越南

联合国儿童基金会与宜家共同为越南少数民族儿童改善教育环境

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
班坡小学的学生受益于由联合国儿童基金会支持、宜家资助的各个项目,这些项目旨在使学校更加适合儿童学习。

罗伯.麦克布里奇报道

越南老街省,2009年4月15日 — 在越南老街省的北部山区,邵诗茂(Thao Thi Mao)每天早上都要送她年幼的儿子去班坡学前班,这已经成为了一种惯例。这天,她还带着一大捆木材,准备给孩子做午饭。

学前班完全由当地社区资助,这主要是因为老师用当地苗族方言和越南语讲课。

 点击此处观看视频

越南由54个不同的民族组成,因此是一个多民族国家。联合国儿童基金会及当地的合作伙伴教育及培训部,一直积极地开展旨在鼓励提高学校入学人数并减少辍学率的项目。其中,提供以母语为基础的双语教育是该项目的重点。

该项目涉及数千家小学和学前班,而且已经取得了明显的成效。班坡学校开课后,身穿精心装饰的民族服饰的回族儿童争先恐后地回答老师提出的问题。

宜家社会活动专项资助

李妙旋(Ly Mui Xuan) 老师说: “如果他们只能用越南语上课,那么对他们来说学校就是一个陌生的环境,他们经常会辍学。但是在学前班用自己的语言学习可以打下好基础。”24岁的李妙旋最近刚刚结束教师培训,当她谈到她这第一份工作的时候,脸上洋溢着骄傲的神情。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
越南有54个民族,是一个多民族国家。联合国儿童基金会及当地的合作伙伴教育一直在积极地开展项目以提供以母语为基础的双语教育。

从这里到班坡小学只需走很短一段路。班坡小学也是由联合国儿童基金会支持的、使其更为儿童友好的各项项目的一部分。这些项目是由联合国最大的企业合作伙伴、全球家具零售商宜家的“宜家社会计划”(IKEA Social Initiative)资助的。

宜家社会计划从宜家在假日销售毛绒玩具的利润中提取资金,用于资助联合国儿童基金会和“救助儿童”组织的教育项目,在全球各地的非洲、亚洲和欧洲共17个国家资助22个项目。

比如,班坡学校就从新建的专供女孩使用的厕所获益很多。在宽大的操场上,孩子们自由的玩耍;在教室里,他们可以享受双语的学习环境,老师们也有充足的教学材料和培训支持。

把女生留在校园

这是由联合国儿童基金会支持、宜家资助的一个项目的一部分,旨在使受教育过程更愉快,并让少数民族的儿童,尤其是女童留在学校上课。

校长范安团(Pham Anh Tuan)说:“我们尤其关注对女生的卫生教育。我们希望她们来学校上课的时候更自信、更坚强。”

这一项目还旨在解决小学和初中少数民族女孩入学率低的问题。

放学后,10岁的陆诗咏(Lu Thi Dung)和她的哥哥和堂兄从学校走回家, 她的家是离学校不远处的一座简单的木制房屋。 对她来说,学校已经成为她生活中不可缺少的一部分。的确,她长大以后还想做一名老师。

她说:“如果不能上学的话,我肯定会很伤心,因为我会想念我的朋友和老师。”

‘对未来充满信心’

对于当地年龄较大的孩子来说,联合国儿童基金会及当地的合作伙伴一直致力于通过提供健康生活和生活技能教育来帮助青少年为步入成年做好准备。在金东初中的一间教室里,青少年学生正忙着绘制漂亮的海报,以提醒人们有关酒精和烟草的危害,以及艾滋病的威胁。 

13岁的阮妙红(Nguyen Dieu Hong)正带领她的小组努力工作。她说:“生活技能项目的目标是让我们更加了解社会问题,让我们更自信,并为未来的生活作好准备。”

风景如画的越南北部山区支持民族传统的多样性,因此联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴和捐赠者正尽其所能地帮助这些少数民族儿童,以将这些民族的传统发扬光大。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年4月:联合国儿童基金会通讯员罗伯.迈克布莱德就联合国儿童基金会和宜家资助的儿童友好项目进行了报道。
 视频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

图片专题

越南:为少数民族儿童提供教育

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner
搜索

At a glance: Viet Nam

UNICEF and IKEA Social Initiative support schooling for ethnic minorities in Viet Nam

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Children at Ban Pho Primary School, in northern Viet Nam's Lao Cai Province, are benefiting from initiatives supported by UNICEF and funded by IKEA to make the school more child-friendly.

