Centre de presse

Communiqué de presse

Contre le paludisme : il faut augmenter la production de moustiquaires

Les fabricants doivent redoubler d'efforts pour répondre à la demande

© UNICEF/HQ97-1148/PIROZZI
Une mère avec son enfant qui a le paludisme, Kaduna, Nigère.

JOHANNESBURG, 23 sept. 2004 - Une réunion organisée par l'Initiative Faire reculer le paludisme s'est ouverte aujourd'hui à Johannesburg (Afrique du Sud) avec pour objectif l'accélération de la production et de la distribution de moustiquaires imprégnées d'insecticide longue durée en vue de répondre à une demande croissante.

La réunion de deux jours, organisée avec l'appui de l'UNICEF, de l'OMS, de NetMark et de la Fondation Rockefeller, survient alors que la production de moustiquaires imprégnées d'insecticide longue durée ne parvient pas à répondre à une demande qui ne cesse de croître. L'UNICEF, premier acheteur et distributeur de moustiquaires du monde, estime qu'il faudrait fabriquer entre 30 et 40 millions de ces moustiquaires par an au cours des cinq ans à venir pour saturer le marché. En ce moment, on n'en fabrique que 13 millions par an. 

« Ce déficit nous préoccupe vivement parce qu'il a de grandes conséquences sur les programmes de lutte contre le paludisme en Afrique », a affirmé le Directeur régional de l'UNICEF pour l'Afrique de l'est et australe Per Engebak. « Cette réunion nous permet de discuter avec le secteur privé des moyens d'augmenter la production. Notre but est de sauver des vies : un enfant meurt du paludisme toutes les 30 secondes et l'on pourrait sauver cette vie avec une moustiquaire. Une augmentation colossale de la production nous permettra de sauver des millions de vies tout en permettant au secteur privé de faire de bonnes affaires ».

L'augmentation de la demande de moustiquaires longue durée s'explique en partie par le financement apporté par le Fonds mondial, qui permet aux pays de développer à grande échelle leurs plans de distribution nationale. Il est donc nécessaire d'accroître considérablement la production.

La réunion de Johannesburg devrait aboutir à un plan d'augmentation de la production, fondé en grande partie sur le secteur privé. Une centaine de partenaires très divers participeront à la rencontre : compagnies de pétrole, fabricants d'insecticide, de textile, de moustiquaires, firmes commerciales, directeurs de programmes nationaux de lutte contre le paludisme, donateurs, la Banque mondiale, l'Union européenne, la Fonds mondial, USAID l'Agence japonaise de coopération internationale (AJCI), entre autres.

On considère que les moustiquaires traitées à l'insecticide longue durée sont le meilleur moyen de lutter contre le paludisme. Elles sont moins chères à long terme et comme elles sont prétraitées à l'usine, elles gardent leur efficacité insectifuge tant que dure la tulle elle-même, soit entre deux et cinq ans.

Les moustiquaires imprégnées d'insecticide conventionnel ont un désavantage car il faut les retraiter régulièrement au moyen d'insecticide pour maintenir leur efficacité. Il s'est avéré difficile d'atteindre des niveaux élevés de retraitement des moustiquaires en Afrique en raison de plusieurs facteurs, notamment le coût de l'insecticide, la difficulté de se procurer des insecticides et une prise de conscience insuffisante de la nécessité de retraiter les moustiquaires. Les moustiquaires longue durée, en revanche, ne doivent pas être retraitées.

Plusieurs moustiquaires longue durée sont actuellement en cours de développement mais l'OMS en a approuvé deux, et elles sont déjà disponibles : l'Olyset, fabriquée dans des usines de Chine par la société japonaise Sumitomo Chemical Company et, en vertu d'un accord de transfert de technologie passé avec Sumitomo, par A to Z Textile Mills en Tanzanie. L'autre moustiquaire approuvée, Permanet 2.0, est fabriquée par Vestergaard Frandsen en Thaïlande et au Viet Nam.

Premier acheteur et distributeur de moustiquaires du monde, l'UNICEF veille, par le biais de sa politique de distribution équitable, à ce que les femmes et enfants les plus vulnérables puissent avoir accès à ces moustiquaires, gratuitement ou en s'acquittant d'une somme modique.

Pour toute information supplémentaire :

Victor Chinyama, Bureau régional de l'Afrique de l'Est et australe(+254 722) 701 505; Nairobi
A Johannesburg, (+254 722 701 505, roaming cell); Intercontinental Hotel Sandton Sun and Towers +27 11 780 5000

Mohammad Jalloh, UNICEF Media, New York, Tel: 1 (212) 326 7516; Mobile: 1 (212) 917 459 8193

Oliver Phillips, UNICEF Media, New York, Tel: 1 (212) 326 7583

Sandie Blanchet, UNICEF Supply Division, Copenhagen; Tel: +45 35 27 32 07; Mobile: + 45 21 22 95 66

Pru Smith, Roll Back Malaria Partnership Secretariat, Geneva, Tel: + 41 (0) 22 791 45 86; + 41 (0) 79 477 17 44 (cell)


 

 

 

Faits sur le paludisme

  • Le paludisme  tue un enfant quelque part dans le monde toutes les 30 secondes.
  • Le paludisme  touche au moins 500 millions de personnes chaque année, et en tue 1 million.
  • 90% des victimes du paludisme se trouvent en  Afrique.
  • Le paludisme est responsable de la mort d'un enfant sur cinq en Afrique.

