乌克兰

敖德萨的“回家之路”计划保护流浪儿的生活与权利

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ05-1826/Pirozzi
在联合国儿童基金会支持的位于乌克兰海港城市敖德萨的避难所,14岁的阿丹姆坐在 “回家之路”外面的墙头上,该组织旨在确保流浪儿的基本权利。

盖.戴根报道

儿童权利公约于18年前的1989年11月20日通过。为了这个具有里程碑意义的周年纪念活动,联合国儿童基金会发起了一个名为“CRC@18” 的活动,旨在提高公众对儿童权利的关注,以及提升该协定对社会的影响。这里是相关系列活动的一项。

乌克兰的敖德萨,2007年11月19日。 在乌克兰,数千名街头流浪儿的日常生活是为了生存而战。他们的权利常常被侵犯,他们正常的童年生活常常被毒品和暴力所替代。

比如,17岁的米罗斯拉夫住在一个废弃的车库的角落里,那里到处是肮脏的破衣服和垃圾。他和另外两个年轻人沃瓦和塔拉斯合住在他的临时的家里。据估计,在敖德萨有4000多名无家可归的孩子生活在街头,他们缺乏基本的权利保护。

前进一步

吸入胶水、注射感冒药水是这些年轻人吸毒的普遍方式。共用注射器或者进行不安全的性交使他们成为乌克兰最容易感染艾滋病毒的群体之一。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ05-1828/Pirozzi
在海港城市敖德萨,一个被烧毁的废弃的房子里,满是垃圾,两个无家可归的青少年坐在床垫上,另一个青年在睡觉。

同时,暴力,性虐待和吸毒常常会导致犯罪活动。在敖德萨,许多无家可归的孩子说他们可能会死在街头。

为了改变街头儿的生活状况,一个名为“回家之路”的非政府组织向前迈进了一步。在联合国儿童基金会的参与下,该组织在敖德萨市中心,为流浪儿提供法律保护和教育服务。

联合国儿童基金会驻乌克兰的艾滋病、青少年健康与发展助理项目官员欧莱纳.萨克维奇说:“联合国儿童基金会正在努力为街头的流浪儿提供获得诸如教育、健康、急救和艾滋病咨询等服务,以帮助他们健康地生活并获得一些基础教育。”

接着,萨克维奇女士补充道,乌克兰街头的流浪儿是社会上最容易受到伤害的群体,他们的基本权利往往得不到保护。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ukraine/2007/ Degen
通过联合国儿童基金会支持的、由“回家之路”组织的夏令营计划,乌克兰街头的流浪儿有机会了解他们在儿童权利公约下的权利。

活跃的外访队

 “回家” 每周都会派出一个外方队去走访流浪儿聚集的地区。社会工作者为孩子们提供了干净的水和食物,以及一些基本的急救措施。

与街头流浪儿们建立联系是第一步,让他们看到可以为他们提供的保护,照顾和支持 - 街头以外还可以有另外的生活。

整个夏天,“回家之路”在黑海的鹅卵石海滩成立了一个户外营地,给青少年提供了一个一起玩耍、游泳和享受美好夏日时光的机会。清理海滩的活动旨在鼓励年轻人建立起自己的责任感,学会帮助别人,关心他们当地的环境。

15岁的莱纳在参加这个项目之前流落街头,她说:“在这里,你能找到支持你的朋友,你也能找到你最喜欢的东西。 这是你的第二个家,也是你的第二次机会。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年7月:
联合国儿童基金会的盖.戴根报道乌克兰致力于流浪儿权利的保护。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Ukraine

‘The Way Home’ works to protect the rights and lives of street children in Odessa

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ05-1826/Pirozzi
Artem, 14, sits on a wall outside ‘The Way Home’, a UNICEF-supported shelter in the port city of Odessa, Ukraine that helps ensure the fundamental rights of street children.

By Guy Degen

The Convention on the Rights of the Child was ratified 18 years ago, on 20 November 1989. For  this landmark anniversary, UNICEF has launched the ‘CRC@18’ campaign to raise awareness about child rights and the impact of the Convention. Here is one in a series of related stories. 

ODESSA, Ukraine, 19 November 2007 – For thousands of street children in Ukraine, daily life is a fight for survival. Their rights are often violated and normal childhood has often been replaced by drug addiction and violence.

Miroslav, 17, for example, lives in squalor, with clothes and garbage strewn everywhere in the corner of an unused garage. He shares his makeshift home with two other youths – Vova and Taras. These are just a few of the estimated 4,000 homeless children on the streets of Odessa who lack the fundamental right to protection.

A step forward

Inhaling glue or injecting a cocktail of cold and flu medicines are common ways of taking drugs among homeless young people. Sharing needles and engaging in unsafe sex make them one of the groups most at risk of contracting HIV in Ukraine.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ05-1828/Pirozzi
Two homeless youths sit on a mattress, while a third boy sleeps, in a burnt-out and abandoned house strewn with garbage in Odessa.

Meanwhile, violence, sexual abuse and drug addiction often lead to crime. Many homeless children in Odessa say they expect to die on the streets.

For street children looking to change their lives, a non-governmental organization called ‘The Way Home’ is a step forward. In partnership with UNICEF, the organization is providing protection as well as legal and educational services for street children in central Odessa.

“UNICEF is trying to provide access for street children to basic services like education, health, first aid and counselling on HIV, to help them stay healthy and get some basic education,” says UNICEF Ukraine’s Assistant Project Officer for HIV and Young People’s Health and Development, Olena Sakovych.

Ms. Sakovych adds that street children in Ukraine are among the most vulnerable in society and often lack the implementation of their basic rights.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ukraine/2007/ Degen
Ukrainian street children have a chance to realize their rights under the Convention on the Rights of the Child through a UNICEF-supported summer camp programme operated by ‘The Way Home’.

Active outreach teams

Throughout each week, ‘The Way Home’ sends an outreach team to visit areas where street children are known to congregate. Social workers provide youths with clean water and food, as well as some basic first aid.

Establishing contact with street children is the first step toward showing them that protection, care and support are available – and that there are alternatives to the street.

Over the summer, ‘The Way Home’ also sets up an outdoor camp by the pebble beaches of the Black Sea, giving youths a chance to play, swim and enjoy the season. Activities such as cleaning the beach also encourage them to gain a sense of personal responsibility, help others and look after their local environment. 

“Here, you find friends that will support you and you can do what you enjoy the most,” says Lena, 15, who lived on the streets before finding the programme. “This is your second home. This is a second chance.” 


 

 

Video

UNICEF's Guy Degen reports on efforts to protect the rights of children living on the streets in Ukraine.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search