Centre de presse

Sujets d'actualité

À la poursuite des mêmes buts : l’UNICEF, les associations religieuses et les enfants

Image de l'UNICEF
Depuis plus de 20 ans, l’Église catholique et l’UNICEF travaillent ensemble pour faire reculer les limites de l’extrême pauvreté et leur impact sur les garçons et les filles d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes.

« La religion joue un rôle essentiel et, dans la plupart des pays en développement, elle favorise l’intégration dans la vie sociale et culturelle... les représentants des autorités religieuses sont beaucoup plus nombreux que les agents sanitaires. Ils sont en contact plus étroit et plus régulier avec toutes les tranches d’âge de la société et leur parole est très respectée. Dans les communautés traditionnelles, les autorités religieuses ont souvent davantage d’influence que les autorités locales ou les dirigeants communautaires. » [Religious Leaders as Health Communicators (Les autorités religieuses, agents de communication en faveur de la santé). New York, NY : UNICEF, 1995]

Les associations religieuses et les groupes confessionnels sont devenus des partenaires importants de l’UNICEF dans le cadre de ses travaux en faveur des enfants partout dans le monde. Dans les pays en développement, l’UNICEF coopère très étroitement avec les communautés religieuses – avec les groupes bouddhistes et islamiques autant qu’avec les diverses dénominations de la foi chrétienne – dont la doctrine comporte un intérêt pour la santé et le bien-être des populations et plus particulièrement des enfants.

Partout dans le monde, l’UNICEF et les groupes religieux œuvrent main dans la main en faveur des enfants dans le cadre d’un large éventail de programmes relatifs aux droits de l’enfant :

  • Projets pédagogiques pour les enfants non scolarisés ou victimes de sévices
  • Collectes de fonds pour les enfants vivant dans des conditions difficiles
  • Sensibilisation au VIH/SIDA, éducation et prévention de la maladie
  • Lutte contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants à des fins commerciales et contre le travail des enfants
  • Mise en place des meilleurs soins médicaux possibles pour les enfants
  • Engagement des autorités religieuses en faveur des droits de l’enfant
  • Intégration de la promotion des droits de l’enfant et de la protection de l’enfance dans les programmes d’action sociale dirigés par les églises et les groupes religieux
Image de l'UNICEF
Dans le cadre de son Initiative régionale des autorités bouddhistes, l’UNICEF aide les autorités bouddhistes à favoriser la prévention du VIH/SIDA et les soins aux malades dans la sous-région du Mékong.

En Amérique latine

En Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, l’UNICEF et le Conseil épiscopal latino-américain (CELAM) unissent leurs forces depuis plus de 20 ans pour mener à bien divers programmes en faveur de la protection des droits sociaux des enfants, des adolescents et de leurs familles. Tant en République dominicaine qu’au Guatemala et au Brésil, l’UNICEF et le CELAM œuvrent essentiellement dans cinq secteurs : survie et développement de l’enfant; promotion et défense des droits de l’enfant; éducation pour la paix, la démocratie et le développement; éducation préventive dans les situations à risques; action pastorale/ministère destiné aux personnes vivant avec le VIH/SIDA. Suite.

Antigua

Le diocèse du Nord-Est des Caraïbes et d’Aruba (Église anglicane) a ouvert une ligne téléphonique d’assistance et de soutien aux enfants et aux adolescents. En périodes de crises, cette ligne permet aux jeunes d’obtenir des informations confidentielles et précises sur le VIH/SIDA et d’autres problèmes qui les touchent; on les oriente aussi vers tout un réseau d’organisations et de services sociaux. De jeunes bénévoles compétents sont quotidiennement au bout du fil pour répondre à leurs questions.

Colombie

L’UNICEF et plusieurs diocèses travaillent de concert pour améliorer les conditions de vie de la population civile frappée par le conflit interne qui sévit dans ce pays. Une approchée fondée sur les droits est appliquée dans trois secteurs : éducation de base; soins de santé primaire et soutien psychosocial. Depuis janvier 2001, près de 1 000 enfants de moins de 5 ans, environ 5 900 enfants âgés de 5 à 14 ans et 150 femmes enceintes ont eu accès à des services de soins de santé primaire. Par ailleurs, 2 300 membres de familles déplacées et 200 enseignants ont suivi une formation sur la grossesse précoce et les infections transmises par un vecteur. Dans le secteur de l’éducation également, 4 000 enfants d’âge scolaire fréquentant 22 écoles primaires ont été ciblés dans le cadre du volet d’enseignement primaire.

