赞比亚

赞比亚大规模的预防麻疹运动宣告成功

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zambia/2007
在赞比亚北部省份姆皮卡的一个社区卫生所里,一名儿童正在接受麻疹疫苗注射。

纽约,2007年10月31日。在抗击麻疹的斗争中,赞比亚最近一次的全国麻疹免疫运动取得了突破性的进展,为二百一十万名五岁以下儿童接种了麻疹疫苗。

今天,为庆祝赞比亚的完全免疫覆盖率,首都卢萨卡举行了庆祝活动,所有参与协助预防麻疹工作的合作伙伴都出席了庆典,包括世界卫生组织和卫生部。

2003年的免疫运动显著地降低了麻疹的发病率,但是为巩固这些成绩,赞比亚还需要再跟进一场运动。 2003年以前,麻疹是该国五个主要儿童疾病之一。

最近,在七月所举行的运动是儿童健康周的综合活动之一,该活动同时也为预防幼童患病和营养不良提供其它的干预措施。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zambia/2007
除麻疹免疫之外,成长发育检查也是赞比亚儿童健康周的内容;图中一名幼童正在称体重。

孩子们除了获得麻疹预防针之外,还领取提高免疫力的维生素A,年龄在一至五岁的儿童领到驱蛔虫药片。为控制霍乱,近50万名家长及其他照顾孩子的人的蚊帐得到驱虫处理。

接触最受威胁的人群

本周,联合国儿童基金会代表罗塔. 西尔宛德在接受儿基会广播电台的电话采访时说:“赞比亚有众多的易受伤害儿童人口,他们非常穷,而且很难获得照顾。”

西尔宛德女士继续说,赞比亚儿童的营养不良比例非常高,并且还受到该国艾滋病高发率的威胁。

而赞比亚的地理条件更加剧了这些挑战,西尔宛德女士说:“这是一个幅员辽阔,人口相对稀少的国家,因此很难帮助到每一个人。 所以在这次的儿童健康周之前,做了大量的宣传工作 - 很多儿童和家庭都出来参与,才使运动如此成功。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Zambia/2007
联合国儿童基金会代表罗塔.西尔宛德从赞比亚卫生部研究与公共卫生代理主任卡帕塔博士手中接过杰出贡献及拯救生命合作伙伴证书。

拯救生命的合作

今年的全国大规模免疫运动由该国卫生部组织,并获得联合国儿童基金会、世界卫生组织以及其它被称为“抗击麻疹挽救生命合作”的参与者的支持和资助。

这项合作动员了当地数千名志愿者,帮助确保运动的成功。在儿童健康周开始之前,进行了几个星期的准备工作,从全国各地,甚至远到联合国儿童基金会在哥本哈根的主要物资仓库调拨免疫物资。

西尔宛德女士说:“这是强有力的合作伙伴关系,没有他们,我们不可能取得这样的成绩。”

虽然工作是成功的,但是与麻疹的斗争还远未结束。

西尔宛德女士说:“永远都有新生儿诞生,我们必须在新的运动中找到那些还没进行过免疫的新生儿。 我们不能自满。 如果我们坚持提醒政府和我们自己预防麻疹的重要性,几年之后,我们就可能消灭麻疹。”


 

 

音频(英文)

2007年10月30日:联合国儿童基金会驻赞比亚代表罗塔.西尔宛德向儿基会广播电台介绍该国最近麻疹免疫运动取得的成绩。
 音频 试听

联合国儿童基金会广播

搜索

Zambia

Zambia’s far-reaching measles campaign declared a success

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zambia/2007
A child receives a measles immunization shot at a community health clinic in Mpkia District, Northern Province, Zambia.

NEW YORK, 31 October 2007 – In a breakthrough for the fight to curb measles in Zambia, more than 2.1 million children under the age of five were recently immunized against the disease during the country’s latest national measles campaign.

The achievement of virtually total immunization coverage was celebrated today in Lusaka, the Zambian capital, at a gathering of all the partners that helped to coordinate the measles effort – including UNICEF, the World Health Organization (WHO) and the Ministry of Health.

The preceding campaign in 2003 significantly contributed to reduction in the disease, but Zambia needed to conduct a follow-up campaign to sustain these gains. Before 2003, measles was one of the five major causes of childhood illness in the country.

The recent campaign, conducted in July, was part of an integrated Child Health Week that also provided other interventions to protect young children from disease and undernutrition.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zambia/2007
In addition to measles immunization, growth monitoring was part of Zambia's Child Health Week; here, a young child is weighed.

In addition to a shot of the measles vaccine, children received vitamin A supplements to boost their immunity. Children aged one to five were given de-worming tablets, and close to half a million parents and other caretakers had their bednets re-treated with insecticide for malaria control.

Reaching those most at-risk

“Zambia has a vulnerable child population,” said its UNICEF Representative, Lotta Sylwander, in a telephone interview with UNICEF Radio this week. “They are very poor and have difficulty reaching care,” she added.

Ms. Sylwander went on to note that Zambian children suffer from high rates of malnutrition and are affected by a high level of HIV prevalence in the country.

And Zambia’s geography compounds the challenges, Ms. Sylwander explained. “This is a vast country with a relatively small population, so it’s very hard to access everyone,” she said. “So this Child Health Week was preceded by a massive information campaign – and that was hugely successful because so many children and families came out.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Zambia/2007
UNICEF Representative Lotta Sylwander receives a Certificate of Excellence and Life-saving Partnership from the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Health, Dr. Simon Miti.

A life-saving partnership

This year’s massive nationwide immunization campaign was organized by the country’s Ministry of Health, with support and funding from UNICEF, WHO and other participants in what came to be called the 'Life-saving Partnership against Measles’.

The coalition mobilized thousands of local volunteers to help ensure the success of the campaign. The Child Health Week itself followed several weeks of preparation to pre-position immunization supplies across the country from as far away as UNICEF’s main supply warehouse in Copenhagen.

"These were strong partnerships, and without any of these actors, we couldn’t have done it,” said Ms. Sylwander.

Despite this successful effort, however, the measles fight is far from over.

“Children are born all the time. We must try to capture the new kids in a new campaign,” said Ms. Sylwander. “We shouldn’t be complacent. If we keep reminding the government and ourselves of measles’ importance, we could have zero cases in a few years.”


 

 

Audio

30 October 2007:
UNICEF Representative in Zambia Lotta Sylwander talks to UNICEF Radio about the country’s recent successful measles campaign.
AUDIO listen

UNICEF radio

New enhanced search