UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

也门

在也门,教室即为家

拉加特.玛德浩克和塔哈妮.赛义德联合报道

也门冲突迫使流离失所的家庭栖身于所有可庇身之处、食用所有可果腹之物,并生活在每日不休的致命暴力恐惧中。

也门伊卜,2016年1月18日—对于37岁的马里亚姆来说,如何生存下来成为了她每日要面临的挑战。白天过得很慢,但夜晚才是她饱受痛苦与恐慌折磨的时候。她的13个孩子都靠她寻求食物,但无人伸出援助之手。她的丈夫设法从餐馆带回一些残羹剩饭,但即便如此也不足养活13个嗷嗷待哺的孩子。这顿饭持续不到一分钟,因为所有的孩子饿得如狼似虎,抓到什么都吃。马里亚姆和她的丈夫只能绝望地看着自己的孩子们。 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Yemen/2015/Farid
身为13个孩子的母亲,暴力冲突迫使马里亚姆与家人逃离位于塔伊兹的家后住进也门伊卜的一所学校。

马里亚姆及其孩子逃离塔伊兹,自去年三月以来,随着冲突升级,该城市已见证了多起血腥的战斗。她别无选择,只能带上可以携带的所有家当逃离。几天后,她在距离塔伊兹两小时路程的伊卜的一间教室里找到栖身之处。七个月后,冲突并未停歇,流离失所的状况也没有任何改变。她和她的孩子们继续与其他四个家庭,或者说是与其他20名妇女及儿童共同住在教室里。

一位泪眼婆娑的母亲一边指向堆叠着他们微薄家当的房间角落,一边说:“我想回去,但非常害怕我的孩子们会在战火中受伤。”“我宁愿呆在这个小角落里,也不愿回到塔伊兹。”

马里亚姆和其他19个家庭挤在位于伊布城中心的萨那Muhaidaly学校的教室中。在全国范围内,冲突已迫使250多万人流离失所。很多人像他们一样躲入学校。马里亚姆无处可去,她的孩子们再也无法过上正常人的生活。

她说:“我们没有钱去商店买东西。”“多亏联合国儿童基金会,我们才能收到这些物品。”她指着分发给她的洗漱卫生用品说道,还有数以千计的人们和她一样收到了洗漱卫生用品。卫生箱包括洗发水、肥皂、杰里罐、洗衣服用的小浴盆、卫生巾和其他日常生活必备物品。

她说:“我们需要更多援助。我们需要更清洁的卫生间、口粮和适当的住所。”

不断增加的需求

对于塔伊兹和其他冲突累及地区,联合国儿童基金会已提供紧急救援物资。塔伊兹和伊布的联合国儿童基金会回应负责人胡拉姆.贾韦德说:“到目前为止,我们已为流离失所的家庭提供安全用水、氯片、水槽、临时厕所、脊髓灰质炎和麻疹等儿童接种疫苗、洗漱卫生用品等基本生活用品、运作医院设施和抽取自来水用的药品和燃料。”“然而,人们对于物资的需求似乎随着危机的持续而与日俱增。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Yemen/2015/Farid
瓦吉达和她的两个侄子站在位于伊布的作为临时教室的联合国儿童基金会帐篷外。战火加剧,她的一个兄弟被杀害后,她和她的两个侄子逃离塔伊兹。

在距离塔伊兹20公里的阿尔.凯达镇中,流离失所的家庭正避难于他们能庇身之处。我们遇到与她两个侄子一起逃离塔伊兹的21岁女子瓦吉达。“战斗机在我们的房子附近投下一枚炸弹,伤及我的一位兄弟,但他后来很快恢复。”瓦吉达一边说,一边抱紧她的一个侄子。“在接下来的一周,另一枚炸弹在我们的房子附近爆炸,一个邻居被炸成两半。我的哥哥看到尸体后陷入休克。他再也没有从中恢复过来,不久便去世了。”

类似于马里亚姆,瓦吉达与另外16个人住在阿尔.凯达镇的一所小学教室中。她的两个侄子在联合国儿童基金会提供的作为临时教室的帐篷里学习。她担心会有爆炸伤及她的侄女。她宁愿她们在户外学习,但没有地方。流离失所的家庭占据了所有房间。

当被问及是否想要回到塔伊兹时,瓦吉达说:“战火摧毁了我的房子,所以现在我已无处可去。房子可以重建,但我要怎么找回我哥哥?他已经永远地离开了。”

__________

由于也门冲突在2015年3月升级,联合国儿童基金会已给出针对全国各地数百万也门儿童及其家庭的综合反应,提供保健、营养、教育、水与卫生、儿童保护及社会保护支持与服务。联合国儿童基金会已为400多万儿童提供脊髓灰质炎和麻疹等接种疫苗;治疗患有急性营养不良的数千名儿童,并为近400万人提供用于自来水系统的运水和燃料。联合国儿童基金会也已翻新损坏的学校、将慈善汇款分发到最亟需的人手中,并为冲突累及儿童提供心理辅导。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 本周图片精选

 

搜索

At a glance: Yemen

In Yemen, a classroom called home

By Rajat Madhok and Tahani Saeed

Families displaced by conflict in Yemen take shelter where they can find it, eat whatever they can and live in fear of the deadly violence that continues every day.

