 0-14 with self-evident moderate to severe levels of sensory, physical and intellectual impairments.
  • An additional 8 per cent can be expected to have learning or behavioural difficulties, or both.
  • Mortality for children with disabilities under five can be as high as 80 per cent in some income poor countries.
  • Children with disabilities are particularly vulnerable to physical violence and sexual, emotional and verbal abuse, and in some instances, the disability is itself caused by maltreatment.
  • Data for 15 countries show that, in 7 of the countries, parents of children who screened positive for disability were significantly more likely to report hitting them either on their face, head or ears, or repeatedly and as hard as possible. In only two of the countries were children who screened positive for disability significantly less likely to be hit. (In six countries, the relationship between disability screening status and likelihood of being hit was statistically insignificant.)

 


 

 

 

 Printer friendly

New enhanced search