新闻中心

新闻发布稿

联合国儿童基金会与中国政府联合行动支持灾区儿童心理重建

高层使团与政府一同关注儿童压力的表象

北京,2008年5月23日 — 由中国民政部、国务院妇女儿童工作委员会办公室和联合国儿童基金会(UNICEF)共同组建的一支工作队已抵达四川地震灾区,为在5月12日发生的大地震中遭受心理创伤的儿童及时提供心理干预和救助。

目前来自各方的消息显示,此次大地震给许多儿童带来了极为痛苦的经历,其中一些孩子已经出现焦虑、麻木、自闭、失眠、恶梦等心理问题。在商务部的协调下,民政部、国务院妇女儿童工作委员会办公室与联合国儿童基金会经过紧急磋商,联合组织了此次由政府官员和心理专家共同参与的灾后儿童心理重建考察。

联合国儿童基金会驻华代表兼联合国驻中国灾情管理工作组主席魏英瑛博士(Dr. Yin Yin Nwe)表示:“尽早对受到创伤经历影响的儿童进行心理干预是非常重要的。2007年云南宁洱地震发生后,联合国儿童基金会就曾与政府合作,提供技术支持,帮助灾区儿童进行社会心理康复。实践证明,其中95%的儿童能够通过参加集体活动等辅导和干预,随着时间的推移,逐渐抚平心理创伤,回复到正常生活中。但是,仍有5%的孩子需要接受专业心理咨询师的特别治疗。”

此次灾后儿童心理重建考察之行计划为期五天,工作队将重点关注在地震中与父母离散、包括孤儿在内的无亲人陪伴的儿童,以便及早组织相关专家为为数众多的此类儿童进行社会心理干预,对灾后儿童心理状况进行整体评估,并制定长期社会心理支持与干预的措施与方案。

目前四川灾区仍余震不断,部分道路无法通车,采集并登记与父母离散、无亲人陪伴儿童的详细信息的工作困难重重。在自然灾害发生后,及时进行确认和登记工作对于保护儿童权益至关重要。通常情况下,当儿童突然与父母和亲人分开后,他们面临受到伤害的风险会比正常的孩子要高。

“联合国儿童基金会提倡通过家庭寄养和在社区里建立家庭式的照料模式,来帮助这样的孩子,以此来代替让他们长期住在福利院里的做法。此前,联合国儿童基金会与民政部曾共同在郑州等地开展过项目试点,并取得了成功。”联合国儿童基金会驻华办事处儿童保护处处长小野正博说。目前,联合国儿童基金会正与民政部就针对受地震影响儿童制定长期关怀方案进行磋商。

****

联合国儿童基金会在中国
联合国儿童基金会在1947年至1951年间曾向中国提供援助,援助内容包括:紧急救援、食品营养以及提供卫生保健培训等。1979年,联合国儿童基金会正式开始与中国政府合作,项目领域涉及儿童卫生保健和营养、水和环境卫生、基础教育、儿童保护、艾滋病防治等。联合国儿童基金会在全世界超过150个国家和地区开展工作来帮助儿童在婴幼儿期和青少年时期实现生存和发展的权利。

如需更多信息,请联系联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处:
刘莉女士
电话:(86-10)65323131转1303 
手机:13701066671
传真:(86-10)65323131 
电邮:liliu@unicef.org


 

 

 

视频

2008年5月21日:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员庞蕾对中国地震后儿童所遭受的创伤进行了报道。
 视频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Press centre

News note

UNICEF assists post-earthquake child support mission

High level mission with government looks into signs of stress in children

BEIJING, 21 May 2008 – The Government of China has organized a high level mission to Sichuan - with support from UNICEF - to provide immediate psycho-social assistance for children suffering emotional trauma following the major earthquake that struck the region on 12 May.

The mission has been organized by the Ministry of Civil Affairs (MCA), the top government body handling child protection issues in China, and the National Working Committee on Children and Women (NWCCW) the State Council’s coordinating body for children’s issues, in response to numerous reports that children are exhibiting signs of severe stress related to the traumatic experiences of the massive earthquake. The multi-sectoral team is made up of UNICEF professionals, psycho-social recovery specialists and senior government officials.

“It is important to reach out quickly to children who have been affected by the traumatic experiences they have been through,” said Dr. Yin Yin Nwe, UNICEF Representative and Chair of the UN Disaster Management Team for China, “After the 2007 Yunnan earthquake, when UNICEF provided technical assistance for child psycho-social support we found about 95 per cent of children were naturally resilient and could be helped through community based psycho-social care. The remaining 5 per cent needed to be referred for psychological treatment.” 

The main purpose of the mission is three-fold: 1) to organize immediate psycho-social interventions for hundreds of children who have been separated from parents, 2) to gather information on the scope of post-disaster child psycho-social stress in the region and 3) plan next steps to provide long term psycho-social support interventions. The team will visit facilities where separated and unaccompanied children are currently being cared for. The mission will last about five days.

Efforts to collect detailed information on separated and unaccompanied children have been hampered by damaged infrastructure in the region. Following a natural disaster, it is important to rapidly identify and document all separated and unaccompanied children. When children are suddenly separated from their parents and family, they are much more vulnerable to abuse and exploitation.

“In order to avoid permanent institutionalization of these children,” said Marc Ono, UNICEF’s Chief of Child Protection, “UNICEF is also promoting the use of foster care and community-based residential care based on a successful MCA pilot programme in Zhengzhou and other project sites supported by UNICEF.”

UNICEF and MCA are currently discussing long-term plans for supporting children who have been affected by the earthquake.

___________________________________
About UNICEF in China: UNICEF first assisted China between 1947 and 1951, providing emergency services, food and nutrition, health and hygiene training during and after the Revolutionary War. In 1979 UNICEF officially commenced its cooperation with the Government of China to support child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS. UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.
 
For further information, please contact:
Dale Rutstein, UNICEF China, +86 13910973801, drutstein@unicef.org
Liu Li, UNICEF China, +86 13701066671, liliu@unicef.org
Kate Donovan, UNICEF New York, + 212 326 7452, kdonovan@unicef.org


 

 

 

Video

21 May 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the trauma that children are facing in the aftermath of China’s earthquake.
 VIDEO high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search