津巴布韦

津巴布韦在解决通货膨胀问题的同时着手解决营养不良问题

UNICEF Photo: Zimbabwe
© UNICEF Zimbabwe/2008
两岁的阿普雷希亚特和他的妈妈丽瓦伊.恩多罗在哈拉雷中心医院,这个孩子在该医院被确诊患有严重的营养不良综合症(又称水肿型营养不良)。

塔普瓦.穆特西耶佧瓦和齐齐.辛吉吉报道

津巴布韦哈拉雷,2008年10月28日 – 2岁的阿普雷西亚特(Appreciate)躺在哈拉雷中心医院的病床上。不到10公斤的他,表现出许多严重营养不良的症状:腹胀,皮肤干燥呈疤状,眼窝深陷。

幸运的是,他的妈妈丽瓦伊.恩多罗(Revai Ndoro)很快就注意到了这些潜在的危险,并把他送到了医院。他立即被送到了该医院的食疗中心,在那儿他被确诊为“水肿型” 营养不良综合症,这种病的症状是皮肤和头发的改变以及浮肿。

“他一点也没长大,”他的妈妈说。“三天来,他卧床不起,痛苦地呻吟着,呼吸急促。”

食疗中心

联合国儿童基金会在津巴布韦支持了近70个食疗中心,哈拉雷中心医院是其中之一。每天,大约有15名患严重营养不良的儿童被送到该医院接受治疗。

据估计,有5万名津巴布韦儿童体重严重过轻。

在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,该中心已对蜂拥而至的患者作出了反应,这些患者主要是水肿型营养不良或极度消瘦的‘消瘦型’营养不良的病人。 该中心对营养不良的治疗首先是观察和称量体重。对于病情严重的患者,则是每隔三个小时喂‘F75’食疗牛奶。

F75使营养不良儿童的体重能够在3到4天中增加约2公斤,这时侯,通常他们就能回家了。 其他的孩子则带上两周的即食营养糊“肥果”。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zimbabwe/2008/ Pirrozzi
梅利莎.詹布患有严重的营养不良。服用了“肥果”后,现在她正在恢复中。

该中心还为父母和监护人提供有关正确营养、卫生和其他形式的照顾儿童方法的日常课程,以确保儿童不断地茁壮成长。

支持改善治疗方法

自2002年以来,作为降低儿童死亡率的一种方法,联合国儿童基金会一直在支持津巴布韦的医院改善对营养不良的治疗方法。

“治愈营养不良的措施非常简单且成本低廉,”联合国儿童基金会驻津巴布韦的代表罗兰德.蒙纳敕(Roeland Monasch)说。“可悲的是,许多儿童因缺乏适当的治疗而夭折了。生命就这样逝去了,真是无法让人接受。在联合国儿童基金会,我们正在努力扭转这种局面。” 

对阿普莱西亚特来说,在食疗中心度过的三天是拯救生命的三天。不幸的是,这对父母都没有工作,因此为阿普莱西亚特提供食品,确保他继续恢复对这对父母来说仍然是一个挑战。

进入“青黄不接的时节”

津巴布韦进入了最青黄不接的时节,营养不良的危险似乎就在眼前,对已经深陷人道主义危机的这个国家的孩子们来说,这是个令人担忧的问题。由于猛烈的通货膨胀和持续的基本食品短缺,导致6个月至12岁的津巴布韦孩子们营养不良的问题日益突显。

 
“除了每天面对的巨大挑战外,津巴布韦孩子们无法承受迫在眉睫的营养不良的威胁,”蒙纳敕先生说。“因为许多家庭要为养家糊口奋斗,所以局势非常严重和令人担忧。”

本周,秘书长潘基文重申联合国愿意为津巴布韦脆弱的过渡期提供全面的支持,与地区领导人和国际社会一起,为遭受苦难的人民提供紧急救济。

“津巴布韦的孩子们应当过得更好。他们应该去上学,有干净的饮用水,能够得到 高质量的医疗保健,上床睡觉的时候不再饥肠辘辘,”蒙纳敕先生说。“没有人道主义的援助,这些孩子的命运基本上不会有什么改变。”


 

 

视频(英文)


2008年10月24日:联合国儿童基金会的营养负责人维尔纳.舒尔丁克(Werner Schultink)谈津巴布韦儿童营养不良的情况。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Zimbabwe

Treating child malnutrition as Zimbabwe grapples with raging inflation

UNICEF Image: Zimbabwe
© UNICEF Zimbabwe/2008
Two-year-old Appreciate and his mother Revai Ndoro at Harare Central Hospital, where the child was diagnosed as suffering from a severe malnutrition syndrome known as kwashiorkor.

