也门

营养不良的“无声危机”威胁着也门的幼小生命

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Yemen/2007/Pirozzi
食疗中心的医生治疗一位严重营养不良的男孩。

2007年6月11日,也门泰兹。 18个月大的“泰兹男孩”严重营养不良。为了挽救他的生命,他的父母走了很远的路来到泰兹城的食疗中心,并将他们其他的七个孩子留在家里,所有孩子都不到15岁。

像很多其他营养不良儿童的家庭一样,泰兹男孩的家人为来食疗中心在路上花费了数千也门里亚尔。 在医院,医生和护士为婴儿进行身体检查、诊断,并给他用药。 孩子已经有几天没怎么吃过东西了,眼窝深陷,嘴唇干裂,看起来非常糟糕。

泰兹男孩的情况没有明显改善。面临大笔的医疗费用,他绝望的家人决定将孩子带回家。孩子的母亲说:“我们决定把他带回属于他的地方,等待上帝对他的救赎。 在家里,我们还有孩子和几头生畜也面临危险。我们负担不起在城里哪怕再多住一天了,实在太贵了。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Yemen/2007/Pirozzi
在也门的一个区保健中心,一名体重过轻的男孩在接受人体测量的检查。

多层面的营养危机

没人知道泰兹男孩和像他一样的许许多多营养不良的也门儿童的未来会是什么样子。

联合国儿童基金会驻也门代表阿布杜.卡里眸.阿吉贝德说:“也门目前的情况可以说是一场无声的危机”,他注意到该国的营养不良率是非洲最高的,高达46%。

他继续说:“也门的问题是多层面的,日益猖獗的阿拉伯茶瘾,加之最近南方蝗虫灾害对农作物的威胁,都在破坏着之前对麻疹、疟疾和其它儿童生存措施的努力成果。

阿吉贝德先生说:“我们现在需要立即采取行动。”

食品生产的威胁

阿拉伯茶是一种开花植物,含有安非他命类兴奋剂。 咀嚼阿拉伯茶叶是也门日常生活的重要部分。 1980年,世界卫生组织将阿拉伯茶叶列为可能导致心理依赖的毒品。 但是在这里,连儿童也嚼这种茶叶。 该茶叶有降低食欲的效果,往往使儿童不想吃午餐,这也是引起营养不良的又一个原因。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Yemen/2007/Pirozzi
在也门的一个区保健中心,医生正向一位营养不良的男孩和他的母亲讲述各种食品的营养价值。

恶性循环没有在这里止住,也门数千英亩的茶园需要大量的供水,造成本已匮乏的水资源问题更加严重,伤及人类赖以为生的农作物的收成。最后,从很多方面来说,阿拉伯茶叶瘾夺走了也门的粮食。

最近,也门南方的大群蝗虫,使粮食生产进一步面临威胁。阿吉贝德先生说:“如果情况得不到控制,蝗虫可以伤害农作物,威胁到食品供应。” 阿吉贝德先生作为联合国儿童基金会驻尼日尔代表时,曾经目睹过类似虫害造成的灾难性后果。

援助最易受伤害的人群

为解决儿童的营养不良问题,联合国儿童基金会驻也门办事处及其合作伙伴正在帮助也门卫生和人口部,启动一项基于社区的治疗护理方案。 通过推行立即可用的食疗产品如Plumpy’nut(一种含有丰富维生素的花生浆),现在许多营养不良的儿童可以在家里接受治疗,每周只需要到附近的区保健中心检查一次。

根据这一新方案,已被接纳住院的儿童,一旦他们的病情稳定下来,就可以出院。然后,他们可以作为门诊病人在家完成治疗。这样,患儿的母亲可以在照料营养不良的孩子的同时,和家里的其他人呆在一起。

尽管有这些措施,造成营养不良的原因还是根深蒂固的,急需国际社会的关注。

阿吉贝德先生说:“现在的重点是如何确保资源的有效利用,以援助也门社会中最易受到伤害的人群。” 他呼吁世界不要忘记也门,要求更多地关注也门的经济改革和政府透明度等问题,以确保该国儿童能过上更加美好的生活。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年6月11日:
联合国儿童基金会驻也门代表阿布杜.卡里眸.阿吉贝德讲述造成也门儿童营养不良的多种原因。

 视频 高速 | 低速

搜索

At a glance: Yemen

‘Silent emergency’ of malnutrition threatens young lives in Yemen

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Yemen/2007/Pirozzi
A doctor at a therapeutic feeding centre treats a severely malnourished boy.

