大不列颠及北爱尔兰联合王国

英国七岁男孩骑自行车为海地筹款15万英镑

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF UK/2010/Nunn
七岁的查理.辛普森(Charlie Simpson)在伦敦西南部一个当地公园里完成了骑车筹款之旅。在看到有关海地灾难的新闻报道后,他深受触动,于是决定为联合国儿童基金会救济海地地震儿童的呼吁筹款。

英国伦敦,2010年1月26日 – 海地1月12日大地震过后,世界各地纷纷涌现出许多慷慨善举。在英国,七岁的查理.辛普森(Charlie Simpson)发起了一个骑自行车筹款活动,在自家公园附近骑车5英里,最终为海地儿童筹集到了数万英镑。

来自伦敦西南部富勒姆的查理上一开始的目标是筹到500英镑,但是现在他总共筹到了15万英镑之多,而且这些善款还在不断增加。

在他的在线赞助网页上,查理解释道:“我想为海地骑自行车筹款,因为那里发生了大地震,很多人失去了生命 。我想为那里的人筹一些钱,供每个人买食物、水和帐篷。”

来自世界各地的捐款

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF UK/2010/Nunn
查理的母亲莱诺拉.辛普森(Lenora Simpson)说:“我为查理感到非常骄傲。”

查理和英国其他的捐助者筹集的捐款被送到联合国儿童基金会英国国家委员会,后者将负责把钱用于海地地震儿童的救助工作。

联合国儿童基金会从各地派遣了紧急工作小组援助海地的儿童和家庭。援助物资正被送往灾区,为灾民提供安全用水、预防疾病并挽救生命。然而,灾民们正迫切需要更多的物资。

查理的筹款行动赢得了公众的注意,甚至连香港和新西兰都有人捐款。

“难能可贵”

查理的母亲莱诺拉.辛普森(Lenora Simpson)说:“一开始只是他和爸爸绕着公园骑自行车,结果这一举动产生了如此大的影响,简直难以置信。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF UK/2010/Nunn
查理起初的筹款目标是500英镑。可是,他现在已经筹集到了超过10万英镑的善款,用来帮助受海地地震影响的儿童。

她补充说:“他干得很不错。他很努力,而且筹到了数额惊人的善款。他对这件事情非常关注而且想为此做点什么。看到他动力十足的样子我很高兴。我为我们的查理感到非常骄傲。”

联合国儿童基金会英国国家委员会的海地救援呼吁主任迈克.尔纽森(Michael Newsome)说: “一名英国少年向海地儿童伸出援助之手,这是非常难能可贵的,相当了不起。”

联合国儿童基金会英国国家委员会执行主任大卫.布尔(David Bull)说“单车之旅”筹款行动“大胆创新”,显示出查理“不仅理解海地同龄人的处境,而且还很聪明地知道如何能帮助他们……我感谢查理所做的一切” 。


 

 

搜索

United Kingdom

Charlie's ride: London boy, 7, gets on his bike to raise £150,000-plus for Haiti appeal

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF UK/2010/Nunn
Charlie Simpson, 7, completed a sponsored bike ride around his local park in south-west London on Sunday, 24 January. He was inspired to raise funds for UNICEF's Haiti Earthquake Children's Appeal after seeing news reports about the disaster.

LONDON, United Kingdom, 26 January 2010 – In a stirring example of the generosity seen worldwide in the aftermath of the 12 January earthquake in Haiti, Charlie Simpson, 7, has raised tens of thousands of British pounds for children in Haiti by completing a five-mile sponsored cycle around his local park.

Charlie, from Fulham in south-west London, decided to raise funds for UNICEF's Haiti crisis response by cycling around the borough's South Park seven times last Sunday. He initially aimed to raise £500, but now his total stands at over £150,000 and counting.

On his online sponsorship page , Charlie explained: "I want to do a sponsored bike ride for Haiti because there was a big earthquake and loads of people have lost their lives. I want to make some money to buy food, water and tents for everyone in Haiti."

Donations from around the globe

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF UK/2010/Nunn
Charlie's parents watch his fundraising ride at South Park in south-west London. "I am extremely proud of our Charlie," said his mother, Lenora Simpson.

The funds raised by Charlie and other young British donors are supporting UNICEF UK's Haiti Earthquake Children's Appeal.

UNICEF has sent emergency teams from around the region to help children and families in Haiti, and aid is getting through – providing safe water, preventing disease and saving lives. However, more supplies are urgently needed.

Charlie's fundraising has captured the public imagination and generated sponsors from as far afield as Hong Kong and New Zealand.

'Something quite special'

"What started off as a little cycle round the park with his dad has turned into something a lot bigger than that, and we can't believe it," said Charlie's mother, Leonora Simpson.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF UK/2010/Nunn
Charlie's original fundraising target was £500. However, he has now raised over £100,000 to help children affected by the Haiti earthquake.

"He's done really well. He's worked hard and he's raised a phenomenal amount of money. He really felt strongly about this and thought that something had to be done. It was great to see him so motivated. I am extremely proud of our Charlie," she added.

"There's something quite special about a child in the UK reaching out to the children of Haiti," said UNICEF UK's Haiti Appeal Director, Michael Newsome. "It's quite fabulous."

UNICEF UK Executive Director David Bull described the bike-riding fundraiser as "bold" and "innovative," demonstrating that Charlie "not only understands what children his own age must be going through in Haiti, but is also wise enough to know that he can help them.... I thank Charlie for his effort."


 

 

New enhanced search