新闻中心

新闻发布稿

联合国儿童基金会首位“儿童权利的杰出倡导者”约旦王后拉尼娅访问北京社区的流动人口

© UNICEF China/2007/Li Mingfang
拉尼娅王后访问北京十八里店的社区健康中心,那是一个由联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织共同支持的项目点。图中婴儿正在接受健康检查。

北京,2007年9月5日。约旦王后拉尼娅.阿卜杜拉今天访问了北京市朝阳区十八里店乡社区流动人口社区,了解到了当地妇女和儿童的生活状况。

拉尼娅王后是由联合国儿童基金会任命的首位“儿童权利的杰出倡导者”。她说:“这个地区以及北京乃至中国为流动人口、特别是那里的母亲和孩子们所做的工作给我留下了深刻的印象。今天我看到了一个能够应对流动人口社区所面临挑战的成功模式,由此可见中国政府会同联合国儿童基金会、世界卫生组织和其他社会团体一起作出了积极的努力,以确保儿童不仅拥有良好的生命开端,而且拥有最佳的生命开端。”

十八里店乡同北京很多城区及中国东部一些城市一样,近年来涌入了大量来自农村地区的流动人口。目前中国国内人口流动数量估计约有1.5亿,其中包括约2000万儿童。

在访问期间,拉尼娅王后参观了十八里店社区卫生服务中心,了解到孕妇在接受产前保健服务的情况,以及联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织同国家和地方各级单位开展合作以改善卫生服务质量并在社区进行健康教育的工作情况。拉尼娅王后还走访了当地的一个村级卫生服务中心,看到医务人员正在为孩子们接种疫苗。

拉尼娅王后的访问加强了对这部分弱势群体的关注,进一步倡导为中国流动人口提供更好卫生服务。

联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织同中国政府合作,致力于确保基本妇幼卫生服务包的普遍可及性并促进正确的婴幼儿喂养方式。此外,联合国儿童基金会还在北京(包括朝阳区)和浙江省杭州市和其他三个县、市开展项目活动,提高流动人口社区的儿童免疫接种率。

陪同拉尼娅王后参观的还有联合国儿童基金会驻华代表魏英瑛博士,她说:“拉尼亚王后的来访重点关注到在中国的一些地区流动妇女和儿童的生活状况。随着流动人口数量不断增长,各级政府部门,特别是地方政府部门为医疗机构、学校和其他公共服务单位提供必要资金和人员支持就显得尤为重要。”

© UNICEF China/2007/Li Mingfang
拉尼娅王后在访问北京十八里店社区健康中心时为一名中国小女孩接种口服小儿麻痹疫苗,该中心为联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织共同支持的项目点。

联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织流动人口妇幼保健和预防接种项目简介:

联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织同中国政府合作,致力于确保北京的流动人口都能享受基本的妇幼卫生服务,同时促进婴幼儿喂养方式。此外,联合国儿童基金会还在浙江省杭州市开展同样的项目,旨在让北京和浙江更多的儿童可以享受计划免疫服务。

十年前,联合国儿童基金会的一个试点项目的成功开展证明了适当的产前服务、住院分娩或由经过专业培训的接生人员接生的重要性。目前这种模式已经在中国全面推广,婴儿和孕产妇的死亡率也由此大幅下降(根据中国当前最新的数据,目前的婴儿和孕产妇死亡率分别约为17/1000 和 41/100000)。联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织还与制定政策的各级相关部门和卫生服务机构合作,利用本地乃至全球的证据帮助实施符合地方特点的战略,以改善流动妇女和儿童的卫生服务质量,并倡导地方政府部门给予更多支持,为这一脆弱群体提供更好的妇幼卫生和计划免疫服务。这两个机构支持开展的活动包括:

  • 开展项目地区流动妇女和儿童现状调查分析;
  • 设计适合流动人口的信息系统(登记和追踪机制);
  • 合作开发符合当地文化特点的策略改善家庭行为方式;
  • 根据需要提供临时或流动基本服务;
  • 通过人员培训和调配提高服务质量,协调各相关机构和服务提供单位并监督服务行为;
  • 利用不同媒体传播核心信息。

以上所述的活动都不是孤立开展的。例如:中国政府正在考虑开发一系列流动人口最低社会保障措施,包括保障流动儿童能够接受教育、预防并治疗意外伤害和重大疾病、养老金计划、人员流动(包括可转移赋予受领权)以及廉价住房保障。因此,联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织所开展的项目活动对体现行动本质起到了重要的示范作用,探索了中国最脆弱人群急需的服务机制。

联合国儿童基金会简介:

联合国儿童基金会在全世界超过150个国家和地区开展工作来帮助儿童在婴幼儿期和青少年时期实现生存和发展的权利。联合国儿童基金会是全球为发展中国家提供疫苗最多的组织,为儿童提供卫生保健和营养、良好的供水和环境卫生设施,保障所有男孩和女孩都同样能接受优质的基础教育,保护儿童免受暴力、剥削和艾滋病的伤害。联合国儿童基金会的全部资金来源于政府、企业、基金会和个人的自愿捐助。

