赞比亚

赞比亚青年代表面对气候危机的挑战

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
14岁的卢亚当.卡当德,是气候变化的青年大使,去年代表赞比亚参加了哥本哈根儿童气候论坛。上周,他帮助组织了赞比亚首次“全国儿童气候会议”。

盖.伊哈伯德报道

2010年5月3日,赞比亚卢萨卡-虽然卢亚当.卡当德年仅14岁,但他发言时已颇像一位经验丰富的老政治家。他的政纲是气候变化,在赞比亚,他正迅速成为国内在这个问题上最具代表性的大使之一。

 点击此处观看视频

卢亚当和另外三名赞比亚青年代表出席了2009年于丹麦哥本哈根举行的联合国气候变化会议和儿童气候论坛,之后他们各自带着使命回国。上周,他们组织了赞比亚首次“全国儿童气候会议”。

勇敢面对危机

气候变化使整个非洲大陆受到严重的影响和破坏。连续的干旱导致作物歉收和饥荒,赞比亚,这个全球砍伐森林最严重的国家之一,及其他几个国家遭到洪水的侵袭,并已造成人口死亡和自然环境的破坏。

在联合国儿童基金会及赞比亚环境、旅游和自然资源部的支持下,卢亚当及其大使同伴正召集赞比亚的青年领袖们一起应对环境危机带来的挑战。

这次在卢萨卡举行的会议于4月26日至28日进行,出席会议的有近200名来自赞比亚所有九个省份的儿童代表。与会者了解了气候变化相关问题,并参加了一系列的研讨会,帮助制订工作计划,使他们回到自己的家乡地区后可开始实施。

“我们认识到,大多数赞比亚人并不真正了解[气候变化]带来的问题,”卢亚当说道。他接着又补充说,这次会议的目标之一是教育年轻人,使这个信息能在全国各地“不断传播”。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
赞比亚的自然环境正在迅速恶化。它是地球上毁林最严重的国家之一,近几个月来还遭受了一系列毁灭性的洪灾。

所有人都应尽的一份职责

出席会议的成人有联合国儿童基金会东南非区域主任哈吉.阿萨.施。

“让世界所有国家的公民都更加关注有关气候变化的实际情况,鼓励大家作出力所能及的贡献是非常重要的”,阿萨.施先生说道。“在赞比亚,这可能会涉及多种树或减少使用木材燃料等方式...还有很多我们每个人都可以做的事。我们可以团结起来一起作贡献。”

对年轻人来说,他们可以帮助在社区和工作中传播关于气候变化的进展,使其成为普通家庭的话题。赞比亚气候会议通过教育儿童引导同龄人关注气候变化来强调这些角色的重要性。与会者帮助制定关于气候变化的信息包,了解有关减少灾害风险、滴灌、家庭、学校和医院防汛等实用技能。

其他关键问题

赞比亚旅游、环境和自然资源部部长汉.凯瑟琳.纳穆加拉也出席了会议。她说道,政府正致力于解决气候变化带来的挑战和在这一过程中涉及的儿童问题。

“我部因此感激有机会与联合国儿童基金会合作为赞比亚儿童组织这次重要的研讨会,”她说道。

青年代表将在8月份再次举行会议就目前取得的进展讨论,并继续开发其气候变化方案。此外,他们将接受艾滋病毒和艾滋病生活技能教育的培训。

“我们的目标是培养气候大使同时又可兼任艾滋病毒/艾滋病的同伴教育者,”联合国儿童基金会驻赞比亚代表洛塔.西尔万德尔说道。“[这是]一个可联合起来的青年群体,以应对该国面临的一些最严重问题。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年4月29日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖.伊哈伯德报道赞比亚首次“全国儿童气候会议”。
 视频  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Zambia

Zambian youth delegates confront climate crisis

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Luyando Katenda, 14, is one of Zambia's youth ambassadors on climate change who attended the Children's Climate Forum in Copenhagen last year. Last week, he helped to organize the first Zambian Children's Climate Conference.

By Guy Hubbard

LUSAKA, Zambia, 3 May 2010 – Luyando Katenda is just 14 years old, but he already speaks like an elder statesman. His platform is climate change, and here in Zambia, he is fast becoming one of the country’s foremost ambassadors on the issue.

VIDEO: Watch now

Luyando and three other young Zambian delegates attended the 2009 United Nations Climate Change Conference and Children’s Climate Forum in Copenhagen, Denmark – and they returned home with a mission. Last week, they organized their country’s first Children’s Climate Conference.

Confronting a crisis

The effects of climate change are wreaking havoc across the African continent. Successive droughts have led to crop failure and starvation, while flooding in several nations – including Zambia, one of the most deforested countries on the planet – has caused death and destruction.

With support from UNICEF and the Zambian Ministry of Environment, Tourism and Natural Resources, Luyando and his fellow ambassadors are bringing together Zambia’s young leaders to address the environmental crisis.

The conference, which took place in Lusaka from 26 to 28 April, was attended by nearly 200 children from all nine provinces of Zambia. Participants learned about climate change issues and attended a series of workshops to help create work plans that they will begin implementing upon returning to their home districts.

“We realized that most Zambians don’t really know about [climate change],” said Luyando.  He added that one of the goals of the conference was to educate young people with information that “keeps on spreading” throughout the country.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on a UNICEF-supported children's arts festival held in connection with the Children's Climate Conference in Lusaka, Zambia.

 

A role for all

Among the adults who attended the conference was UNICEF Regional Director for Eastern and Southern Africa Elhadj As Sy.

“It is important for all citizens of the world to become more aware of the facts about climate change, and for everyone to make whatever contribution they can,” said Mr. As Sy. “In Zambia, this might take the form of planting more trees or of using less wood for fuel… There is more that every one of us can do.  We can all contribute in solidarity.”

For their part, young people can help to spread the word about climate change in their communities and work to make it a common household topic. The Zambian climate conference underscored these essential roles by teaching children to capture the attention of their peers. Participants helped to develop information packs on climate change and learned practical skills related to disaster risk reduction, drip irrigation, and flood-proofing homes, schools and hospitals.

Other critical issues

Hon. Catherine Namugala, Zambia’s Minister of Tourism, Environment, and Natural Resources, also attended the conference. She said the government was committed to addressing the challenges of climate change and involving children in the process.

“My ministry is therefore grateful for the opportunity to partner with UNICEF in organizing this important workshop for Zambian children,” she said.

The young delegates will reconvene in August to present progress achieved and continue building their climate change programmes. In addition, they will receive training in HIV and AIDS life skills education.

“The goal is to produce climate ambassadors who also can serve as HIV/AIDS peer educators,” said UNICEF Representative in Zambia Lotta Sylwander. “[This is] a group of young people who can band together to tackle some of the country’s most critical problems.”


 

 

Video

29 April 2010: UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on the first children’s conference on climate change in Zambia.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search