津巴布韦

津巴布韦青年克服重重困难抗击艾滋病

UNICEF Photo: Zimbabwe, HIV prevention
© UNICEF/2006/Pirozzi
2006年会议期间,联合国儿童基金会支持的“我们关心青年”计划的成员们在津巴布韦东部的一所中学跳舞。

齐齐.辛吉吉报道

这是一篇有关促进健康生活、提供优质教育、防治艾滋病,以及反虐待、反剥削和反暴力的儿童保护系列报道之一。“儿童进展报告”专辑是联合国儿童基金会的核心出版刊物,都是关于实现千年发展目标的报道。这个报告将于12月10日发表。

津巴布韦阿拉斯加,2007年12月28日。一阵欢快的声音和鼓点一下打破了那老式搅拌机低沉的嗡嗡声。瞬间,津巴布韦首都北部不远的沉睡的矿业城市阿拉斯加一下变成了一个载歌载舞的嘉年华会。

十多名青年男女齐声应和着领唱,在鼓手的周围围成一圈,双双起舞,他们的脚下带起阵阵尘埃。这种充满活力的舞蹈,传统上是在战前的动员时进行的表演。这几天,舞者面对新的敌人:艾滋病。

“爱滋病在这里!”歌手们唱道。“这是我的家,我的邻里和我的社区。用我们的躯体,我们的价值观,我们的思想,不惜一切抗击艾滋病。”这个清晰的讯息深深抓住了观众。

年轻的人在活动的前沿

表演者都是联合国儿童基金会支持的“我们关心青年(YPWC)”计划的成员,该计划是津巴布韦寻求减少青年人易受艾滋病毒感染的国家行为-改变策略的全部。

该组织提供一系列的干预措施,在年青人中通过同伴教育和生活技能培训,提倡负责任的性行为和艾滋病毒的预防。接下来,青年人对社区中受艾滋病打击最大的家庭提供关心和支持。

“当‘我们关心青年’计划开始时,我们社区的年轻人正陷入绝望中,”精神饱满,精力充沛的同伴教育者阿格内拉.玛瑚娃说。矿井已被暂时关闭,她解释说,年轻男子开始酗酒并拥有多个性伴侣。

“女孩为了维持生计从事性交易,”阿格内拉回忆道。“然而,‘我们关心青年’计划极大地帮助青年人讨论并揭露了危险性行为,艾滋病毒和艾滋病的危害性。因此,年轻人都更小心了。"

改变性行为,更安全的生活

以社区为主导的诸如‘我们关心青年’计划的干预措施,不仅限于阿拉斯加。在经济萎缩,失业率上升,孤儿危机和生活费用急剧上升的背景下,津巴布韦青年正在向重重困难发起挑战。通过反艾滋病俱乐部和女孩权益运动,他们正在给他们的同伴提供获取防止艾滋病毒蔓延的关键信息。

类似这些干预措施,正在使这种病在津巴布韦的全国流行趋势得到了扭转。2007年联合国的一份报告表明,津巴布韦当前全国艾滋病毒感染率明显下降。这种情况在一定程度上似乎与性行为改变有关,这些改变包括妇女和不固定性伙伴之间使用安全套的增加,多重性伙伴间的性行为的减少。

21岁的青年志愿者楚斯特.恩格尼.萨马提亚表示,参加像‘我们关心青年’计划这样的团体的活动,使他更加认识到了这种疾病的危险。“他们的讯息是真实而实用的,”他说。“至少和他们一起谈论安全套时,我不觉得有什么尴尬。”

“在文化和传统为主宰的社会,公开讨论性和性行为仅限于夫妻间,”联合国儿童基金会驻津巴布韦艾滋病毒项目的负责人尼科莱特.穆迪说。 “但是,就像楚斯特所说,随着越来越多的年轻人在有关性和艾滋病毒的问题上开始变得开放,积极的同伴压力已经产生成效。”


 

 

搜索

Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe’s youth overcome bitter odds to fight AIDS

UNICEF Image: Zimbabwe, HIV prevention
© UNICEF/2006/Pirozzi
Members of the UNICEF-supported Young People We Care programme danced during a 2006 meeting at a secondary school in eastern Zimbabwe.

By Tsitsi Singizi

Here is one in a series of stories on successful initiatives to promote healthy lives, provide quality education, combat HIV and AIDS, and protect children against abuse, exploitation and violence – all part of a special edition of ‘Progress for Children’, UNICEF’s flagship publication on advances towards the Millennium Development Goals. The report was launched on 10 December.

ALASKA, Zimbabwe, 28 December 2007 – A bright voice and the sound of drums cut through the low hum of the old mill. Suddenly, the sleepy mining town of Alaska, a few hours north of Zimbabwe’s capital, transforms into a carnival of song and dance.

Dancing in pairs, a dozen young men and women respond in chorus to the solo singer, their feet raising a cloud of dust as they form a ring around the drummers. It’s a vigorous dance, traditionally performed to mobilize troops for war. These days the dancers have a new enemy: AIDS.

“AIDS is here!” the singers call. “It is in my home, neighbourhood and community. Let us fight it with everything we have – our bodies, our values and our minds.” The message is clear and the audience is riveted.

Young people at the forefront

The performers are members of Young People We Care (YPWC), a UNICEF-supported programme that is an integral part of Zimbabwe’s national behaviour-change strategy, which seeks to reduce young people’s vulnerability to HIV infection.

Offering a range of interventions, the group encourages responsible behaviour and HIV prevention among young people through peer education and life-skills training. In turn, the youths provide care and support to the households hardest hit by AIDS in their communities.

“When YPWC started, young people in our community were becoming desperate,” says Agnela Mahomva, a feisty and energetic peer educator. The mine had temporarily shut down, she explains, and young men were turning to alcohol and having many sexual partners.

“Girls were engaging in transactional sex just to make ends meet,” Agnela recalls. “However, YPWC has greatly helped young people discuss and open up to the dangers of risky behaviour, HIV and AIDS. As a result, young people are more careful.”

Changing behaviours, safer lives

And community-led interventions such as YPWC are not limited to Alaska. Against the backdrop of a shrinking economy, rising unemployment, an orphan crisis and a sharply increasing cost of living, Zimbabwean youths are defying bitter odds. Through anti-AIDS clubs and girls’ empowerment movements, they are providing their peers with access to critical information about preventing the spread of HIV.

Interventions such as these are reversing the tide of the pandemic in Zimbabwe. A 2007 United Nations report found that Zimbabwe presents evidence of a strong decline in national HIV prevalence. The decrease appears to be partly associated with behaviour changes, including an increase in condom use among women with non-regular partners and a reduction in sexual activity with multiple partners.

Youth volunteer Trust Ngoni Samatiya, 21, says that being involved with a group like YPWC has made him more aware of the dangers of the disease. “Their messages are real and practical,” he says. “At least they talk about condoms, and when I am with them I do not feel embarrassed discussing these issues.”

“In a community where culture and tradition dominate, open discussion of sex and sexuality is often confined to matrimony,” says UNICEF’s head of HIV programming in Zimbabwe, Nicolette Moodie. “But as Trust points out, positive peer pressure is yielding results, as more young people begin to open up about sex and HIV.”


 

 

New enhanced search