乌兹别克斯坦

在乌兹别克斯坦建立信任以帮助预防艾滋病

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/2009/Taylor
联合国儿童基金会在乌兹别克斯坦的工作帮助罗姆社区的成员了解到艾滋病毒的危害,并积极地寻求医疗咨询服务。

马修.泰勒报道

乌兹别克斯坦塔什干,2009年5月20日 – 尤伦纳吐兹是乌兹别克斯坦马尔吉兰的一个罗姆社区。在这里,静脉注射毒品是个问题,同时还有艾滋教育的缺乏。这个社区的总人口为810人,而最近死于艾滋病的就有10人。

联合国儿童基金会培训的宣传员哈利达(Halida)正积极地帮助该社区预防艾滋病。她梦想着尤伦纳吐兹的居民有朝一日能够公开地探讨艾滋病问题,并停止静脉注射毒品。她在第四诊所工作,并于最近接受了联合国儿童基金会资助的宣传培训 。罗姆人过去都是找传统治疗师看病。现在,他们都来找她。

她说:“他们是关系非常密切的一帮人,他们现在信任我,不管是作为个人还是作为一个群体。”

'提高生活质量的伙伴'

在乌兹别克斯坦的五个地区,许多社区接受了联合国儿童基金会资助的非政府组织“Hayot Sifati Hamrohi”(意为提高生活质量的伙伴)提供的帮助,尤伦纳吐兹是其中的一个。这个非政府组织帮助像哈利达这样的人提高预防艾滋病的意识并改变行为以防止艾滋的扩散。

联合国儿童基金会正在乌兹别克斯坦开展工作以对抗最近的艾滋病疫情。这场疫情被认为是由不卫生的医疗实践所导致。联合国儿童基金会已将医疗设备送抵乌兹别克斯坦东部的纳曼干省。设备还送到了附近的安集延省。

迅速行动

这些新设备——其中有可以降低意外艾滋传播风险的一次性使用医疗包——是联合国儿童基金会迅速行动的一部分,旨在通过提高病人在保健设施的安全来支持政府在这些地区抗击艾滋病的努力。

联合国儿童基金会驻乌兹别克斯坦的代表马布波.谢里夫(Mahboob Shareef)说:“一次性医疗包是在东部提高保健安全性以及抗击艾滋病的重要的第一步。我们的联合行动非常迅速。当然了,我们在这里是为了帮助乌兹别克斯坦的所有地区阻止艾滋病毒的传播。”

工作人员在当地实施了一系列更广泛的措施,以应对艾滋病及相关问题。其中包括地方当局制定的一个行动计划以帮助妇女、儿童和青少年预防艾滋病,以及改善对感染艾滋病的母亲和孩子的治疗和照顾。

建立信任

与此同时,罗姆社区对哈利达的信任使得新的病例得到了确诊和治疗。

她说:“一位母亲担心她的儿子感染了艾滋病毒,因为她经常静脉注射毒品。她要我帮她的儿子做艾滋病毒检测,那个男孩的检测结果呈阴性 。他现在正接受心理咨询和照顾。”


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Uzbekistan

Fostering trust to help prevent HIV in Uzbekistan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/2009/Taylor
Thanks to UNICEF’s work in Uzbekistan, Roma community members now know the dangers of HIV and actively seek medical advice.

By Matthew Taylor

TASHKENT, Uzbekistan, 20 May 2009 – Yurunatuz is a Roma community in Margilan, Uzbekistan. Intravenous drug use is an issue here, as is lack of education about HIV. Out of a population of 810, 10 people recently died of AIDS.

Halida, a UNICEF-trained outreach worker, is actively helping the community to prevent HIV/AIDS. She dreams that Yurunatuz's residents will one day openly address HIV and put an end to intravenous drug use. She works for Clinic Number Four and recently received UNICEF-sponsored outreach training. The Roma once went to traditional healers to cure their ills. Now, they go to her. 

“They’re a tight-knit bunch and they trust me now, on their own and as a group,” she says.
 
'Partners in life quality'

Yurunatuz is one community among many in five regions that are receiving support from the UNICEF-assisted non-governmental organization ‘Hayot Sifati Hamrohi’ (which means ‘partners in life quality’). The NGO helps people like Halida to raise awareness about HIV and change behaviour that will stop its spread.

UNICEF is also working throughout the country to combat recent outbreaks of HIV that are believed to have been the result of unsanitary medical practices. It has sent medial equipment to the eastern Uzbek province of Namangan.

Equipment is also en route to neighbouring Andijian province.

Immediate response

The new equipment – including single-use medical kits that reduce the risk of accidental HIV transmission – is part of UNICEF’s immediate response in support of government efforts to combat HIV/AIDS in these regions by improving patient safety in health facilities.

“The single-use kit is the first, vital step in making care safer and combating HIV/AIDS in the east. Our joint response was rapid. Naturally we’re here to help in all areas to halt HIV’s spread in Uzbekistan,” said UNICEF Representative in Uzbekistan Mahboob Shareef.

A series of wider steps have also been agreed upon, in order to tackle HIV and related issues in the regions. These include a plan of action with the regional authorities for HIV prevention among women, children and adolescents, as well as improved treatment and care for mothers and children living with HIV.

Fostering trust

Meanwhile, the trust that Halida has fostered with the Roma community has led to new cases being diagnosed and treated.

“One mother was worried that her son had HIV, as he injected drugs a lot,” she said. “She asked me to help her son get an HIV test, and the boy turned out to be positive. He’s being counselled and cared for now.”


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search