赞比亚

在赞比亚偏远的农村地区,年轻的球迷们在大屏幕上观看2010年世界杯比赛

“世界杯在我家”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zambia/2010/Nsama
赞比亚芒古镇,一名小球迷吹着呜呜祖啦,联合过儿童基金会支持的“世界杯在我家”教育工程让村民们有机会一睹足球英雄的风采。

桑塔.布罗曼报道

赞比亚纳姆沙卡,2010年7月2日–距离赞比亚首都卢萨卡600多公里的一所当地学校的沙地足球场已经被改造成了一个球迷公园。随着世界杯在非洲大陆上的第一次举办,足球热潮甚至已经蔓延到了非洲最偏远的农村地区。

 点击此处查看视频

一个三米宽的巨型充气荧幕立了起来,发电机发动引擎向里面吹送热气。在赞比亚当地非政府组织“体育行动(Sports for Action)”工作的技术人员小组接受了培训,搭建了放映机来直播国际足球比赛。

这个大屏幕由联合国儿童基金会、儿童广播基金会和当地合作伙伴共同发起的“世界杯在我家“项目提供。该项目传播了体育的精神——不仅让贫穷偏远地区的人们能够观看到比赛,而且进一步挖掘了年轻人的潜力,唤起他们对主要社会问题的关注。

值得关注的问题

太阳刚刚落山,社区的数千名村民和儿童都激动地围坐在大屏幕前,期待着唯一一支晋级世界杯十六强的非洲球队加纳队能够击败美国队。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zambia/2010/Nsama
在赞比亚西部省份的纳姆沙卡村,村民们在巨型充气荧幕前观看美国对加纳的比赛,这个大屏幕由联合国儿童基金会、儿童广播基金会和当地合作伙伴共同发起的“世界杯在我家”项目提供。

皎洁的满月下,人们靠在一起取暖。当加纳队取得最终胜利的时候,人们的忠诚已经超越了国界,泛非洲团结的热情暴发出一片欢腾。

14岁的伊诺格.西塔利是九年级的学生,也是接受广播技术培训的17名赞比亚年轻人之一。他们在每场比赛播放之前举办脱口秀节目,利用放映比赛的机会来让大家探讨社区里值得关注的问题。

伊诺格住在省会芒古,他的理想是成为一名记者,他说:“我们学会了怎样使用录音机,怎样做采访,以及怎样写出一个好的故事。”

利用广播促进对话

儿童广播基金会的研讨会协调人员乔治.吉图玛(George Githuma)说:“这是一种能够发动群众的社会动员工具,也能让讨论社会问题变得更容易。”作为肯尼亚人,他深知足球在非洲的影响力,并一直致力于与儿童合作进行广播宣传。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zambia/2010/Nsama
在赞比亚西部芒古的圣约翰中学,年轻人接受由儿童广播电台基金会提供的广播强化培训;他们在播放球赛前的访谈节目上讨论了与自己所在社区相关的问题。

吉图玛先生说:“我们同青年记者合作,找出社区里存在的社会问题——他们怎样看待贫穷,怎样看待教育以及对艾滋病的认识如何?”

他深信让接受过培训的年轻人来提出问题并讨论能对社区产生很大的影响,尤其是在那些儿童几乎没有发言权的地区。吉图玛先生说:“讨论问题是解决问题和促进对话的第一步,接受过广播技能培训的年轻人能够利用各种方法来寻找解决的途径。”

关注教育

这些年轻的小记者在比赛前采访人们并制作出广播新闻在当地的电台播出,从他们的采访得知,教育是人们最为关注的问题之一。

尽管赞比亚自2002年起就实行义务教育,但对于很多农村家庭来说,去往学校的路费以及校服和书本的费用还是让上学成为难题,辍学率依然很高。对此,“世界杯在我家”项目与一个以足球为核心的教育运动“1GOAL”合作,争取让所有儿童都能接受小学教育。

17岁的埃斯特.卡伦加是接受儿童广播基金会培训的青年记者之一,现在读初三,她说她对许多农村地区很高的少女怀孕率感到震惊。

在周日脱口秀中举行的青年讨论会上,她说:“这些女孩觉得她们没办法再回到学校了,学费都被用来照顾孩子,所以我认为教育很重要,因为这是获得成功的唯一途径。”

一生中难得的机会

下一场比赛即将开始,小山上又立起了充气大萤幕,俯瞰着巴托斯泛滥平原,这里距离流经非洲南部的赞比西河25公里。人们冒着严寒坐在草地上,等待高科技为他们带来的视觉盛宴。

青年记者们招呼大家来观看比赛,利用声音放大系统开展一场关于老师在教育中的角色的讨论。孩子们早已迫不及待地等着发表自己的观点,谈谈如何改善教室的条件。

接着比赛开始了。尽管他们生活在偏远地区,赞比亚西部的电力供应极为不足,电视机更是少见,但孩子们知道了非洲很多足球明星的名字,并期望能以他们为榜眼。“世界杯在我家”让他们有机会一睹英雄们的风采,对他们很多人来说,这是一生中难得的机会。


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年6月27日:联合国儿童基金会记者桑塔.布罗曼报道赞比亚偏远农村的村民有机会收看2010年世界杯比赛。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

搜索

Zambia

Young fans see FIFA World Cup 2010 on the big screen in remote Zambian villages

‘World Cup in My Village’

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zambia/2010/Nsama
A Zambian football fan blows the vuvuzela in Mongu Town, Zambia. The UNICEF-supported 'World Cup in My Village' education project has given villagers a chance to see their sports heroes play.