Équateur

L’archevêché de Guayas et l’UNICEF travaillent main dans la main pour promouvoir l’allaitement maternel, la surveillance de la croissance, l’alimentation complémentaire et la consommation d’aliments riches en fer et en vitamine A. L’UNICEF et l’Église catholique se sont aussi alliés pour combattre l’anémie due à une carence en fer chez les femmes enceintes, ainsi que pour améliorer la qualité des services nutritionnels fournis par l’Église catholique dans ses centres de soins et la qualité des soins administrés aux enfants dans les familles.

El Salvador

Le Poligono Industrial Don Bosco, dirigé par un prêtre salésien, apporte une solution à la question épineuse de la prévention de la criminalité chez les adolescents. L’UNICEF conseille aux juges d’enfants de s’adresser au Poligono pour éviter l’incarcération des jeunes placés sous surveillance. L’UNICEF a renforcé les capacités du Poligono et fournit une aide financière aux adolescents en conflit avec la loi, leur offrant un accès à l’éducation et à des stages techniques, un suivi psychologique, des activités sportives et un logement dans les locaux du Poligono.

Venezuela

Depuis 2000, un groupe de communautés s’est organisé et associé au diocèse CARITAS de San Carlos pour favoriser et renforcer tous les aspects du développement des enfants et des adolescents, tout en donnant des moyens d’action aux habitants de l’État de Cojedes, compte tenu des droits de l’enfant. Actuellement, le Conseil communautaire de protection a été créé et dix autres sont prévus.


En Europe

Turquie

Dans le cadre de son programme Savoir pour sauver, l’UNICEF diffuse des informations essentielles sur la prévention des décès et des maladies infantiles, ainsi que sur la protection des femmes pendant la grossesse et l’accouchement. En Turquie, l’UNICEF coopère depuis plusieurs années avec des « imams » – des autorités religieuses de confession musulmane très respectées qui dirigent la prière traditionnelle du vendredi –qui font passer ces informations cruciales en matière de santé. Les imams ont reçu une formation qui leur permet d’informer les parents et tous ceux qui s’occupent d’enfants dans des domaines tels que la santé, l’éducation, l’agriculture et l’hygiène.


En Asie de l’Est et dans le Pacifique

Philippines

L’UNICEF Manille et le Conseil national des Églises des Philippines – composé de 11 des principales dénominations protestantes – travaillent main dans la main dans le cadre d’une initiative (CFLCC) regroupant les communautés confessionnelles locales qui œuvrent en faveur de l’enfance. Ce groupe a publié des guides d’étude des droits de l’enfant s’inspirant de la Bible et encourage la création d’un ministère en faveur des enfants à Manille.

Dans le cadre d’autres initiatives, des prêtres et des évangélistes de plusieurs paroisses intègrent les droits de l’enfant dans leurs homélies du dimanche et les activités de sensibilisation menées dans les villages, communautés et églises.

L’Initiative régionale du leadership bouddhiste – Dans le cadre de son Initiative régionale des autorités bouddhistes, l’UNICEF s’est assuré la participation d’un nombre croissant de moines, religieuses et enseignants laïcs dans la sous-région du Mékong et dans des pays aussi retirés que le Bhoutan, dans le cadre de l’action bouddhiste en faveur de la prévention du VIH/SIDA et des soins aux personnes touchées par la maladie. Ce programme, qui a débuté avec une poignée de personnes motivées, est devenu un programme de sensibilisation hors pair. Les chefs bouddhistes utilisent les idées et les compétences acquises dans le cadre de cette initiative pour mener à bien des activités peu onéreuses et durables de prévention et de soins dans les communautés locales. Ils ont participé à des programmes de prévention destinés aux jeunes, à des activités de soutien spirituel et à la distribution de nourriture et de produits essentiels aux personnes qui vivent avec le VIH/SIDA. Suite de l’article.
En Asie du Sud

