津巴布韦

津巴布韦的布拉瓦约疾病泛滥,绝望的居民们寻求安全的饮用水

UNICEF Photo
© Tsitsi Singizi
72岁的艾米莉.恩库博为了让她的孙子和孙女们能喝上安全的饮用水,要每天两次,走五公里去打回一桶25升的水。

特斯特斯.辛紫梓报道

津巴布韦的布拉瓦约,2007年11月14日。72岁的艾米莉.恩库博,每天两次竭尽全力地将25升重的水桶顶到头上,对于这个年老体衰的妇女来说,这真是一项令人精疲力尽的繁重家务。 但她说,比起让体弱的孙子孙女们上医院看病来说,这样还更好一些。

恩库博女士说,“我要照看四个父母双亡的孙子孙女。上周,最小的那个,诺布赫勒得了严重的嗓子痛。我知道这是喝了附近水井里的水造成的。那里的水不干净。”

在津巴布韦的第二大城市,饮用水和卫生设施的状况非常令人担忧。布拉瓦约的民众每天可获得的饮用水仅为全球公认的20升的最低用水量的三分之一 ,这种情况是由于近四年来的干旱,经济困难以及泛滥的艾滋病导致的。

居民对饮用水绝望

在黎明时分,少数的几个供水点排着长长的队。放学后,孩子们拎着大桶排着队等着打第二天要用的水。

由于绝望的民众苦于寻找其他的水源,在许多城市人口密集的郊区,人们正大肆挖掘不安全的浅水井。同时,缺乏水源使卫生设施的条件变得非常危险,民众已经不能再使用自己家中的厕所。

毫无意外,由于水污染和恶劣的卫生条件,患痢疾的病人人数正呈不断上升的趋势。

改善卫生习惯

联合国儿童基金会驻津巴布韦代表菲斯托.卡维契博士说:“那里由于缺乏安全的水源,加之不良的卫生习惯,对于妇女和儿童来说,卫生条件已经变得十分危险。像这样的疾病和痢疾的爆发是造成儿童死亡的重要因素。”

根据布拉瓦约卫生当局的统计,自8月底以来,总共已经发现了逾2500个痢疾的病例,平均每天40个病例。

鉴于此种状况,有关卫生状况和痢疾的重要知识在社区被广泛的宣传,卫生习惯已经得到了改善。

供应安全、干净的饮用水

在加拿大国际发展署,英国国际开发部,瑞典援助机构的帮助下,联合国儿童基金会继续努力,使布拉瓦约的情况得到改善。

联合国儿童基金会与一个设在布拉瓦约的非政府组织合作,已经钻了10口井,并正在修复另外75口井。

向一些城市的学校提供了七个可容纳10000升饮用水的蓄水箱。同时派发了用以治疗痢疾引起的脱水的口服补液盐,水处理药片和清洁用的肥皂。

联合国儿童基金会负责水、卫生设施和卫生的官员麦克斯韦尔.钟伽说:“我们不分昼夜的工作,但仍然需要投资一个可提供更加持续的供水和卫生设施的系统。”


 

 

搜索

Zimbabwe

Illness rises as desperate residents seek safe water in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe

UNICEF Image
© Tsitsi Singizi
Twice each day, Emily Ncube, 72, travels five km with a 25-litre bucket of water in order to ensure that her four grandchildren have safe water.

By Tsitsi Singizi

BULAWAYO, Zimbabwe, 14 November 2007 – Twice each day, Emily Ncube, 72, struggles to hoist a 25-litre bucket of water onto her head. It is a gruelling chore for the frail women but a better option, she says, than making another trip to the clinic with a sick grandchild.

“I look after four orphaned grandchildren,” said Ms. Ncube. “Last week, the smallest one, Nobuhle, had a serious stomach ache. I know it was caused by the water from the nearby wells. That water is not clean.”

The water and sanitation situation in Zimbabwe’s second largest city is dire. Residents of Bulawayo have access to just one-third of the globally accepted 20-litre minimum for daily water usage – a situation that is complicated by nearly four years of drought, economic difficulties and the AIDS pandemic here.
 
Families desperate for water

Long queues at the few functioning water points can be seen as early as dawn. After school, children with huge containers line up to collect water for the next day’s supply.

As desperate residents seek alternative sources of water, unsafe shallow wells are being dug in many of the city’s high-density suburbs. Meanwhile, sanitation conditions have become threatening because, lacking water, residents can no longer use the latrines in their homes.

Unsurprisingly, incidents of diarrhoea are rising as a result of contaminated water and poor hygiene.

Improving hygienic practices

“Where there is a lack of safe water and sanitation together with poor hygiene practices, conditions become hazardous for women and children,” said UNICEF’s Representative in Zimbabwe, Dr. Festo Kavishe. “Illnesses and diarrhoea outbreaks such as these significantly contribute to child mortality.”

According to the Bulawayo health authorities, more than 2,500 cumulative cases of diarrhoea have been reported since the end of August, an average of around 40 per day.

In response, vital information on hygiene and diarrhoea is being circulated to improve hygienic practices in the community.

Provision of safe, clean water

With assistance from the Canadian International Development Agency, the UK Department for International Development  and the Swedish AID Agency, UNICEF continues to work to improve the situation in Bulawayo.

Working with a coalition of non-governmental organizations based in Bulawayo, UNICEF has drilled 10 boreholes and is rehabilitating 75 others.

Seven 10,000-litre water tanks have been provided to some of the city’s schools. Oral rehydration salts to treat diarrhoeal dehydration, water treatment tablets and washing soap have also been distributed.

“We’ve worked around the clock, but there remains a need for investment in a much more sustainable water and sanitation system,” said UNICEF’s Officer-in-Charge of Water, Sanitation and Hygiene, Maxwell Jonga.

 


 

 

New enhanced search