Zambie

La Zambie lance une campagne de promotion de l'allaiterment maternel exclusif

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF Zambie/2009/ Nalungwe
Les frères jumeaux Joseph et John Mwendasont maintenant en bonne santé aprés avoir été soignés contre la malnutrition à la clinique de Chipata, soutenue par l'UNICEF.

Par Betty Chella Nalungwe

LUSAKA, Zambie, 19 février 2009 – Lors du lancement par le gouvernement zambien d'une nouvelle campagne pour l'alimentation des jeunes enfants et des nourrissons, le ministre de la Santé a donné un  message clair à chaque mère : allaitez exclusivement votre nouveau-né pendant les six premiers mois de de la vie de l'enfant.

« L'allaitement Exclusif au sein signifie donner uniquement du lait maternel au bébé pendant les six premiers mois et nul autre liquide ou solide, pas même de l'eau à moins que cela ne soit médicalement indiqué,” a déclaré le ministre de la Santé Kapembwa Simbao. “Il est donc essentiel que le fait d'allaiter nos enfants devienne la norme en Zambie parce que le lait maternel joue un rôle très important pour maintenir l'enfant en bonne santé et est même essentiel pour sa survie en général. »

Une campagne nationale

Afin d'aider à améliorer le statut nutritif de chaque enfant zambien, la nouvelle campagne de plaidoyer du Ministère met l'accent sur l'importance de l'allaitement maternel, de commencer celui-ci dès la première heure après la naissance et de le continuer exclusivement pendant les six premiers mois.  Cette campagne nationale a pour objectif de faire augmenter le taux des enfants allaités au sein maternel exclusivement pendant les six premiers mois de vie.

« La réunion d'aujourd'hui constitue une avancée significative dans la lutte de la Zambie contre la malnutrition. Le lancement de la campagne contre la malnutrition dans les médias, avec un message centré sur l'allaitement maternel exclusif des enfants de moins de six mois, est un effort louable du gouvernement et des partenaires pour améliorer la survie des enfants » a déclaré le Représentant adjoint de l'UNICEF en Zambie, Elspeth Erickson.

Image de l'UNICEF
© UNICEF Zambie/2009/ Nalungwe
Maggie Mwenda, la mère des deux jumeaux, parle au lancement de la campagne. debout derrière elle son mari, Shaderick Mwenda.

Essentiel pour la survie de l'enfant

Part of the launch, which was held in the Chaisa compound in Zambia’s capital, included testimonials from parents whose children have been successfully treated for malnutrition at the nearby Chipata Clinic.

“The protection, promotion, and support of infant and young child feeding practices are essential for improving survival and supporting the growth, health, and development of children. Without this, children become sick, children become malnourished, and children die,” said Ms. Erickson.

Prendre soin des enfants malnutris

Maggie Mwenda, 33 ans, vit à Chaisa avec son mari et ses quatre enfants. Elle explique qu'elle a passé deux mois à visiter des docteurs . Elle explique qu'elle a passé deux mois à visiter des docteurs 'traditionnels' pour avoir des soins pour ses bébés qui étaient sévèrement mal nourris

« Quand mes jumeaux sont tombés malades, j'ai complètement ignoré les signes. Avec mon mari et d'autres membres de la famille, nous nous sommes convaincus mutuellement que c'était à cause de la sorcellerie si nos bébés étaient si malades, » a expliqué Mme Mwenda. « Le pire était qu'ils n'avaient pas la force de jouer, mais seulement de pleurer sans arrêt. »

Après avoir été conseillée par un agent de santé volontaire de la communauté, elle a porté ses bébés à la Clinique communautaire de Chipata. Les jumeaux ont pu y être soignés avec succès, grâce au programme de soins thérapeutiques pour enfants mal nourris de la clinique. L’instruction des parents aux  bonnes pratiques nutritives pour maintenir leurs enfants en bonne santé  fait également partie de ce programme, soutenu par l'UNICEF.

« Je suis heureuse d'avoir suivi les cours dispensés par le programme et  je suis fière de dire maintenant que je suis capable de bien nourrir mes enfants. Je conseillerai aussi les autres mères pour leur enseigner à mon tour comment bien nourrir leurs enfants » a déclaré Mme Mwenda.


 

 

Recherche

Zambia

Zambia launches campaign to promote exclusive breastfeeding

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zambia/2009/Nalungwe
Young twin brothers Joseph and John Mwenda are now healthy after being successfully treated for malnutrition at the UNICEF-supported Chipata Clinic in Zambia.

By Betty Chella Nalungwe

LUSAKA, Zambia, 19 February 2009 – At the launch of the Government of Zambia’s new advocacy campaign for infant and young child feeding, the country’s Minister of Health had a clear message for every mother: Exclusively breastfeed your newborn for the child’s first six months of life.

“Exclusive breastfeeding means giving the baby only breast milk for the first six months, and no other liquids or solids, not even water unless medically indicated,” said Minister of Health Kapembwa Simbao. “It is therefore crucial that breastfeeding our children becomes the norm in Zambia, because breast milk plays a very important role in securing the health of children and is essential for overall child survival.”

National campaign

To help improve the nutritional status of every Zambian child, the ministry’s new advocacy campaign is emphasizing the importance of breastfeeding, starting within the first hour of birth and continuing exclusively for the first six months. The national campaign aims to increase the exclusive breastfeeding rate substantially.

“This gathering today is a significant step in Zambia’s fight against malnutrition. The launch of the mass media campaign against malnutrition, with a focus on exclusive breastfeeding of children under six months of age, is commendable step by the government and partners to make a difference for these children and to save their lives,” said UNICEF Deputy Representative in Zambia Elspeth Erickson.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zambia/2009/Nalungwe
Maggie Mwenda, mother of four, including twins Joseph and John, speaks at the launch of the breastfeeding promotion campaign. Behind her is her husband, Shaderick.

Essential for child survival

Part of the launch, which was held in the Chaisa compound in Zambia’s capital, Lusaka, included testimonials from parents whose children have been successfully treated for malnutrition at the nearby UNICEF-supported Chipata Clinic.

“The protection, promotion and support of infant and young child feeding practices are essential for improving survival and supporting the growth, health and development of children. Without this, children become sick, children become malnourished and children die,” said Ms. Erickson.

Maggie Mwenda, 33, lives with her husband and four children in Chaisa. She explained that she had spent two months visiting ‘traditional’ doctors to get treatment for her babies, who were severely malnourished.

“When my twin children started getting ill, I totally ignored the signs. Between my husband and other family members, we convinced ourselves that it was witchcraft that was making our babies so sick,” said Ms. Mwenda. “The worst part was that they could not play but spent their time crying non-stop.”

Caring for malnourished children

After a volunteer community health worker advised Ms. Mwenda to take her babies to the Chipata Clinic, the twins were successfully treated through the clinic’s Community Therapeutic Care for Malnourished Children programme. Part of the UNICEF-supported programme's focus is to educate parents on healthy nutritional practices.

“I am happy for the education that I have received from the programme. I am proud to say that I am now equipped to look after my children nutritionally well, and also that I will be an advocate of proper feeding practices to other mothers,” said Ms. Mwenda.


 

 

New enhanced search