Audio (en anglais)

L'Officier du Programme d'UNICEF pour le paludisme en Afrique de l'est et Afrique australe décrit l'impact de la maladie

([mp3]; right-click to download)
Recherche

Press centre

Press release

Call for increased production of long lasting insecticidal nets for malaria control

© UNICEF/HQ97-1148/PIROZZI
A mother with her baby who is ill with malaria, Kaduna, Nigeria.

Intensified efforts from manufacturers needed to bridge gap between supply and demand

JOHANNESBURG, 23 Sept 2004 – In an effort to narrow the gap between supply and demand of long lasting insecticidal nets, agencies working in malaria control are today meeting with the private sector in Johannesburg, South Africa to discuss accelerated production and distribution.

The two day meeting, which has been organised by members of the Roll Back Malaria (RBM) Partnership including WHO, UNICEF, NetMark and the Rockefeller Foundation, comes at a time when increased demand for long lasting nets is outstripping production and supply. UNICEF, the global leader in net purchase and distribution, estimates that 30 to 40 million long lasting insecticidal nets are required annually for the next five years in order to saturate the market. Only 13 million are currently being produced every year. 

“The deficit is of major concern to us because of its far reaching consequences for malaria control programmes in Africa”, says UNICEF’s Regional Director for Eastern and Southern Africa, Per Engebak. “This meeting will bring us into discussion with the private sector on how to increase production. Our goal is to save lives - every 30 seconds, a child dies of malaria, a life that could be saved with a mosquito net. A quantum leap in production will help us save millions and also enable the private sector to do good business.”

The increased demand for long lasting nets has been fuelled in part by money from the Global Fund, which is enabling countries to scale up their plans for national distribution of long lasting nets. A large increase in production is therefore required.  

“The private sector’s participation in this meeting is highly promising,” says Dr Awa Marie Coll-Seck, Executive Secretary of the RBM Partnership. “We expect the meeting to emerge with a strong roll out plan for increasing production, and the private sector to drive this forward.”

The meeting will be attended by over 100 representatives of oil companies, pesticide and textile firms, mosquito net manufacturers, trading companies, national malaria control programme managers from malaria endemic countries, donors, the World Bank, the European Union, the Global Fund, USAID, and JICA, among others.
 
Background

The long lasting insecticide net is seen as offering African countries the best chance in malaria prevention. Not only is it cheaper in the longer term, but it comes factory pre-treated and retains its repellent efficacy throughout the normal lifespan of the netting material itself, which can be anywhere between two to five years.

A disadvantage of conventional insecticidal treated nets is that they require regular re-treatment with insecticide to maintain their effectiveness. High levels of re-treatment have proved difficult to achieve in Africa due to several factors, including the cost of insecticide, accessibility to insecticide and low knowledge about the importance of the need to re-treat nets. Long lasting nets however do not require re-treatment.

Several long lasting nets are currently under development but two products have been approved by WHO and are already being sold on the market: the Olyset, which is manufactured at plants in China by Sumitomo Chemical Company of Japan and, under a technology transfer agreement with Sumitomo, by A to Z Textile Mills in Tanzania. The other approved net is PermaNet 2.0, which is manufactured by Vestergaard Frandsen in Thailand and Vietnam.

As the leading buyer and distributor of insecticide treated mosquito nets in the world, UNICEF, through its policy of ‘sustained equity provision’ ensures that nets reach the most vulnerable women and children at minimal cost or for free.

The Roll Back Malaria Partnership

The Roll Back Malaria Global Partnership (RBM) was launched in 1998 by the World Health Organization, UNICEF, UNDP and the World Bank.  The Partnership's goal is to halve the global burden of malaria by 2010, with a particular focus on Africa.

RBM now includes governments of countries affected by malaria, bilateral and multilateral agencies, non-governmental organizations, the private sector, and research groups, and has succeeded in raising global awareness of malaria, generating increased resources and achieving consensus on the tools and priority interventions required to control the disease.


For more information, please contact:

Pru Smith, Roll Back Malaria Partnership Secretariat, Geneva, Tel: + 41 (0) 22 791 45 86; + 41 (0) 79 477 17 44 (cell); smithp@who.int

Victor Chinyama, UNICEF Eastern and Southern Africa, Nairobi; Tel: (+254 722) 701 505; Sandton Sun and Towers, Tel: +27 11 780 5000 vchinyama@unicef.org

Mohammad Jalloh, UNICEF Media, New York, Tel: 1 (212) 326 7516; Mobile: 1 (212) 917 459 8193; mjalloh@unicef.org

Oliver Phillips, UNICEF Media, New York, Tel: 1 (212) 326 7583; ophillips@unicef.org

Sandie Blanchet, UNICEF Supply Division, Copenhagen; Tel: +45 35 27 32 07; Mobile: + 45 21 22 95 66; sblanchet@unicef.org


 

 

 

Fast facts about malaria

  • Malaria kills a child somewhere in the world every 30 seconds.
  • Malaria infects at least 500 million people each year, killing 1 million.
  • Ninety per cent of malaria deaths are in Africa.
  • Malaria accounts for about one in five of all childhood deaths in Africa.

Audio

UNICEF’s Programme Officer for malaria for East and Southern Africa describes the impact of the disease

([mp3]; right-click to download)
New enhanced search