Afghanistan

Depuis l’établissement d’une nouvelle administration en Afghanistan à la fin de 2001, l’UNICEF coopère étroitement avec les autorités religieuses afin de promouvoir des programmes clés, notamment sur l’éducation des filles et la santé des enfants. La prière du vendredi est une occasion pour les imams d’apporter leur soutien à la scolarisation des filles, aux journées nationales de vaccination et à d’autres campagnes en faveur de la santé dans l’ensemble du pays; dans les régions où il y a pénurie d’écoles et d’établissements de santé, les mosquées sont utilisées comme salles de classe et centres de vaccination. Suite.

Bhoutan

Au Bhoutan, les soins aux enfants sont souvent guidés par les principes bouddhistes traditionnels. La communauté spirituelle locale, par l’intermédiaire du Corps monastique qui englobe l’ensemble du pays, ainsi que par l’entremise des moines vivant dans des communautés laïques, ainsi que des guérisseurs, shamans et religieuses versés dans les pratiques spirituelles traditionnelles, exerce une immense influence sur la vie quotidienne de la population bhoutanaise. Au Bhoutan, la population qui est très fervente demande conseil aux autorités spirituelles sur toutes sortes de problèmes, y compris les soins aux enfants et leur protection. C’est pourquoi, en 1989, lors d’un atelier exceptionnel organisé par l’UNICEF, ces chefs spirituels qui jouissent de la confiance de la population, ont exploré le rôle potentiel qu’ils pourraient jouer dans la santé. Depuis lors, l’UNICEF coopère avec le gouvernement bhoutanais, le Ministère de la santé et le Conseil des affaires religieuses afin d’harmoniser les services de soins modernes destinés aux enfants avec les convictions religieuses et traditionnelles. Ces chefs spirituels ont instruit leurs communautés et leurs disciples sur des aspects essentiels des soins aux enfants tels que la vaccination, l’hygiène, une nutrition équilibrée, l’eau salubre et l’utilisation de la thérapeutique de réhydratation orale. Suite.

En Afrique

Depuis 1990, l’UNICEF Royaume-Uni et les Églises chrétiennes du pays mènent de concert une activité de collecte de fonds, « Jar of Grace Appeal ». Ces appels ont permis de réunir plus de 150 000 livres sterling en faveur de la vaccination, de l’approvisionnement en sachets de sels de réhydratation orale et en suppléments de vitamine A, ainsi que pour financer des programmes pédagogiques. Suite.

Éthiopie

Le VIH/SIDA a fait des ravages considérables en Éthiopie. Comme la religion joue un rôle important dans la vie des Éthiopiens, l’UNICEF a conclu récemment un accord avec l’Agence norvégienne de développement international (NORAD) afin de mobiliser un large éventail d’autorités religieuses en faveur de la prévention du VIH/SIDA et de l’élimination de l’opprobre qui entoure cette maladie. Diverses personnalités religieuses se sont engagées à informer leurs fidèles – surtout les jeunes – sur les soins à administrer aux personnes qui vivent avec le VIH/SIDA et sur la nécessité d’éliminer la discrimination dont ils sont victimes.


 

 

Recherche

Press centre

Hot topics

Sharing common goals: UNICEF, faith-based organizations and children

UNICEF Image
For over 20 years the Catholic Church and UNICEF have worked together to limit the extreme and absolute poverty on boys and girls in Latin America and the Caribbean. To read more, see the Publications link box on the right.

"Religion plays a central, integrating role in social and cultural life in most developing countries… there are many more religious leaders than health workers. They are in closer and regular contact with all age groups in society and their voice is highly respected. In traditional communities, religious leaders are often more influential than local government officials or secular community leaders." (Religious Leaders as Health Communicators. New York, NY: UNICEF, 1995)

Faith-based organizations and religious groups have become important partners in UNICEF's work with children across the globe. In developing countries, UNICEF works very closely with religious communities - ranging from those of the Buddhist and Islamic faith to several denominations within the Christian faith - whose tenets of religion include an interest in the health and wellbeing of people, and particularly of children.