By Shantha Bloemen

NAMUSHAKA, Zambia, 2 July 2010 – More than 600 km from Zambia’s capital, Lusaka, the local school’s sandy football pitch is being converted to a soccer fan park. Football fever is hitting even the most remote villages in Africa as the FIFA World Cup is played for the first time on the continent.

VIDEO: Watch now

A giant inflatable screen three metres wide comes to life as a generator powers the engine that blows hot air into it. A team of technicians working for a local Zambian non-governmental organization, Sports for Action, has been trained to set up the projector to beam the international football matches live.

The screening is made possible by the ‘World Cup in My Village’ initiative organized by UNICEF, the Children’s Radio Foundation and local partners. The initiative channels the power of football – not only to beam this global sporting event to poor and far-flung communities, but also to tap into the talents of young people in order to raise awareness about key social issues.

Issues of concern

As the sun sets on this community of a couple of thousand people, local children gather, giddy with the thrill of seeing whether Ghana – the only African team to qualify to round two of the FIFA World Cup 2010 – can beat the United States.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zambia/2010/Nsama
Families in Namushaka village, in Zambia's Western Province, watch the USA-Ghana football match on a giant inflatable screen provided by the 'World Cup in My Village' initiative supported by UNICEF, the Children’s Radio Foundation and local partners.

Under a full moon, they huddle together to keep warm. As Ghana scores its victory, there is no doubt where their loyalty lies. Pan-African solidarity erupts into jubilation.

Inonge Sitali, 14, a ninth-grade student, is one of 17 Zambian young people here who have just undergone intensive training in radio techniques. They are using the matches to discuss issues of concern in their communities, holding talk shows before each game is screened.

“We have been able to learn how to use the recorder, how to interview people and we also learned how to make a good story,” says Inonge, who lives in the provincial capital, Mongu, and is now eager to become a journalist.

Using radio to foster dialogue

“It’s a social mobilization tool that brings people together, and then it’s easier to start talking about social issues,” notes Children’s Radio Foundation workshop coordinator George Githuma. As a Kenyan, he understands the power of football in Africa and has been working with the children to produce their radio pieces.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zambia/2010/Nsama
At St John’s Secondary School in Mongu, western Zambia, young people receive intensive training in radio from the Children’s Radio Foundation; they discuss issues of concern to their communities on talk shows held before each football match is screened.

“We work with the youth journalists,” adds Mr. Githuma, “to find out what are some of the social issues in the community – what they think about poverty, what do they think about education, what do they think about HIV and AIDS?”

He is convinced that empowering young people with skills to tell stories and discuss their problems can have a big influence on a community, especially in a culture where children don’t usually have a chance to speak out. “Talking about a problem is the first step in solving it and creating dialogue,” says Mr. Githuma. “Young people trained with radio skills can create the vehicles for finding these solutions.”

Focus on education

The youth journalists interview people before the matches and produce short radio stories that are broadcast on local community stations. One of the biggest concerns they have been hearing about is education.

Although Zambia introduced free basic education in 2002, for many rural families the distance to school – as well as costs of uniforms and books – can make attendance difficult. Drop-out rates are high. In response, World Cup in My Village has allied with 1GOAL, a football-centred education campaign, in an effort to get every child into primary school.

Esther Kalenga, 17, one of the young journalists trained by the Children’s Radio Foundation, is now her final year of secondary school. She says she has been shocked at the extent of teenage pregnancy in many rural communities.

“These girls feel they have no way to go back to school,” she says during a panel discussion with other young people on a popular Sunday talk show. “The money they need for staying in the classroom is instead now needed to care for the babies. I think education is very important, because education is the only way to succeed in life.”

Opportunity of a lifetime

As another football match approaches, the inflatable screen is set up on a hill overlooking the Bartose floodplains, 25 km from the Zambezi River, which flows across southern Africa. More crowds of people face the winter chill to sit on the grass and marvel at the technology being set up before them.

The youth journalists call more people to come over, using the amplification system to start a discussion about the role of teachers in education. Eager to engage, children wait their turn to express opinions about how to improve the quality of their classrooms.

Then the match begins. Despite their isolation, and the fact that electricity and televisions sets are rare in western Zambia, even the youngest children here know the names of Africa’s best players and aspire to be like them. World Cup in My Village has given them a chance to see their heroes play. For many, it is the opportunity of a lifetime.


 

 

Video

27 June 2010: UNICEF's Shantha Bloemen reports on a remote Zambian village's opportunity to watch the FIFA World Cup 2010.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search