也门

“儿童对儿童”项目打破也门学校的辍学恶性循环

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/Yeo
17岁的小辅导员萨达讲述一个有关老鼠家庭的故事,吸引了幼童的注意力,这个故事在也门 “准备上学”倡议活动的许多参与者中很受欢迎。

索尼娅.约荷报道

也门塔伊兹省,2009年4月15日 – 17岁的萨达.萨拉姆(Saeeda Salam)是也门塔伊兹省阿耶尔穆克学校的小辅导员。她本应该高中毕业了,但她还在上七年级。由于贫困,她很晚才开始上学。现在,她正努力打破晚入学和受排斥的恶性循环,这些尤其对也门女童影响严重。

萨达自愿加入“准备上学:以儿童对儿童的方式”项目做小辅导员,这一试点倡议旨在为无法参加或负担不起学前教育的儿童带来早期学习的机会。

萨达说:“我参加这个项目是为了帮助小孩子做好上学的准备。我很高兴在这个项目中,因为我学到如何与幼童打交道。”

打破恶性循环

在学龄前儿童很少有机会进入学前班或早期教育的也门,这个倡议为学龄前儿童提供了一种低成本的早期教育方式,否则,这些孩子将会被排除在学前教育之外。同时,它也为这些国家提供机会,打破入学晚、辍学和在校表现欠佳的恶性循环。

性别不平等是也门教育的一个重要问题,相较于68%的学龄男童小学入学率,学龄女童的小学入学率只有41%。随着教育程度的加深,这个问题更加严重。只有13%的女孩和35%的男孩在中学就读。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/Yeo
一名小辅导员正在向两名男孩讲述“准备上学”的故事

基于年龄较小的儿童向年龄较大的儿童学习并互动的自然规律,这种“儿童对儿童”的方式力求为学龄前儿童做好及时入学,并为入学后的学习做好准备。

社区支持

虽然还在早期阶段,但据家长和教师反映,该项目已经在一些儿童没有早期教育机会的偏远社区收到初步效果。

“我已经看到拉比伯的变化,”哈拉.纳吉说她四岁的儿子受益于这个项目。“他现在会唱歌,而且能够识别动物。”纳吉说,拉比伯的哥哥姐姐在他这个年龄时都做不到这些。纳吉是五个孩子的母亲,她自己没有上过学。

她说:“我不希望我的孩子像我一样,我希望他们能在生活中成功,成为医生、律师,所以,我会让所有的孩子上学。虽然有时候送拉比伯上学很麻烦,但我希望我的儿子能从这个项目中获益。”

其他试点项目

教师们也支持这个项目。

阿萨德学校的英语教师兼两个小辅导员的主管弗里尔.玛格蒂(Frial Magdi)说:“这个项目鼓励小辅导员们更加勇敢,而且教他们如何与其他儿童更有效地交流。一些幼童第一次来学校的时候大哭,现在他们已经喜欢上学校,不想离开了。”

除了也门以外,“准备上学”倡议还在其他五个国家试点,它们是:孟加拉、中国、刚果民主共和国、埃塞俄比亚和塔吉克斯坦。根据试点项目的结果,该倡议将在其他有兴趣的国家推广和复制。


 

 

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

At a glance: Yemen

‘Child-to-Child’ programme breaks cycle of school exclusion in Yemen

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Yeo
Young Facilitator Saeeda, 17, captures the attention of younger children with a story about a family of mice, a favourite among many participants in Yemen's 'Getting Ready for School' initiative.

By Sonia Yeo

TAIZ GOVERNATE, Yemen, 15 April 2009 – Saeeda Salam, 17, is a Young Facilitator at Al Yarmouk school in the Taiz Governorate of Yemen. She should be finishing high school, but she is still in grade seven. Saeeda started school late because of poverty and is now working hard to break the cycle of exclusion and late enrolment in school, which particularly affects girls in Yemen.

As a Young Facilitator, Saeeda volunteered to be part of ‘Getting Ready for School: A Child-to-Child Approach’, a pilot initiative that aims to bring early learning opportunities to children who do not have access to, or cannot afford, pre-primary education.

“I joined the programme to help young children prepare for school,” said Saeeda. “I enjoy being part of this programme, because I learn how to deal with younger children.”

Breaking the cycle

In a country where few preschool-age children have access to preschools or early learning, this initiative offers a cost-effective alternative to delivering early learning opportunities to a population who would otherwise be excluded. It also offers countries the chance to break the vicious cycle of late enrolment, dropping out and poor performance in school.

Gender equality in education is a major issue in Yemen, with only 41 per cent of school-age girls attending primary school, compared to 68 per cent of boys. Opportunities worsen as they progress through the system, with only 13 per cent of girls and 35 per cent of boys attending secondary school.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Yeo
A Young Facilitator tells 'Getting Ready for School' stories to two boys.

Building on the natural phenomenon of younger children interacting with and learning from older children, the child-to-child approach seeks to get preschool-age children ready to start school on time and be better prepared to learn as they enter school.

Community support

Although in its early stages, parents and teachers report that the programme is already gaining momentum in remote communities where children have yet to be reached with early learning opportunities.

“I can already see the difference in Labib,” said Halah Nagi, about her four-year-old son, who is benefiting from the programme. “He is now singing and is able to identify animals,” which, according to Nagi, was not the case for his siblings when they were his age. A mother of five children, Nagi never went to school herself. 

“I don’t want my children to become like me,” she said. “I want them to be successful in life, to be doctors, lawyers, so I’ll be sending all my children to school. Although it may sometimes be a burden to bring Labib to school, I want my son to get the benefit of the programme.”

Other pilot initiatives

Teachers are also supportive of the initiative.

“The programme is encouraging the Young Facilitators to become braver, and teaches them to deal with other children more effectively,” said Frial Magdi, an English teacher at Al-Saeed School and a supervisor of two Young Facilitators. “Some younger children were crying the first time they came to school. Now they love it and don’t want to leave.”

In addition to Yemen, the Getting Ready for School initiative is being piloted in five other countries: Bangladesh, China, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia and Tajikistan. Based on the results of the pilot project, the initiative will be scaled up and replicated for other interested countries.


 

 

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search