Worldwide, UNICEF and religious groups are acting together as advocates for children on a wide range of programmes addressing children's rights, including:

  • Educational projects for out-of-school and abused children.
  • Fundraising for assistance to children in difficult circumstances.
  • Advocacy and education for HIV/AIDS awareness and prevention.
  • Combating sexual commercial exploitation of children and child labour.
  • Best possible health care for children.
  • Engagement of religious leaders in advocacy for child rights.
  • Integration of child rights promotion and child protection into social action programmes led by churches and religious groups.
UNICEF Image
Through its Regional Buddhist Leadership Initiative, UNICEF has helped the Buddhist response to HIV/AIDS prevention and care in the Mekong subregion to grow

In Latin America

UNICEF and Latin American Episcopal Conference (CELAM) have jointed forces to carry out different programs directed at protecting the social rights of children and adolescents and their families in Latin America and the Caribbean for over 20 years.  From the Dominican Republic to to Guatamala to Brazil, UNICEF and CELAM has focussed on five areas: Survival and child development; promotion and defense of children’s rights; education for peace, democracy and development; preventive education in risk situations; pastoral / Ministry to persons living with HIV/AIDS.  Read more.

Antigua  

The Diocese  of North Eastern Caribbean and Aruba (Anglican Church) created a youth telephone hotline aimed at providing a supportive youth friendlyservice for youth and adolescents in times of crisis, giving factual information on HIV/AIDS and other issues affecting this cohort, and providing a confidential network referral service to social service organizations. Trained youth volunteers operate the hotline on a daily basis.

Colombia 

UNICEF and several dioceses work together to improve the living conditions of the civil population affected by the country´s internal strife.  A rights-based approach is used to focus on three basic areas: basic education, primary health care and psychosocial attention. Since January 2001 to the date, a total of approximately 1,000 children under the age of five, 5,900 children between the ages 5 to 14 and 150 pregnant women, received primary health care services.  Furthermore, 2,300 members of displaced families and 200 teachers received training in early pregnancy and vector borne transmitted infections.  Also in the area of education 4,000 school-aged children in 22 primary schools, were targeted within the primary education component.

Ecuador

The Archdiocese of Guayas  and UNICEF work together promoting breast feeding, growth monitoring, complementary diet, and the consumption of iron and vitamin A foods.  UNICEF and the Catholic Church are also working  together to reduce anaemia in pregnant women caused by iron deficiency, and to improve the quality of the nutritional services provided by the Catholic Church health centers and the quality of child care within the
family.

El Salvador

The Poligono Industrial Don Bosco, directed by a salesian priest has turned into an important answer to the lack of options in adolescent crime prevention.  UNICEF advises Minor Judges to use the Poligono as an alternative to semi-confinement for youngsters deprived of their freedom.  UNICEF strengthened the Poligono capacity and provides financial aid to youngsters in conflict with the law, providing education, technical training, psycological follow-up, sports and housing inside the Poligono premises.

Venezuela 

Since 2000 a group of organized communities related to the San Carlos CARITAS Diocesan, promote and improve holistic development of children and adolescents, and empower the State of Cojedes citizens using the rights of the child.  Currently the Matrix Protection Community Counsel has been installed, and ten more are in process.

In Europe

Turkey

Through its Facts for Life programme, UNICEF makes available life-saving knowledge on the prevention of child deaths and diseases and the protection of women during pregnancy and childbirth. In Turkey, UNICEF has collaborated for several years with 'imams' - respected religious leaders of the Muslim faith who officiate the traditional Friday prayers - to disseminate these important Facts for Life. Imams have been trained to convey crucial information to parents and caregivers in areas such as health, education, agriculture and hygiene.

In East Asia and the Pacific

Philippines

UNICEF Manila and the National Council of Churches in the Philippines - composed of eleven major Protestant religious denominations - are working together on the 'Child-Friendly Local Church Communities' (CFLCC) initiative. The CFLCC has published bible-based study guides on children's rights and promotes the development of children's ministry in Manila.