TAEZ TOWN, Yemen, 11 June 2007 – ‘Taez Boy’ is 18 months old and severely undernourished. In an effort to save his life, his parents travelled a long way to the therapeutic feeding centre here in Taez Town, leaving behind another seven children, all under the age of 15.

Like many others with severely undernourished children, Taez Boy’s family spent thousands of Yemen Riyals on the journey to the feeding centre. At the hospital, the nurses and doctors conducted anthropometric measurement, made a diagnosis and offered medication for the baby, who had hardly eaten in days. He looked miserable, with sunken eyes and a dry mouth.

When Taez Boy did not show signs of improvement, his desperate family – facing a huge hospital expense – took him home. “We decided to take him back to where he belongs and trust God for his salvation,” said the boy’s mother. “Our home, our children and the few animals we have left are at risk. We cannot afford the town life for one more day. It’s too expensive.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Yemen/2007/Pirozzi
An underweight boy has his anthropometric check-up at a district health centre in Yemen.

Multi-layered nutrition crisis

No one knows what will happen to Taez Boy and many other undernourished Yemeni children like him.

“The current situation in Yemen can be characterized as a silent emergency,” said UNICEF Representative in Yemen Aboudou Karimou Adjibadé, noting that the country’s malnutrition rate is amongst the highest in Africa, at 46 per cent.

“Yemen’s problem is multi-layered,” he continued. “The increasingly prevalent addiction to khat, coupled with the recent locust infestation threatening the crops in the south, are eating away prior efforts on measles, malaria and other child survival measures.

“We need to act now,” asserted Mr. Adjibadé.

Threats to food production

Chewing khat, a flowering plant that contains an amphetamine-like stimulant, plays a dominant role in daily life in Yemen. In 1980, the World Health Organization classified khat as a drug of abuse with possible psychological dependence, but even children here chew it. The plant’s anorexiant effect often leads children to skip their midday meal, another cause of malnutrition.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Yemen/2007/Pirozzi
A doctor explains the nutritional values of various foods to a malnourished boy and his mother at a district health centre in Yemen.

And the vicious cycle does not stop there. Yemen’s thousands of acres of khat plantations need large amounts of water, exacerbating problems with already scarce water resources and hurting the agricultural harvest that feeds the population.

In the end, khat addiction deprives Yemenites of food in every aspect.

Food production faces further harm from swarms of locusts that have recently descended upon southern Yemen. “If the situation is not controlled, the locusts could hurt agricultural crops and threaten the food supply,” said Mr. Adjibadé, who saw the devastating effects of a similar infestation previously when he was UNICEF’s Representative in Niger.

Reaching the most vulnerable

To tackle malnutrition among children, UNICEF Yemen and its partners are now helping the Ministry of Health and Population introduce a community-based therapeutic care programme. Through the promotion of ready-to-use therapeutic foods such as the Plumpy’nut – a vitamin-rich peanut paste – many undernourished children can now be treated at home, with only a weekly visit to the closest district health centre.

Under the new scheme, children who have been admitted as in-patients will be discharged as soon as their condition is stabilized. They will then complete their treatment at home as outpatients. In this way, mothers can provide care to their undernourished children and be with the rest of the family at the same time.

Despite these measures, the causes of malnutrition are still deeply rooted and need urgent attention from the international community.

“The focus now lies in how to ensure resources are used wisely to reach the most vulnerable in Yemen’s society,” said Mr. Adjibadé. He called on the world not to forget Yemen, urging that more attention be paid to issues such as economic reform and government transparency in order to ensure a better life for the country’s children.


 

 

Video

11 June 2007:
UNICEF Representative in Yemen Aboudou Karimou Adjibadé talks about the many contributors to child malnutrition in the country.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search