美利坚合众国

联合国儿童基金会主办第五届联合国“网络发展”年会:“获取创新”

UNICEF Photo: web4dev09
© UNICEF/2009/Wheeler
“即时短信监测儿童营养不良”项目是由联合国儿童基金会和哥伦比亚大学的一组学生共同努力,利用移动通讯技术,为马拉维儿童提供营养监测数据的项目。

艾米.贝内特报道 

美国纽约,2009年2月10日 – 第五届联合国“网络发展(Web4Dev)”年会旨在解决由不断变化的媒体范畴所引起的问题,以及研究技术创新如何能够促进发展中国家的社会变革。

 点击此处观看视频

今年2月11至13日,由联合国儿童基金会主办的联合国“网络发展”年会:“获取创新”,将聚集全球思想领袖和来自联合国、学术界以及发展和私营部门的创新者。他们将对战略合作伙伴关系和新技术在实现千年发展目标中的重要性进行集体微观分析。

会议将安排来自领先的通讯公司和联合国机构的主题演讲者,包括联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼。会议形式为让与会者分享资源和专业知识,为将来的合作奠定基础。

不断变化的媒体环境

纽约大学研究生院互动通讯专业的教授科垒.施尔克(Clay Shirky)被指定为演讲者之一,他说:“网络上的团体活动便宜和便捷的多——加之移动电话的使用——正在改变着机构和兴趣团体的做事方法。”

“真正让人兴奋的是,这从根本上改变了媒体环境的参与者。”施尔克教授也是《大家都来:没有组织的组织的力量》的作者。

他继续说:“如果人们掌握机会的信息,人、物品、服务或信息就可以移动。比如,在东非的海岸,有一种短信(SMS)应用服务,渔民可以根据所捕到的鱼种类,查出应该在有哪类市场的城镇登陆。这就是信息可以为所有人服务的一个案例。

获取信息的更多渠道

事实上,寻找将有用的资讯传播到那些最需要的人那里的方法,正是联合国和联合国儿童基金会的革新者们的首要目标。

在Web4Dev会议上,与会者将彼此探讨在极端的情况下,新的技术创新是如何提供信息获取渠道的,极端情况包括极度贫困的危机和状况等。与会者也将分析在联合国系统内外所取得的最新成绩。

最后,最技术型的与会者将通过“结识极客”——一种网络开发者的“非会议”推广促进活动计划,希望思想碰撞能产生出改变世界的新方法。


 

 

视频(英文)


纽约大学客座教授科垒.施尔克讲述不断变化的媒体环境和社会媒体的崛起。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: United States of America

UNICEF hosts fifth annual UN ‘Web4Dev’ conference: ‘Innovation for Access’

UNICEF Image: web4dev09
© UNICEF/2009/Wheeler
The RapidSMS Child Malnutrition Surveillance project is an effort by UNICEF and a team of students at Columbia University, using mobile technology, to improve nutrition surveillance data for children in Malawi.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 10 February 2009 – No need to worry if you’re not familiar with terms like ‘SMS’, ‘unconference’ and ‘Java’. The fifth annual United Nations Web4Dev conference aims to tackle the issues presented by the changing media landscape and look at how technological innovation can promote social change in the developing world.

VIDEO: Watch now

Hosted by UNICEF this year from 11 through 13 February, ‘Web4Dev: Innovation for Access’ will bring together global thought leaders and innovators from the UN, academia, and the development and private sectors. They will put under their collective microscope the importance of strategic partnerships and new technology in the effort to achieve the Millennium Development Goals.

The conference will feature keynote speakers from cutting-edge communications companies and UN agencies, including UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman. Its format will allow participants to share resources and expertise, laying the foundation for future collaboration.

Changing media environment

“Much cheaper, much easier kinds of group activities online – and the use of mobile phones – are changing the way both organizations and ad hoc groups are getting things done,” said one of Web4Dev’s scheduled speakers, Professor Clay Shirky of New York University’s graduate programme in interactive telecommunications.

“What’s really exciting about this stuff is that it’s such a fundamental change in who can participate in the media environment,” noted Prof. Shirky, who is also the author of ‘Here Comes Everybody: The Power of Organizing Without Organizations’.

“People or goods or services or information can move if only someone knows about the opportunity,” he continued. “For instance, on the coast of East Africa there’s an SMS [text messaging] application where fishermen can actually figure out which market town to land in, depending on which fish they’ve got. And that’s a case where that information is useful for everyone.”

Greater access to information

Finding ways to spread useful information to those who need it most is, in fact, the overarching goal of UN and UNICEF innovators.

At the Web4Dev conference, they will ask each other how new developments in technology can provide access to information in the most extreme circumstances, including emergencies and situations of extreme poverty. They will also analyze the most successful results achieved to date, both inside and outside the UN system.

And finally, the most technically inclined Web4Dev participants will promote initiative through a ‘Geek Meet’ – the web developers’ ‘unconference’ – in hopes that colliding ideas will spark new ways to change the world.


 

 

Video


New York University Adjunct Professor Clay Shirky talks about the changing media environment and the rise of social media.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search