By Tapuwa Mutseyekwa & Tsitsi Singizi

HARARE, Zimbabwe, 28 October 2008 – Two-year-old Appreciate lies in a bed at the Harare Central Hospital. At just under 10 kg, he shows many signs of severe malnutrition: a swollen stomach, dry scaly skin and hollow, sunken eyes.

Luckily, his mother, Revai Ndoro, was quick to see the pending danger and took him to the hospital. He was immediately referred to the hospital’s therapeutic feeding centre, where he was diagnosed as suffering from the syndrome known as kwashiorkor – characterized by skin and hair changes and oedema.

“He has not been growing at all,” said his mother. “For the last three days, he was bedridden, moaning in pain and breathing heavily.”

Therapeutic feeding centres

Harare Central Hospital is the site of one of approximately 70 therapeutic feeding centres supported by UNICEF in Zimbabwe. Each day, about 15 children are admitted to the hospital with severe malnutrition.

An estimated 50,000 children in Zimbabwe are severely underweight.

With UNICEF support, the centre has responded to the high influx of patients coming in mainly with the symptoms of kwashiorkor or severe wasting known as marasmus. At the centre, treatment of malnutrition begins with observation and weighing. For severe cases, a therapeutic milk called F75 is given to the child at three-hour intervals.

With the help of F75, malnourished children can gain approximately two kg in three to four days, at which point they are often able to return home. Other children go home with a two-week supply of  Plumpy'nut, a ready-to-use nutritional paste.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zimbabwe/2008/ Pirrozzi
Melissa Jambo is suffering from a severe case of malnutrition. She is now on the path to recovery with the help of Plumpy’nut, a ready-to-eat nutritional paste.

The centre also offers daily lessons on proper nutrition, hygiene and other aspects of child care to parents and guardians to help ensure that the child will continue to thrive.

Support for improved treatment

Since 2002, UNICEF has supported improved treatment methodologies for malnutrition in Zimbabwe’s hospitals as a way of reducing child mortality.

“Malnutrition can be cured, with very simple and cost effective measures,” said UNICEF Representative in Zimbabwe Roeland Monasch. “Sadly, many children die due to lack of proper treatment. Such loss of life is unacceptable. At UNICEF, we are working to reverse this.”

For Appreciate, the three days he spent in the feeding centre were life-saving. Unfortunately, neither the mother nor the father is employed, so it will remain a challenge for the two parents to provide food and ensure that Appreciate remains on the path to recovery. 

Entering the ‘lean season’

As Zimbabwe enters the height of the lean season, when food stocks run low before the next harvest, the danger of a malnutrition crisis does not seem far away. This is a daunting proposition for the children of a country already in a humanitarian crisis. With raging inflation and a continued shortage of basic food commodities, cases of malnutrition in children between six months and 12 years of age are becoming more apparent in Zimbabwe. 
 
“Zimbabwean children cannot afford a looming malnutrition threat in addition to the immense challenges they already face every day,” said Mr. Monasch. “It is a very serious and real concern as families grapple to feed their families.”

This week, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon reiterated the United Nations’ willingness to support Zimbabwe throughout this delicate transition process, and to work with regional leaders and the international community to provide immediate relief to those at risk.

“Zimbabwe’s children deserve better. They deserve to go to school, to drink clean water, to access quality heath care and to go to bed without feeling hungry,” said Mr. Monasch. “Without humanitarian assistance, the fate of these children will remain largely unchanged.”


 

 

Video


24 October 2008: UNICEF Chief of Nutrition Werner Schultink discusses malnutrition among children in Zimbabwe.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search