IBB, Yemen, 18 January 2016 – For 37-year-old Mariyam, survival is a daily challenge. The days pass slowly, but it’s the evenings when pain and panic grip her. Her 13 children look to her for food, but there is none to offer. Her husband manages to bring back some leftovers from restaurants, but even that is not enough to feed 13 growing children. The meal lasts less than a minute, as all the children quickly swallow whatever they can get their hands on. Mariyam and her husband can only watch their children in despair.  

© UNICEF Yemen/2015/Farid
Mariyam, mother of 13 children, lives with her family in a school building in Ibb, Yemen, after violence forced them to flee their home in Taiz.

Mariyam fled with her children from Taiz, a city that has seen some of the bloodiest fighting since the escalation of conflict last March. She had no choice but to run with whatever personal belongings she could gather. After a few days, she found shelter in a classroom in Ibb, a city two hours away from Taiz. Seven months later, there is no respite in the conflict, nor any change in her displaced status. She and her children continue to share space in a classroom with four other families or 20 other women and children.

“I wish to go back but am so scared that my children will be injured in the fighting,” says the teary-eyed mother as she points to a corner in the room where their meagre belongings are stacked. “I would rather stay here in this little corner than head back to Taiz.”

Mariyam and 19 other families are crowded into classrooms in Sana’a Muhaidaly School, in the heart of Ibb city. Across the country, the conflict has displaced more than 2.5 million people. Many have taken refuge in schools such as this one. Mariyam has nowhere to go, and her children can’t lead a normal life anymore.

“We don’t have any money to shop at stores,” she says. “Thanks to UNICEF, we received these items.” She points at a hygiene kit distributed to her and thousands others like her. The hygiene box includes shampoo, soaps, jerry cans, a small tub for washing clothes, sanitary napkins and other essential items for daily living.

“We need so much more support. We need cleaner toilets, rations, and a proper space to live in,” she says.

Ever increasing needs

UNICEF has been providing emergency relief supplies in Taiz and other areas affected by conflict. “So far, we have provided displaced families with safe water, chlorine tablets, water tanks, temporary latrines, vaccinations for children, including against polio and measles, basic commodities like hygiene kits, medicines and fuel to run hospital facilities and for pumping city water networks,” says Khurram Javed, who is heading UNICEF’s response in Taiz and Ibb. “However, the needs in this crisis only seem to be ever increasing by the day.” 

© UNICEF Yemen/2015/Farid
Wageeda and her two nephews stand outside a UNICEF tent in Ibb that serves as a temporary classroom. She fled with them from Taiz when fighting intensified and one of her brothers was killed.

In Al Qaidah, a town 20 km for Taiz, displaced families are taking refuge in any shelter they can find. We met a 21-year old-woman called Wageeda, who fled Taiz with her two nephews. “The fighters dropped a bomb close to our house, which caused injuries to one of my brothers. He recovered soon after,” Wageeda says, holding one of her nephews close to her. “The next week, another bomb exploded close to our house, and a neighbour’s body split into two pieces. My elder brother saw the body and went into shock. He never recovered from it and died soon after.”

Similar to Mariyam, Wageeda lives with 16 other persons in a classroom at a primary school in Al Qaidah. Her nephews study in a tent provided by UNICEF, which works as a makeshift classroom. She fears that an explosion will cause injury to her nieces. She prefers that they study indoors. But there is no space. All rooms have been taken over by displaced families.

When asked if she wants to go back to Taiz, Wageeda says, “My house was destroyed in the fighting, so there is nowhere to go as of now. The house can be reconstructed, but how can I get my brother back? He has gone forever.”


Since the escalation of conflict in Yemen in March 2015, UNICEF has provided an integrated response targeting millions of Yemeni children and their families across the country, providing support and services for health, nutrition, education, water and sanitation, child protection and social protection. UNICEF has vaccinated more than 4 million children, including against polio and measles; it has treated thousands of children suffering from acute malnutrition, and provided water trucking and fuel for running water systems to nearly 4 million people. The children’s agency has also refurbished damaged schools, distributed humanitarian cash transfers to the poorest of the poor and provided psychosocial support to children affected by conflict.




UNICEF Photography: Photo of the week


New enhanced search