In other initiatives, numerous parish priests and evangelical ministers are integrating child rights in their Sunday homilies and religious outreach in villages, communities and churches.

The Regional Buddhist Leadership Initiative - Through its Regional Buddhist Leadership Initiative, UNICEF has involved a growing number of Buddhist monks, nuns and lay teachers, in the Mekong subregion and as far away as Bhutan, in the Buddhist response to HIV/AIDS prevention and care. What began as a small number of committed monks and nuns has grown into an outstanding outreach programme. Buddhist leaders are employing ideas and skills they have gained through the Initiative to carry out low-cost, sustainable prevention and care activities in their local communities. They have been involved in prevention programmes with young people, spiritual counseling and the provision of food and essentials to people with HIV/AIDS. Read the full story

In South Asia

Afghanistan

Since the establishment of the new administration in Afghanistan in late 2001, UNICEF has worked closely with religious leaders to promote key programmes including girls’ education and child health. Imams regularly promote girls’ enrolment, national immunization days and other health campaigns through Friday worship across Afghanistan, while is areas of the country with limited school and medical facilities mosques have been used to provide classrooms and immunization centres. Read more

Bhutan

In Bhutan, child care is often guided by traditional Buddhist principles. The local religious community, through the nationwide Monastic Body, as well as through community lay-based monks and traditional religious practitioners such as healers, shamans and nuns, have a tremendous influence on the daily lives of the Bhutanese people. Devout Buddhists in Bhutan turn to religious leaders for advice on a wide range of matters affecting their lives, including the care and protection of their children. In 1989, these trusted religious practitioners began exploring their potential role in children's healthcare at a breakthrough UNICEF-led workshop. UNICEF has since worked with the Government of Bhutan, the Department of Health and the Council for Religious Affairs to harmonize modern healthcare services for children with religious and traditional belief systems. Religious leaders have been educating their communities and followers on essential areas of child care, including immunization, hygiene, good nutrition, safe water and the use of oral rehydration therapy. Read more

In Africa

Since 1990, UNICEF UK and Christian churches around the country have been collaborating on a fundraising activity known as the 'Jar of Grace Appeal'. Successful appeals have raised well over £150,000 for immunization, supplies of oral rehydration sachets, Vitamin A supplements and educational programmes. More

Ethiopia

HIV/AIDS has taken a heavy toll on the people of Ethiopia. Here, religion plays a vital role in the lives of Ethiopians. UNICEF recently partnered with the Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (NORAD) to mobilize a range of Ethiopia's religious leaders in the fight to prevent HIV/AIDS and the stigma surrounding the disease. A range of influential leaders have pledged to educate their followers - especially young people - about the importance of caring for and ending discrimination against those living with HIV/AIDS.

Fundraising Efforts

A number of UNICEF's National Committees have partnered successfully with religious institutions in their advocacy, awareness-building and fundraising efforts on behalf of children. Some highlights from around the world:

Hungary - A number of Catholic schools have been active partners in UNICEF's annual campaign to sell UNICEF greeting cards, which raises funds for children living in difficult circumstances.

Netherlands - UNICEF has successfully worked alongside a number of religious groups to advocate against the use of child soldiers and child labourers. In a landmark effort, UNICEF and the Christian NGO 'Children at Risk' were among a number of groups to introduce 'The Rugmark Foundation' in the Netherlands in 1995. Rugmark recruits carpet producers and importers who make and sell carpets that without employing child labourers.

Related documents

Working with Muslim communities in Cameroon


 

 

Links to publications

UNICEF and the Catholic Church in Latin America: Working for the Children

UNICEF and the Catholic Church in Latin America: Activities Report

More links

Since 1990, UNICEF UK and Christian churches around the country have been collaborating on a fundraising activity known as the 'Jar of Grace Appeal'.
This link will open in a new window and will take you to a non-UNICEF Web site

Remarks by Carol Bellamy to religious leaders, Nairobi 10 June 2003

Buddhist monks and nuns fight against HIV/AIDS

The Catholic Church and UNICEF in Latin America strengthen cooperation bond

UNICEF organises roundtable for Islamic leaders, experts, civil society and NGOs

New enhanced search