****

欲了解更多信息,请联系联合国儿童基金会驻中国办事处:

何大卫博士(英文)  电话:(86-10)65323131转1601 手机:13701004234 传真:(86-10)65323107
电邮: dhipgrave@unicef.org

刘莉 女士 (中/英文) 电话:(86-10) 65323131 转1303 手机:13701066671 传真: (86-10) 65323107
电邮: liliu@unicef.org


 

 

 

搜索

Press centre

News note

UNICEF Eminent Advocate for Children Queen Rania visits migrant women and children in Beijing

© Jordan/2007/Nasser Ayyoub
Her Majesty inaugurating the hospital as a BFH
BEIJING, 5 September 2007 - Her Majesty Queen Rania Al-Abdullah of Jordan today visited a migrant community at Shibalidian Township in Chaoyang District, Beijing, to experience first-hand the situation of migrant women and children.

“I am very impressed by the work that is being done here – and elsewhere in Beijing, and China at large – to address the needs of migrant communities, particularly mothers and children.” Queen Rania, UNICEF’s first ever Eminent Advocate for Children, said. “What I have seen here today is a model of good practice in tackling the challenges posed by large migrant communities. It attests to the commitment of the Chinese government, alongside UNICEF, the WHO and other civil society organizations, to ensure that their children have not just the right start, but the best start of life.”

Shibalidian is typical of many townships in Beijing and other cities throughout eastern China, having received an influx of thousands of migrants from rural areas of the country in recent years. Internal migration in China is thought to number up to 150 million people, including 20 million children.

During her visit, Queen Rania toured a community health centre, where she met a number of pregnant women receiving antenatal care and learned about UNICEF’s work with national, county and local partners to improve health services and educate the local community. Queen Rania also visited a village clinic where she observed medical workers vaccinating children.

Queen Rania’s visit championed the cause of this often invisible section of the population, emphasizing the need for better health care among China’s migrants.
UNICEF and WHO are supporting the Chinese Government to ensure universal access to an essential package of maternal and child health services, and to promote appropriate infant and young child feeding. The children’s agency is also working to improve childhood vaccination coverage among migrant communities in two provinces, including in Chaoyang District in Beijing.

“Her Majesty’s visit has really highlighted the poor circumstances of migrant women and children in some parts of China,” said UNICEF Representative to China, Dr. Yin Yin Nwe, who accompanied Queen Rania. “As the number of migrant families continues to rise, it will be increasingly important for national and especially local authorities to finance and staff health facilities, schools and other public services.”
            
****************
UNICEF and WHO MIGRANT MCH AND UNICEF EPI PROJECTS:
UNICEF and WHO are working with the Government of China to ensure universal access to an essential package of maternal and child health (MCH) care and promote appropriate infant and young child feeding among the migrant communities of Beijing. UNICEF is also working on similar activities in Hangzhou, and to improve access to the expanded programme on immunization (EPI) in Beijing and Zhejiang provinces.
Ten years ago, a UNICEF pilot demonstrated the value of appropriate ante-natal care and of ensuring that all births take place in hospitals or are assisted by a skilled attendant. This approach is now recommended throughout China, resulting in a progressive reduction of infant and maternal mortality (now around 17/1,000 births and 41/100,000 births, respectively, according to the latest data available in country). UNICEF and WHO work with policy makers and health providers at all levels, using local and global evidence to help implement locally adapted strategies to improve the quality of health services for migrant women and children, and to advocate for increased support from local authorities for enhanced MCH and EPI services for these vulnerable groups. Among the activities supported by these two agencies are:
• Conduct of surveys and analyses of conditions for migrant women and children in project areas;
• Development of appropriate information systems (registries and tracking mechanisms) for floating and mobile populations;
• Cooperative development of culturally relevant local strategies to improve household practices;
• Establishment of temporary or mobile basic services as needed;
• Improvement of service quality through staff training and deployment, coordination among different agencies and service-providers, and supervision of practices;
• Dissemination of appropriate messages and information using a variety of media.
These activities are not occurring in isolation. For example, the government is considering a package of minimum social security measures for migrants, including: improved access of migrant children to education; protection against and treatment of accidental injury and serious illness; pension programmes; workers’ mobility (including transferable vesting of rights and entitlements); and access to affordable housing. UNICEF and WHO’s activities therefore play an important role in modelling the nature and mechanism of providing much-needed services to one of China’s most vulnerable population groups.

About UNICEF
UNICEF is on the ground in over 150 countries and territories to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence. The world’s largest provider of vaccines for developing countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, good water and sanitation, quality basic education for all boys and girls, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation, and AIDS. UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of individuals, businesses, foundations and governments.

    
For further information, please contact UNICEF China:

Dr. David Hipgrave, UNICEF China, Tel.: (86-10) 65323131 Ext. 1601; Cell: +13701004234,
Email : dhipgrave@unicef.org

Liu Li, UNICEF China, Tel.: (86-10) 65323131 Ext. 1303; Cell: +13701066671
Email: liliu@unicef.org

© Jordan/2007/Nasser Ayyoub Her Majesty speaking to a health worker at the Jamil Tutounji Hospital

 

 

 

New enhanced search