Centre de presse

Note aux médias

L’Université Al-Azhar et l’UNICEF présentent un nouveau manuel qui souligne l’importance qu’accorde l’Islam aux enfants

Le Grand Cheikh d’Al-Azhar et la Directrice générale adjointe de l'UNICEF affirment que, dans le contexte mondial actuel, il faut consacrer de nouvelles ressources à la place centrale des enfants dans l’Islam

Le manuel, Enfants dans l’Islam,  les soins aux enfants, leur protection et leur développement, réalisé avec l’appui de l’UNICEF, comprend des articles écrits par des chercheurs, des extraits des versets du Coran, des Hadiths et des Sunnas qui offrent des conseils précieux sur le droit de l’enfant à la santé, à l’éducation et à la protection. L’UNICEF et l’Université Al-Azhar espèrent que ce manuel sera largement consulté pour améliorer le bien-être des enfants dans les pays et communautés islamiques.

« Enfants dans l’Islam, les soins aux enfants, leur protection et leur développement est une œuvre magnifique qui souligne et illustre ce que l’Islam offre comme conseils pour prendre soin des enfants et leur permettre de se développer, car c’est par ce processus que l’on prépare les générations futures », écrit son Eminence, le Cheikh Tantaoui, Grand Cheikh de l’Université Al-Azhar, dans la préface du livre. « Les enfants sont un don d’Allah. Ils ont été confiés à notre garde. Nous devons donc les protéger et les soigner en mettant en pratique les enseignements de l’Islam. »

En dépit de progrès notables, un nombre disproportionné des quelque 600 millions d’enfants du monde islamique se heurte à des défis énormes, que ce soit la pauvreté ou les maladies ou encore l’absence d’éducation et de protection. Il faut répondre aux besoins de ces enfants  -- qui représentent un quart des 2,3 milliards d’enfants du monde --  et garantir leurs droits pour que soient couronnés de succès les efforts accomplis contre la pauvreté et pour accélérer le développement humain.

Une publication plus ancienne de l’UNICEF et de l’Université Al-Azhar intitulée Soins aux enfants dans l’Islam, parue en 1984, s’intéressait essentiellement aux questions de survie des jeunes enfants. Mais de nouveaux problèmes menaçant le bien-être de l’enfant se sont fait plus aigus depuis. Il s’agit entre autres des mutilations génitales féminines, du travail forcé des enfants, de la traite des enfants et du VIH/SIDA. Le manuel montre clairement que des pratiques traditionnelles néfastes, souvent associées à tort à l’Islam, comme l’excision/mutilations génitales féminines (E/MGF) ou la discrimination dans le domaine de l’éducation, ne sont pas mentionnées dans le Coran et n’ont aucun fondement dans la loi islamique.

« Enfants dans l’Islam, les soins aux enfants, leur protection et leur développement peut réellement faire bouger les choses pour les millions d’enfants du monde musulman, car il offre à ceux qui pourront en faire le meilleur usage des informations relatives à la survie de l’enfant, à son développement et à sa protection dans la perspective de l’Islam. Il s’adresse aux imams, aux dirigeants religieux islamiques et à tous ceux qui travaillent avec des enfants, leurs familles et leurs communautés », a affirmé Mme Rima Salah, Directrice générale adjointe de l'UNICEF.

Le nouveau manuel reflète la vision plus globale de l’enfance qui a émergé depuis la publication de Soins aux enfants dans l’Islam, il y a une vingtaine d’années. La Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant a été ratifiée par toutes les nations islamiques à l’exception de la Somalie et le monde en est venu à reconnaître le large éventail de droits sociaux, économiques, culturels et civiques auxquels tous les enfants peuvent prétendre.

En plus d’éminents représentants de l’Université Al-Azhar et de l’UNICEF, un certain nombre de spécialistes de la charia et un membre arabe de la Commission sur les droits de l’enfant faisaient partie du groupe plus large qui a relu et commenté le manuel avant sa rédaction finale.

Des représentants d’organisations internationales ou islamiques, d’organismes de financement, de gouvernements, d’organisations non gouvernementales, d’institutions universitaires et d’organismes religieux assistaient à la manifestation organisée dans la grande salle de conférence de l’Université Al-Azhar pour marquer la sortie du manuel.

Al-Azhar est l’une des plus anciennes universités du monde. Elle a été fondée vers l’an 970 de notre ère au Caire (Egypte) et est un centre de culture islamique. Elle offre des cours dans les domaines suivants : théologie islamique, jurisprudence islamique, études arabes, médecine, école d’ingénieurs et agriculture. Environ 90 000 étudiants fréquentent l’université, qui a deux grands campus dans la région du Caire et quatre campus dans d’autres villes égyptiennes.

Le Centre international islamique pour les études et les recherches sur la population a été créé à l’université Al-Azhar en coopération avec le Fonds des Nations Unies pour la  population. Il s’efforce de lutter contre des perceptions erronées de l’Islam et de proposer des politiques démographiques qui peuvent être adoptées dans les sociétés musulmanes. A ces fins, il mène des études dans le monde islamique et cherche à donner une plus grande crédibilité aux informations sur les populations avant leur dissémination dans les pays concernés. De plus, il sert d’organisme interrégional dans le but de servir le monde islamique dans sa totalité.

