美利坚合众国

联合国儿童基金会“万圣节筹款活动”庆祝“儿童帮助儿童”60周年

“一个万圣节的故事:对警长比尔的审判”

UNICEF Photo
© US Fund for UNICEF
20世纪50年代初,联合国儿童基金会“万圣节筹款活动”的共同发起人,玛丽.艾玛.阿利森,与她的孩子们玛丽.让、梦露和米奇。

美国纽约,2010年10月29日:今年是联合国儿童基金会“万圣节筹款活动”60周年,该活动是联合国儿童基金会在美国开展的最家喻户晓的运动之一。为了纪念这个周年,我们打开了录音收藏室,找出了这个经典作品:“一个万圣节的故事:对警长比尔的审判”。

音频:现在收听

这是一个关于小城镇警察的故事,万圣节的晚上,工作了多年的警察已经疲惫不堪,在他看来万圣节是一个充满了恶作剧与粗暴行为的夜晚。在联合国儿童基金会的帮助下,他的家人是否能让他喜欢上万圣节呢?

故事由联合国电台与联合国儿童基金会于1957年共同制作,当时联合国为了宣传其使命聘用了一些演艺界知名人士,如奥黛丽.赫本、弗兰克.西纳特拉和加里.库珀为广播剧和报道配音。

亲身体验历史

“联合国电台的整套经典作品为听众和全球普通大众带来一种免费而独特的享受,并了解一些在其他地方不可获得的有价值的主要历史资料,”联合国电台首席监制人本.梅拉解释道。

UNICEF Photo
© US Fund for UNICEF
联合国儿童基金会“万圣节筹款活动”使用的硬币收集箱。

“这些来源有世界上和联合国于重要历史时刻的录音,”他补充道。“让听众通过播音来亲身体验历史。”

联合国电台于1946年启动,以帮助实现联合国大会的任务即“在最大程度上推动世界各国人民对联合国工作情况与宗旨的知情了解。”

装饰过的牛奶盒

联合国儿童基金会和万圣节一直有着种种关联。长老会的一位牧师,克莱德.阿利森,和他的妻子玛丽.艾玛,1950年在宾夕法尼亚州,布莱兹汉堡为联合国儿童基金会举办了“万圣节筹款活动”。最初的想法是,让儿童通过为自己及其他国家的孩子们收集“糖果”,使更多的儿童过上一个更有意义的万圣节。最初的受惠者主要是战后的欧洲儿童们,他们当时的基本需要包括鞋子和肥皂。

UNICEF Photo
© US Fund for UNICEF
20世纪60年代美国儿童为联合国儿童基金会收集硬币。

到了1950年10月31日,阿利森夫妇决定,联合国儿童基金会值得成为这一活动的赠予对象。在同年的万圣节,玛丽.艾玛和她的孩子们,还有他们教会的朋友和教友们,开始了为联合国儿童基金会挨家挨户的募捐活动。

最初的活动募集到了17美元,收在了装饰过的牛奶盒里,然后送给海外的儿童们。几年后,教堂和学校沿用了这个做法,成立了联合国儿童基金会美国委员会(现为著名的联合国儿童基金会美国基金)并已成为万圣节的一个传统。

儿童帮助儿童

迄今为止,联合国儿童基金会的“万圣节筹款活动”募款总额已近1.6亿美元,成为联合国儿童基金会最家喻户晓的运动之一。现在年轻的募款者不再使用空牛奶盒,而是拿着一个印有联合国儿童基金会标志的橙色硬币盒。

“时代不同了,但儿童们还是没有变,”美国基金销售经理玛丽亚.蔡说道。“他们和以往一样仍致力于改善世界各地同龄人的生活。和他们的前辈一样,
美国的儿童们将继续为联合国儿童基金会开展“万圣节筹款活动”,从这个活动中,我们希望儿童们通过为世界各地其他的孩子们募款了解到参与这个活动还可帮助挽救其他儿童们的生命。”

