新闻中心

新闻发布稿

联合国儿童基金会指出:支持母亲的母乳喂养,将会改善儿童生存的机会

纽约,2008年8月1日 — 值此世界母乳喂养周(8月1日至7日)之际,联合国儿童基金会与国际母乳行动联盟(WABA)和世界卫生组织(WHO)一起,建议为采用母乳喂养的母亲们提供更多的专业和非正式的支持。

“在改善儿童生存方面,母乳喂养是一个关键的手段,”联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼说。“在生命的最初六个月采用全母乳喂养,使发展中国家多达13%的5岁以下儿童的死亡案例可以避免。”

尽管在过去15年里已经取得了进步,但在发展中国家只有38%的6个月以下的婴儿是由母乳喂养的。

最近的科学研究发现,对母亲们的教育和支持,明显延长了母亲用母乳喂养的时间,特别有助于促进全母乳喂养。其他一些研究也表明,在医疗机构的辅导和支持下,使得在婴儿出生后的第一个小时内就开始用母乳喂养的母亲数目有所增加。

在生命最初六个月采用全母乳喂养,可减少与常见的儿童疾病和营养不良等疾病有关的婴儿死亡率。

母乳喂养可减少由急性呼吸道感染和腹泻这两大儿童杀手以及由其他传染病所造成的死亡人数。它也有助于母亲的健康,并在母亲和孩子之间创造一种联系。

适当的婴儿喂养可以拯救生命,确保最佳的生长和发育,有助于实现千年发展目标。

联合国儿童基金会正在与其合作伙伴和许多国家的政府一道,以确保为采用母乳喂养的母亲提供更多来自医疗工作者、辅导员、母亲之间的支持团体、雇主、紧急情况下的救济工作人员、立法者,家庭以及社区的社会网络支持。

***

编者注:

统计数字来源于下列资料:《2008年儿童进展报告》;《2007年世界儿童状况》;《世界卫生组织的合作小组关于母乳喂养对预防婴儿死亡率作用的报告》,2000年《柳叶刀》杂志,55:451-5。

世界母乳喂养周

世界母乳喂养周始创于1992年,现在由联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴,国际母乳喂养行动联盟和世界卫生组织共同,在120多个国家开展。其目的是推动在生命的最初六个月进行全母乳喂养,这可为健康带来巨大益处,可提供重要的营养,抵御肺炎等致命疾病,促进生长和发育。6个月后继续以母乳喂养并持续到两岁或更长时间,同时结合安全和适当的补充喂养,才是最佳的儿童喂养方法。

母乳喂养的宣传方案

国际母乳喂养行动联盟(WABA)是一个关注于保护,促进和在全球支持母乳喂养的个体的全球性网络和组织。国际母乳喂养行动联盟有一个宣传方案,可查询网站:
http://www.worldbreastfeedingweek.org

关于联合国儿童基金会

联合国儿童基金会在150多个国家和地区设有办事处,以帮助幼儿到青春期儿童的生存和茁壮成长。是世界上最大的为发展中国家提供疫苗的供应商,联合国儿童基金会为儿童保健和营养,良好的水和公共卫生设施,所有男女儿童的高质量的基础教育,以及保护儿童免受暴力,剥削,和艾滋病提供帮助。联合国儿童基金会的基金完全是由个人,企业,基金会和政府自愿捐款。


如需进一步资料,请联系:
布赖恩.汉斯福德 纽约联合国儿童基金会媒体
电话:212 326 7269
电子邮箱: bhansford@unicef.org

凯特.多诺万 纽约联合国儿童基金会媒体
电话:212 326 7452
电子邮箱: kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

Press release

Supporting mothers to breastfeed will improve children’s chances of survival, says UNICEF

NEW YORK, 1 August 2008 – On the occasion of World Breastfeeding Week (1 to 7 August), UNICEF, along with the World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action (WABA) and the World Health Organization (WHO), is recommending the provision of increased professional and informal support for breastfeeding mothers.

 “Breastfeeding is a key tool in improving child survival said Ann M. Veneman, UNICEF Executive Director. “Exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of life can avert up to 13 per cent of under-five deaths in developing countries.”

Although there has been progress over the past 15 years, only 38 per cent of infants under 6 months of age in the developing world are exclusively breastfed.

Recent scientific studies have found that education and support for mothers significantly extends the number of months that mothers breastfeed, and is especially helpful in promoting exclusive breastfeeding. Other studies have shown that counseling and support in health facilities have led to increases in the number of mothers who initiate breastfeeding within the first hour of birth.

Exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of life reduces infant mortality linked to common childhood illnesses and undernutrition.

Breastfeeding can reduce the number of deaths caused by acute respiratory infection and diarrhea - two major child killers - as well as from other infectious diseases. It also contributes to the health of mothers, and creates a bond between the mother and child.

Appropriate infant feeding can save lives, ensure optimal growth and development, and contribute to the achievement of the Millennium Development Goals.

UNICEF is working with its partners and Governments in many countries to ensure the provision of increased support for breastfeeding mothers, including by health workers, counselors, mother-to-mother support groups, employers, relief workers in emergencies, legislators, the family and community social networks.

***

Note to Editors:
The statistics are from the following sources: Progress for Children 2008; State of the World's Children 2007; WHO Collaborative Team on the Role of Breastfeeding in the Prevention of Infant Mortality, Lancet 2000, 55: 451-5.

World Breastfeeding Week
World Breastfeeding Week was first celebrated in 1992 and is now observed in over 120 countries by UNICEF and its partners, including the World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action and the World Health Organization. The aim is to promote exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months of life which yields tremendous health benefits, providing critical nutrients, protection from deadly diseases such as pneumonia and fostering growth and development. Continued breastfeeding after six months, for up to two years of age or beyond, combined with safe and appropriate complementary feeding, is the optimal approach to child feeding.

Breastfeeding Advocacy package
The World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action (WABA) is a global network of individuals and organizations concerned with the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding worldwide. WABA has an advocacy package and website available at: http://www.worldbreastfeedingweek.org

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS. UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.


For further information, please contact: 
Brian Hansford, UNICEF Media, New York, Tel: 212 326 7269 email: bhansford@unicef.org
Kate Donovan, UNICEF Media, New York, Tel: 212 326 7452 e-mail:  kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

 Email this article

 Printer friendly

 Press Releases

Unite for children: Support for mothers

Statement by HM Queen Rania Al-Abdullah

Middle East and North Africa fact sheet

New enhanced search