Aptitudes à la vie quotidienne

Prévention du VIH/SIDA

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF/ HQ01-0150/ Pirozzi
Devant des affiches pour sensibiliser au VIH/SIDA et promouvoir la prévention, lors d’une séance de formation pour éducateurs organisée par l’ONG « Kindlimuka », une assoc. de personnes vivant avec le VIH/SIDA à Maputo, Mozambique.

Dans les pays les plus gravement touchés, le VIH/SIDA fragilise non seulement les systèmes de santé, mais impacte également les sphères sociale, économique et culturelle. Ses conséquences sont clairement ressenties dans le secteur de l’éducation, réduisant à la fois la capacité d’offre et la demande de services d’éducation de type classique. Le résultat est une baisse de qualité de l’éducation et un accès inégal, notamment lorsque les enseignants sont touchés par des traumatismes familiaux ou ont eux-mêmes une maladie liée au SIDA, lorsque les familles perdent leur pouvoir d’achat ou lorsque les ressources ne suffisent plus à maintenir les services et les infrastructures.

L’un des moyens les plus efficaces pour enrayer la progression et l’impact du VIH/SIDA est de garantir l’accès à une éducation primaire gratuite et obligatoire de bonne qualité, notamment aux filles. Et apprendre à se prémunir du VIH/SIDA doit faire partie de cette éducation de qualité. Le programme d’études doit répondre aux besoins des élèves et leur inculquer les connaissances, les attitudes et les compétences nécessaires pour éviter des comportements sexuels dangereux et vivre à l’abri du SIDA.

Les programmes de prévention du VIH/SIDA ayant pour objet l’acquisition de connaissances, d’attitudes et d’aptitudes liées à la transmission du VIH se sont avérés plus efficaces pour changer les comportements que les programmes purement théoriques. Ils ont été utiles, notamment, pour retarder l’âge des premiers rapports sexuels et pour encourager les jeunes sexuellement actifs à adopter des comportements sans risques (par ex., en utilisant des préservatifs et en limitant le nombre de leurs partenaires sexuels).

Pour vous aider à appliquer cette stratégie dans le domaine de la prévention du VIH/SIDA, nous mettons à votre disposition une présentation de diapositives en Powerpoint et une série annexe de feuillets volants et de points de discussion. Vous pourrez utiliser les diapositives pour affiner votre propre expertise ou pour expliquer le choix de cette approche pour prévenir le VIH/SIDA. Les points de discussion donnent des précisions sur les diapositives et peuvent être distribués séparément. Téléchargez Adobe Acrobat Reader pour accéder aux points de discussion.

Voir aussi « Documents techniques et de politique » dans la section Ressources de ce site Web pour obtenir un supplément d’information et de documentation sur le VIH/SIDA.


  Documents

Présentation en PowerPoint et points de discussion
[powerpoint]

Feuillets volants et points de discussion
[PDF]

Preventing HIV/AIDS, STI and Related Discrimination: An important responsibility of Health-Promoting Schools. OMS, 1999.

 


[PDF]

Prévenir le VIH/SIDA, les IST et la discrimination qui leur est liée : une importante responsabilité des Écoles en faveur de la santé. OMS, 1999.
[PDF]



 

 

Recherche

Life skills

HIV prevention, care and support

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/ HQ01-0150/ Pirozzi
Posters on HIV/AIDS awareness and prevention taped on the wall behind him, an instructor uses a flip chart during a training session for peer educators at the NGO ‘Kindlimuka’, an association of people living with HIV/AIDS in Maputo, Mozambique.

In the most affected countries, HIV/AIDS is debilitating not only health, but social, economic and cultural systems. Its symptoms are clearly felt throughout the education sector, affecting both the capacity to supply schooling services and demand on the current formal system. The net impact is impaired quality and equality of education, particularly where teachers are affected by family trauma or AIDS-related illness themselves, where families lose purchasing power, and where fewer resources are available to support services and infrastructure.

One of our key defenses against the spread and impact of HIV and AIDS is to ensure access to free and compulsory primary education of good quality, particularly for girls. And learning to prevent and cope with HIV/AIDS must be considered part of that quality education. Curricula must respond to learners' needs for knowledge, attitudes and life skills to avoid high-risk sexual behaviour and manage in a world with AIDS.

HIV/AIDS prevention programs that have balanced knowledge, attitudes and skills related to HIV transmission have proven more effective in actually changing behaviour than those that have focused on information alone. Skills-based programs have proven more effective in delaying the age of first sexual intercourse, and increasing safe sex behaviour among sexually active youth (e.g., increasing use of condoms, reducing number of sexual partners).

To help you apply life skills-based education to HIV/AIDS prevention, a Powerpoint slide show presentation and a corresponding set of Hand-outs and Talking points have been developed for your use. The slide show can be used to increase your own expertise or to advocate for the implementation of a skills-based approach to HIV/AIDS prevention. The talking points elaborate on the slides and can be used as hand-outs. Download Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the talking points.

Also see "Technical and Policy Documents" under the Resource section of this site for more information and documentation on HIV/AIDS.

Documents

Life Skills Powerpoint Presentation with talking points
[powerpoint]

Hand-outs and Talking points
[PDF]

Preventing HIV/AIDS, STI and Related Discrimination: An important responsibility of Health-Promoting Schools. WHO, 1999.

 


[PDF]

Preventing HIV/AIDS, STI and Related Discrimination: An important responsibility of Health-Promoting Schools. WHO, 1999. (french)
[PDF]



Documents

Life Skills Powerpoint Presentation with talking points
[powerpoint]

Hand-outs and Talking points
[PDF]

Preventing HIV/AIDS, STI and Related Discrimination: An important responsibility of Health-Promoting Schools. WHO, 1999.

 


[PDF]

Preventing HIV/AIDS, STI and Related Discrimination: An important responsibility of Health-Promoting Schools. WHO, 1999. (french)
[PDF]



 

 

A special case for HIV prevention, care and support

Comprehensive education sector approaches can contribute to HIV prevention, care and support, especially in countries with generalized epidemics and high education participation rates.

A special case for HIV prevention care and support

Girls, HIV and Education

Three key lines of action in the educational response to HIV prevention, care and support with particular emphasis on girls:

1. Getting girls into school
2. Providing gender-sensitive life skills-based HIV education in school
3. Ensuring special measures for those not in school

Girls, HIV/AIDS and Education

New enhanced search