By Rob McBride

LAO CAI PROVINCE, Viet Nam, 15 April 2009 – As part of her morning routine, Thao Thi Mao dropped off her young son at the Ban Pho Pre-school, set against the dramatic backdrop of the northern hills of Viet Nam's Lao Cai Province. On this day, she also brought with her a heavy bundle of firewood, to cook the children's lunch.

The pre-school is fully supported by the local community it serves, due in no small part to the fact that lessons are taught in the local Hmong dialect as well as Vietnamese.

VIDEO: Watch now

Made up of 54 distinct ethnic groups, Viet Nam is a diverse society where UNICEF and its partners in the Ministry of Education and Training have been actively developing a programme to encourage greater school enrolment and reduce drop-out rates. Nurturing mother tongue-based bilingual education is seen as a key part of this effort.

And it's clear that the project, involving thousands of primary and pre-primary schools, is working. As classes get under way in the Ban Pho school, Hmong children in their elaborately decorated traditional dress all vie to answer questions posed by the teacher.

IKEA Social Initiative funding

"If they only learn in Vietnamese," said teacher, Ly Mui Xuan, "school is foreign to them and they often drop out. But learning in their own language from pre-school is a good foundation." At 24 years of age, and recently graduated from teacher training, Xuan beams with pride when she talks about taking on this, her first job. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Made up of 54 distinct ethnic groups, Viet Nam is a diverse society where UNICEF and its partners are developing a programme to nurture mother tongue-based bilingual education.

It is only a short walk from here to the Ban Pho Primary School, which is also benefiting from initiatives supported by UNICEF to make it more child-friendly. These initiatives receive funding from the IKEA Social Initiative, UNICEF’s single largest corporate donor.

Since 2003, the IKEA Social Initiative – through the '1 euro is a fortune' cause-marketing campaign – has donated €1 for every soft toy sold in IKEA stores globally during the holiday-season, to help finance education projects run by UNICEF and Save the Children. Driven by the commitment and enthusiasm of customers and staff at the retailer's outlets worldwide, the IKEA Soft Toy Campaign has generated €11.5 million in support of 34 UNICEF projects in 24 countries in Africa, Asia and Central and eastern Europe.

For more than 15 years, IKEA has partnered with UNICEF in support of children’s rights through community investments, advocacy, philanthropy, humanitarian assistance, sales of UNICEF greeting cards, cause-related marketing promotions and in-kind assistance.

With support from UNICEF, the IKEA Social Initiative and other partners, Ban Pho Primary School has benefited from newly constructed separate latrines for girls, along with education on hygiene. In a large playground, children play freely, while in class they can enjoy bilingual learning programmes with plentiful resources and training for their teachers.

Keeping girls in school

These improvements are all part of an effort to make education more enjoyable and to keep Viet Nam's ethnic minority children – particularly girls – in school. It is an effort designed to tackle the problem of low enrolment by girls from ethnic minority groups at primary and lower secondary schools.

"For the girl students, we pay particular attention to hygiene education," said school Principal Pham Anh Tuan. "We want them to become more self-confident and assert themselves when they come to school."

At the end of class, Lu Thi Dung, 10, made her way home from the school, with her brother and cousin, to their simple wooden home a short distance away. School has become an integral part of her life. Indeed, one day she wants to become a teacher. 

"If I couldn't go to school," she said, "I would certainly be very sad, because I would miss my friends and my teachers."

'Confident and ready for our future'

For older children in this part of Viet Nam, UNICEF and its local partners have been working to prepare teenagers for adulthood by providing them with healthy living and life-skills education. One recent day, in a classroom at Kim Dong Lower Secondary School, teenage students were busy drawing and painting vivid posters to warn of the risks posed by alcohol and tobacco, as well as the dangers of HIV/AIDS.

Nguyen Dieu Hong, 13, was leading her group's efforts. "The objective of the life-skills programme is to make us more aware of social problems, and to make us self-confident and ready for our future lives," she said.

Amidst the hills of northern Viet Nam, UNICEF, its partners and its donors are doing their part to nurture a rich tradition of ethnic diversity by working on behalf of these and other children from many ethnic groups.


 

 

Video

2 April 2009: UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on a child-friendly school initiative supported by UNICEF and funded by IKEA IN Viet Nam.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search