Press centre

Media advisory

NBA and UNICEF to launch campaign for Unite for Children, Unite against AIDS

***PHOTO AND INTERVIEW OPPORTUNITIES ***

WHO:      Ms. Ann M. Veneman, UNICEF Executive Director
               Mr. David Stern, Commissioner, National Basketball                     Association
               Dr. Peter Piot, Executive Director, UNAIDS
               Samuel Dalembert, Philadelphia 76ers center
               Dikembe Mutombo, Houston Rockets center
               Jerome Williams, Nine-year NBA veteran
               Kimberly Canady, Child advocate 
    
WHAT:   Press Conference to announce the NBA and UNICEF support for Unite for Children, Unite Against AIDS, a global campaign to limit the impact of HIV and AIDS on children and halt the spread of the disease.

WHERE:  UNICEF House, Labouisse Hall, 44th Street between First and Second Avenues, New York City

WHEN:  Wednesday, 31 May 2006, 11:00 a.m.

WHY:  The NBA and UNICEF will join forces in support of Unite for Children, Unite against AIDS, a global campaign to limit the impact of HIV and AIDS on children and halt the spread of the disease. Representatives from both organizations and marquee NBA players will launch a special initiative.

Attention broadcasters:  Please RSVP and bear in mind that all equipment must be specially screened.

For additional information or to RSVP, please contact:
Kate Donovan, kdonovan@unicef.org, 212 326 7452
Jessie Malter, jmalter@unicef.org  212 326 7133
Helen Wong, hwong@nba.com, 212 407 8299 or 212 407 8044
Chris Wallace, cwallace@nba.com, 212 407 8615 or 212 407 8044
Richard Alleyne, ralleyne@unicefusa.org, 212 880 9177 or 917 509 7742
Marci Greenberg, mgreenberg@unicefusa.org, 212 922 2464


 

 

 

New enhanced search