美利坚合众国

反映贩卖人口悲剧的新音乐录影带将在联合国首映

UNICEF Photo
© Erin Feinberg
出于他们共同的音乐欣赏和人道主义理想,说唱歌手阿肯和作曲家彼德.巴菲特合作创作了一首音乐作品。

美国纽约,2009年3月24日 — 为了纪念国际奴隶制度受害者纪念日,联合国举办了“文化之夜”活动和一场名为《打破沉默,击鼓呐喊》的音乐会。

 点击此处收看视频

3月25日在纽约总部举行的演唱会是纪念两个世纪以来在大西洋奴隶贸易中100多万被剥削者失去生命和自由的非洲人民的系列活动之一。表演者包括南非的莱迪史密斯.布莱克.蒙巴佐(Ladysmith Black Mombazo),巴西的吉尔伯特.吉尔(Gilberto Gil)和牙买加的马尔雷(Marley)兄弟。此外还将播放纳尔逊.曼德拉和穆罕默德.阿里的致辞。

美国作曲家彼德.巴菲特为活动谱写了一首新歌以提醒全世界,还有数百万人仍被当作奴隶买卖,每年有数百万儿童受到劳动、性和强迫婚姻的剥削。

“如果我们结束了大西洋奴隶贸易,那么我们也可以结束这些,”巴菲特先生说。 “事实上这表明,我们还有希望,但任重道远。”

终极炼金术

作曲家巴菲特先生,将和塞内加尔裔的世界著名嘻哈明星阿肯一起表演。2007年两位音乐家联袂录制和表演了歌曲《任何事》。

“我从没想过,在某种程度上,我们真是绝配,”巴菲特先生谈及他和阿肯的合作时说。“音乐、声音,都很好。所以对我来说,很容易再请他合作。”

他们的新歌《血流成金》,敦促人们不要再对贩卖人口这个价值数十亿美元的全球产业不闻不问。

“奴隶和贩卖人口真正做的是把血换成黄金,这有点象秘密的终极炼金术,”巴菲特先生说。

女孩效应

除了音乐才华,巴菲特和诺沃基金开展了大量的慈善活动,诺沃由投资人沃伦.巴菲特(Warren Buffett)投资建立,由他的儿子和儿媳,彼得和詹妮弗.巴菲特(Jennifer Buffett)担任主席。该基金会特别关注的是改善和提高女孩的生活能力。
“我认为女性的素质是:合作、伙伴关系、养育、复杂性、花时间倾听,这些都是我们要给予的,”他解释道。“我们确实认识到,在几乎世界任何地方,对一个女孩进行投资,可能是我们能做的,最有效的投资。”

诺沃支持世界各地的基层项目,该项目旨在丰富年轻女孩的生活。耐克(Nike)参与了合作,并承诺捐款1亿美元,以实现“女孩效应”——亦即认为最有效的促进改变的方法是投资教育、经济独立和女孩的健康。而实现这一效应最基本的则是结束和人口贩卖。

联合国儿童基金会的工作

联合国儿童基金会遵守儿童权利公约,该公约要求各缔约国“采取一切适当的国家,双边和多边措施,以防止为任何目的或以任何形式的,拐卖、买卖或贩运儿童。”

自2005年以来,联合国儿童基金会一直致力于在沙特阿拉伯和其他国家,结束买卖儿童充当骆驼比赛的骑手。2006年,联合国儿童基金会在阿拉伯世界,组织了第一次关于打击贩卖儿童活动的研讨会。

联合国秘书长潘基文呼吁,在今年的3月25日、即第二届国际纪念日,无论何人,无论身处何地,都要击鼓传达“无论黑皮肤还是白皮肤,无论男人还是女人,我们都是一样的人”的信念。


 

 

视频

作曲家、慈善家彼德.巴菲特谈他的新歌《血流成金》。
 视频 高速低速

Related links

搜索

At a glance: United States of America

New music video illustrating tragedy of human trafficking will premiere at UN

UNICEF Image
© Erin Feinberg
Rap sensation Akon and composer Peter Buffett have collaborated to create music out of their common musical appreciation and humanitarian vision.

NEW YORK, USA, 24 March 2009 – In observation of the International Day of Remembrance of the Victims of Slavery, the United Nations is hosting a cultural evening and concert entitled 'Breaking the Silence, Beating the Drum'.

VIDEO: Watch now

The 25 March concert is one of a number of events to be held at the New York headquarters to commemorate the lost lives and liberties of over 100 million Africans exploited during two centuries of transatlantic slave trade. Performers include South Africa's Ladysmith Black Mombazo, Brazil's Gilberto Gil and Jamaica's The Marley Brothers. Taped testimonials from Nelson Mandela and Mohammed Ali will also be screened.

The American composer Peter Buffett wrote a new song for the event as a reminder to the world that millions of people are still being bought and sold as slaves, and that millions of children are exploited for labour, sex and forced marriage every year.

"If we did end the transatlantic slave trade, then we can end this too," said Mr. Buffett. "It shows, actually, that there's hope. But it's far from over."

Ultimate alchemy

Mr. Buffett, a life-long composer, will perform with Akon, a world-famous hip-hop star of Senegalese descent. The two musicians joined forces in 2007 to record and perform the song 'Anything'.

"We were a match in a way I just never expected," said Mr. Buffett of his collaboration with Akon. "Musically, vocally, it just really worked. So it was very easy for me to ask him again."

Their new song, 'Blood into Gold', urges an end to complacency about trafficking – a multi-billion dollar global industry.

"What slavery and human trafficking is really doing is turning blood into gold. It's a kind of ultimate alchemy in the darkest way," said Mr. Buffett.

The 'girl effect'

Beyond musical talent, Mr. Buffett has extensive philanthropic experience with the NoVo Foundation - NoVo is funded by investor Warren Buffett and is chaired by his son and daughter-in-law, Peter and Jennifer Buffett. The foundation is particularly concerned with improving and empowering the lives of girls.

"What I would consider to be feminine qualities: collaboration, partnership, nurturing, complexity, time taken to listen, were all values that we wanted to insert into our giving," he explained. "We really found that investing in an adolescent girl almost anywhere in the world is probably the most efficient investment we could make."

NoVo is supporting grass-roots programmes world wide that are aimed at enriching young girls' lives. It has partnered with Nike to commit $100 million to realizing the 'girl effect' – the belief that the most effective investment in change is investing in the education, financial independence and health of adolescent girls. And ending exploitation and trafficking is fundamental to this social catalyst.

UNICEF's work

UNICEF is committed to the Convention on the Rights of the Child, which requires parties to "take all appropriate national, bilateral and multilateral measures to prevent the abduction of, the sale of or traffic in children for any purpose or in any form."

Since 2005, UNICEF has worked to end the selling of young children as jockeys for camel racing in Saudi Arabia and other nations. In 2006, UNICEF organized the first-ever workshop in the Arab world on combating child trafficking.

UN Secretary General Ban Ki Moon has announced that 25 March, the second annual International Day of Remembrance, is a day for: "Everyone, everywhere, to beat the drum to proclaim that black or white, man or woman, we are one people. When musicians play, they pay attention to each other while playing their own parts. We must follow their lead."


 

 

Video

Composer philanthropist Peter Buffet talks about his new song, 'Blood into Gold'.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search