在庆祝60周年的活动时,也为逝者哀悼。我们在此沉痛悼念,联合国儿童基金会“万圣节筹款活动”的共同发起人,93岁的玛丽.阿利森.艾玛,她于本周在家人的陪伴下,安详辞世。联合国儿童基金会将永远记住这位善良和慷慨的妇女。


 

 

音频

联合国儿童基金会广播电台从收藏室中找出1957年联合国与联合国儿童基金会广播电台的万圣节经典作品。
音频收听

搜索

At a glance: United States of America

Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF celebrates 60 years of 'kids helping kids'

'A Halloween Story: The Trial of Sergeant Bill'

UNICEF Image
© US Fund for UNICEF
Mary Emma Allison, co-founder of Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF, with her children Mary Jean, Monroe and Mickey in the early 1950s.

NEW YORK, USA, 29 October 2010 – This year marks the 60th anniversary of Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF, one of UNICEF’s most widely recognized campaigns in the United States. In honour of this anniversary, we’ve opened up the radio vaults and found this classic: ‘A Halloween Story: The Trial of Sergeant Bill.’

AUDIO: Listen now

It’s the tale of a small-town police officer who’s worn out by years of working on Halloween night – a night of rowdy behaviour and mischief, as far as he’s concerned.  Can his family, with the help of UNICEF, teach him to love Halloween again?

The story was produced by UN Radio in partnership with UNICEF in 1957, at a time when the United Nations employed the voices of celebrities such as Audrey Hepburn, Frank Sinatra and Gary Cooper for radio dramas and reports promoting its mission.

Experiencing history firsthand

“The entire collection of UN Radio classics gives listeners, and the general world public, a unique free access to valuable primary historical sources that are unavailable elsewhere,” explained Ben Malor, Chief Executive Producer of UN Radio.

UNICEF Image
© US Fund for UNICEF
The Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF coin-collection box.

“These sources include recordings of historic moments in the world and at the United Nations,” he added. “It allows listeners to experience history firsthand through sound.”

UN Radio was launched in 1946 to help fulfill the General Assembly’s mandate to “promote to the greatest possible extent an informed understanding of the work and purpose of the United Nations among the peoples of the world.”

Decorated milk cartons

UNICEF and Halloween have long been associated. A Presbyterian minister, Clyde Allison, and his wife, Mary Emma, started Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF in 1950, in Bridesburg, Pennsylvania. The original idea was to make Halloween more meaningful for children by collecting a ‘treat’ for themselves, as well as one for children in other countries. The original benefactors were to be children in post-war Europe who were in need of basics like shoes and soap.

UNICEF Image
© US Fund for UNICEF
US children collect coins for UNICEF in the 1960s.

By 31 October 1950, the Allisons had decided that UNICEF would be a worthy recipient of this act of giving. On that Halloween, Mary Emma and her children, along with friends and congregants from their church, went door to door asking for donations for UNICEF.

The original campaign raised $17, collected in decorated milk cartons and then sent to children overseas. A few years later, churches and schools adopted the practice and the US Committee for UNICEF (now known as the US Fund for UNICEF) institutionalized what has become a Halloween tradition.

Kids helping kids

To date, Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF has raised a total of almost $160 million as one of UNICEF’s most recognizable campaigns. Young Trick-or-Treaters no longer use empty milk cartons but, instead, carry orange change boxes emblazoned with UNICEF’s logo.

“Times have changed, but kids have not,” said US Fund Marketing Manager Maria Choi. “They are as committed as ever to improving the lives of their peers around the world. Just as they have for generations, America’s kids will Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF, and from this we hope that kids learn how raising money for other kids around the world can save children’s lives.”

As the campaign celebrates 60 years, it also mourns a loss. Sadly, Trick-or-Treat for UNICEF co-founder Mary Emma Allison, 93, died this week at home, surrounded by her family. UNICEF will always remember this kind and generous woman.


 

 

Audio

UNICEF Radio opens the vaults and digs out a UN-UNICEF Radio classic for Halloween, from 1957.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search