越南

联合国儿童基金会支持者帕翠西娅.兰姿在越南资助开设日间护理中心

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Viet Nam/2010/Bisin
越南大朗(Da Nang)开设的日间护理中心将使200名残疾儿童受益,联合国儿童基金会驻越南代表杰斯帕•摩奇(Jesper Morch)与其中的一些孩子在一起。

桑得拉.比森报道

越南大朗,2010年4月9日 – 这天,包括联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴、残疾儿童和他们的家人在内的150多人聚集在越南中部的和仁社(Hoa Nhon commune),为一所残疾儿童护理中心揭幕。

这个中心至少将为200名儿童提供服务,包括那些受到二氧芑(或橙剂) 毒素危害的儿童。中心的教员将为儿童提供康复训练支持、非正式的教学、组织娱乐活动以及教授缝纫、刺绣、自动机械和珠宝制作等新的技能。

大朗“二氧芑受害者联合会(Danang Association for the Victims of Agent Orange/Dioxin)” 主席阮氏善(Nguyen Thi Hien)说:“我们非常感激联合国儿童基金会驻越南办事处、儿基会美国基金会以及帕翠西娅.兰姿(Patricia Lanza)基金会的慷慨资助,这将帮助本省建立第三所日间护理中心。”

让儿童不再处于边缘地带

慈善家帕翠西娅.兰姿(Patricia Lanza)女士是联合国儿童基金会美国基金的长期支持者,她为建设护理中心贡献了近20万美元。开设于2006和2007年的两所中心,目前为100名残疾儿童提供物理和智力的康复治疗以及职业培训。

在启动仪式上,联合国儿童基金会驻越南代表杰斯帕.摩奇(Jesper Morch)说:“今天这个奠基仪式,标志着阮氏善和帕翠西娅.兰姿两位女士共同努力的成果——让残疾儿童的尊严受到尊重,让他们在社会中更加积极与独立。”

摩奇还说:“阮氏善女士想让农村的弱势儿童群体享受到必要的基础服务,而帕翠西娅.兰姿女士在对越南的访问中,与这些儿童及其家人深入交流,了解到他们面临的困难,深受触动,毅然决定支持这一项目。”

在全球范围内,残疾儿童属于最边缘和最受排斥的弱势群体,他们很难享受到与同龄健全儿童均等的健康和教育保障以及许多其它的机会。这种歧视不仅使残疾儿童的健康和教育受到影响,同时也伤害了他们的自尊,减少了他们与他人沟通的机会,使残疾儿童极易受到暴力、虐待和剥削的威胁。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/Viet Nam/2010/Bisin
联合国儿童基金会驻越南代表杰斯帕•摩奇正在为大朗的一所残疾儿童日间护理中心奠基,该中心由儿基会捐助者帕翠西娅.兰姿(Patricia Lanza)支持开设。

根据越南劳动、荣军和社会事务部2007年的报告显示,越南总人口中的残疾率为6.3%,其中16岁以下的残疾儿童人数多达120万。

弱势儿童的希望

16岁的黎氏何笑着说:“看到又在修建新的护理中心,我特别高兴,这将使我拥有更多的朋友。”在过去的三年间,黎氏何一直在接受大朗日间护理中心的服务。

这所新护理中心的建设是联合国儿童基金会在越南开展的综合活动计划的一部分,综合活动计划旨在改善残疾儿童的生活。其它的活动有:

  • 增强相关人士对残疾儿童的权利和需要的认识;
  • 提高国家和地方政府的工作能力,满足残疾儿童的特殊需求;
  • 为非传统护理模式制订政策、指南和手册;
  • 完善残疾的早期确认工作,以便更好地实施相关政策、策略及法律。

摩奇说:“我们希望在现有的基础上再接再厉,继续同国家和省级政府合作,利用联合国儿童基金会强大的感召力,与合作伙伴建立联系,切实为全国残疾儿童谋福利。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Viet Nam

UNICEF supporter Patricia Lanza sponsors new day-care centre in Viet Nam

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Viet Nam/2010/Bisin
UNICEF Representative in Viet Nam Jesper Morch with some of the 200 children with disabilities who will benefit from services offered by the new day-care centre in Da Nang.

By Sandra Bisin

DA NANG, Viet Nam, 9 April 2010 – Over 150 UNICEF partners, children with disabilities and their families gathered in Hoa Nhon commune, central Viet Nam, to celebrate the opening of a new day-care centre for disabled children.

The centre is expected to offer services for at least 200 children, including those who have been victims of dioxin (or ‘Agent Orange’) exposure. Educators at the school will provide the children with rehabilitation support, non-formal education, recreational activities and new skills in areas such as tailoring, embroidery, auto-mechanics and jewellery making.

“We are grateful to UNICEF Viet Nam, the US Fund for UNICEF and to Patricia Lanza’s foundation for their generous contributions that will allow the construction of a third day-care centre in the province,” said Nguyen Thi Hien, President of the Danang Association for the Victims of Agent Orange/Dioxin.

Bringing children out of the margins

Philanthropist Patricia Lanza, a long-time supporter of the US Fund for UNICEF, contributed close to $200,000 for the construction of the centre. Two other centres, built in 2006 and 2007, currently provide 100 disabled children with care, physical and intellectual rehabilitation, and vocational training.

“Today is a unique opportunity to remind everyone that this groundbreaking ceremony is a dream come true for two women who have combined their efforts to ensure that the dignity of these children is respected, helping them become self-reliant and active participants in society,” UNICEF Representative in Viet Nam Jesper Morch said during the ceremony.

“Mme Hien had the vision of taking essential services to vulnerable children living in rural areas. And Ms. Patricia Lanza – who during a visit to Viet Nam had the chance to interact with these children and their families and understand the challenges they faced – was deeply moved and decided to support this project,” he added.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/Viet Nam/2010/Bisin
UNICEF Representative in Viet Nam Jesper Morch helps lay the foundation stone for a day-care centre for children with disabilities in Da Nang. The centre is supported by UNICEF donor Patricia Lanza.

Globally, children with disabilities are among the most marginalized and excluded. Quite often, they have much more limited access to basic health care, education and other opportunities than their peers without disabilities. This discrimination not only leads to poor health and education outcomes but also affects children's self-esteem and chances to interact with others – and puts them at a higher risk of being subjected to violence, abuse and exploitation.

According to a 2007 report by Viet Nam’s Ministry of Labour, Invalids and Social Affairs, the disability prevalence rate was 6.3 per cent of the total population, with 1.2 million children up to the age of 16 reported to have disabilities.

Hope for vulnerable children

“I am really glad to see that we are building one more centre. It means that I will have more friends,” said a smiling Le Thi Ha, 16. She has been benefiting from services offered at the existing day-care centres in Da Nang for the past three years.

The construction of the new centre is part of a comprehensive package of activities in Viet Nam that UNICEF is supporting to improve the lives of children with disabilities. Other activities include:

  • Promoting awareness among key stakeholders of the rights and needs of children with disabilities
  • Strengthening the capacity of national and local partners to address the specific needs of these children
  • Developing policy, guidelines and manuals on alternative care models
  • Early identification of disabilities to facilitate implementation of related policies, strategies and laws.

“We wish to build on the current success story and continue working with provincial and national authorities, using UNICEF’s convening power and ability, to establish linkages between partners to bring essential services to disabled children nationwide,” said Mr. Morch.


 

 

New enhanced search