L'UNICEF est depuis près de 60 ans la première organisation du monde consacrée aux enfants. Il travaille sur le terrain dans 157 pays pour aider les enfants à survivre et à s'épanouir, de la petite enfance jusqu'à la fin de l'adolescence. Premier fournisseur mondial de vaccins pour pays pauvres, l'UNICEF travaille pour la santé et la nutrition des enfants, une éducation de base de qualité pour tous les garçons et toutes les filles, et la protection des enfants contre la violence, l'exploitation et le VIH/SIDA. L'UNICEF est entièrement financé par des contributions volontaires de particuliers, d'entreprises, de fondations et de gouvernements.

Pour de plus amples informations :
Liza Barrie, UNICEF New York, (+1) 646.207.5178
Simon Ingram, Cairo, (+201)2 214 2567
Anis Salem, UNICEF Regional Office for the Middle East and North Africa, (+962)79.557.9991


 

 

 

 Envoyez cet article

 Version imprimable

Recherche

Press centre

News note

UNICEF and Al-Azhar University Present New Manual Designed to Underscore Importance of Children in Islam

The Grand Sheik of Al-Azhar and UNICEF Deputy Executive Director say the new global context demands resource devoted to the central value of children in Islam

CAIRO, 29 November 2005 – UNICEF and Al-Azhar University released today a new manual designed to underscore how the care, protection and development of children is central to Islam.

The manual, Children in Islam, Their Care, Protection and Development, includes research papers and extracts of Koranic verses, Hadiths and Sunnas that provide useful guidance on childrens’ rights to such things as health, education and protection. UNICEF and Al-Azhar University said they hope the manual will be used widely to advance the well-being of children in Islamic countries and communities.   

“Children in Islam, Their Care, Protection and Development is a magnificent work that underlines and illustrates what Islam offers in terms of caring for and nurturing childhood, for this is the process of preparing future generations,” said His Eminence Sheikh Tantawi, the Grand Sheikh of Al-Azhar University in the manual’s foreword. “Children are a gift from Allah Almighty; they are a trust in our custody. We must, therefore, care for and protect them by means of implementing the teachings of Islam.”

Despite some noteworthy progress, a disproportionate number of the more than 600 million children across the Islamic world face enormous challenges, from poverty and disease to lack of education and protection.  Meeting the needs and guaranteeing the rights of these children – who account for more than a quarter of the world’s 2.3 billion children – are key to the success of overall efforts to combat poverty, accelerate human development and build a more peaceful future.

“Children in Islam, Their Care, Protection and Development can make a critical difference for millions of children in the Muslim world by putting information related to child survival, development and protection from the perspective of Islam into the hands of those who can use it effectively -- Imams, Islamic religious leaders and others who are working with children, their families and communities,” said UNICEF Deputy Executive Director Rima Salah.

An earlier publication by UNICEF and Al-Azhar University titled Child Care in Islam was published in 1984 and focused mainly on issues relating to the survival of young children.  However, new problems threatening child well-being have since come into focus. These include female genital mutilation/cutting (FGM/C), child labour, child trafficking and HIV/AIDS.  The manual helps make clear that harmful traditional practices often falsely associated with Islam, such as FGM/C and gender discrimination in education, are not mentioned in the Koran and have no basis in Islamic law.

The new manual reflects the broader vision for children that has emerged since Child Care in Islam was published over two decades ago. The Convention on the Rights of the Child has now been ratified by every Islamic country except Somalia and the world has come to recognize the broad spectrum of social, economic, cultural and civil rights to which all children are entitled. 

UNICEF and Al-Azhar University hope the information and messages contained in Children in Islam, Their Care, Protection and Development will be widely disseminated and used by a broad range of partners working in Islamic countries and communities including religious leaders, governments, the UN system, non-governmental organisations, media and others.

In addition to eminent representatives of Al-Azhar University and UNICEF, a number of Sharia scholars and one Arab member of the Committee on the Rights of the Child were among a wider group who reviewed and commented on the manual before it was finalised.

Representatives of international and Islamic organisations, funding institutions, governments, non-governmental organisations, academic institutions and the broader faith community attended the event at Al-Azhar University’s main Conference Hall to present and release the new manual.

International Islamic Center for Population Studies and Research, Al-Azhar University Al-Azhar University is one of the world’s oldest universities. It was founded about A.D. 970 in Cairo, Egypt, and is a center of Islamic learning. Al-Azhar University offers courses in Islamic theology, Islamic law, Arabic studies, medicine, engineering, and agriculture. About 90,000 students attend the university, which has two major campuses in the Cairo area and four campuses located in other cities of Egypt.

The International Islamic Center for Population Studies and Research was established at Al-Azhar University in cooperation with the United Nations Population Fund. The Center works to dispel misconceptions about Islam and population policies that can be adopted in the Muslim societies. This it achieved through conducting research in the Islamic world, and to add credibility to the population information obtained before its dissemination in these countries. Furthermore, it operates as an inter-regional organization with a view to serving the entire Islamic World.

For nearly 60 years UNICEF has been the world’s leader for children, working on the ground in 157 countries to help children survive and thrive, from early childhood through adolescence.  The world’s largest provider of vaccines for poor countries, UNICEF supports child health and nutrition, quality basic education for all boys and girls, access to clean water and sanitation, and the protection of children from violence, exploitation and AIDS.  UNICEF is funded entirely by the voluntary contributions of governments, businesses, foundations and individuals.

For more information, please contact:
Liza Barrie, UNICEF New York, (+1) 646.207.5178, lbarrie@unicef.org
Simon Ingram, Cairo, (+201)2 214 2567, singram@unicef.org
Anis Salem, UNICEF Regional Office for the Middle East and North Africa, (+962)79.557.9991,  asalem@unicef.org


 

 

 

New enhanced search