乌干达

U-报告应用变革了社会动员的方式,赋予乌干达青年更多权利

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uganda/2012/Sekandi
乌干达的一名佩戴了识别证件的U-报告员。注册这个计划的人员,可以获得识别证件。

乌干达坎帕拉,2012年3月14日 —— 联合国儿童基金会乌干达办事处开发的一种新型通信技术 —— U-报告已于2011年5月投入应用,并为社会动员、监控和响应工作带来了一系列变革。它为手机用户所提供的工具,帮助设立和提高了发展工作和服务中的公开透明及问责的新标准。

通过将短信“加入(join) ” 发送到一个免费号码,然后提交一些个人信息,所有的手机用户都能够自愿成为‘U-报告员(U-reporter)’,进而广泛分享自己对发展问题的观点和想法。

在不到一年的时间里,U-报告员的人数已增至89000多人,平均每天新增400到500人。

青年的参与以及赋予青少年更多的权利

联合国儿童基金会的U-报告团队,与一个由9位合作伙伴组织构成的团队,定期召开会议以制定与乌干达青少年讨论的议题——青年是U-报告员的主力军。讨论议题涉及女性生殖器切割(FGM)、疾病暴发、安全饮用水、早婚、教育、卫生和通货膨胀。

一旦有议题确认,联合国儿童基金会通过短信向U-报告员发送问题,U-报告员可以使用简单的、基于菜单的程序进行答复,也可以发送代表个人观点的短信。联合国儿童基金会团队会对回复进行分析和整合,并分享结果,也常常进一步追问额外的问题或给出相关的建议。

UNICEF Photo
U-报告是一个免费的、基于短信息的系统,乌干达青少年可以利用该系统在全国范围传递社区信息。帮助他们与其他社区负责人协作以推动积极的变革。

“U-报告越来越受欢迎,因为它赋予了乌干达人与其他人沟通及采取行动的能力。”联合国儿童基金会高级项目经理詹姆斯.鲍威尔说,他是U-报告项目的负责人。“我们可以在全国范围内问许多问题,并且可以很快获得答案。我们可以将答案按地区、按性别或者按年龄进行区分,这有助于我们了解应该集中有限的资源在什么地方,以及如何向政府和援助合作伙伴提出最佳建议。”

联合国儿童基金会驻乌干达代表萨拉德.萨普拉(Sharad Sapra)对U-报告的功能表示肯定和鼓励。

“U-报告是一个改变游戏规则的应用。”他说,“不仅针对乌干达,也不仅针对联合国儿童基金会,它可以提高所有发展机构和非政府组织的能力,去评估旨在实现各项发展指标的过程。对联合国儿童基金会来说,它使我们可以利用社区的三级监测信息,帮助我们判断某些计划的成效,是否可以满足特定的需求。它还可以让我们把援助受益者纳入到监视计划进展中来。

赋予最边缘化的人群平等的权利

U-报告最近还成功地被用作一个医疗信息设备,发现了连日来爆发的一种神秘的癫痫疾病 —— “点头病”,该病主要影响15岁以下儿童。目前已经接到3000多个病例报告。联合国儿童基金会注意到了报告这种疾病的信息不断增加的现象。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1432/Hofer
联合国儿童基金会驻乌干达代表萨拉德.萨普拉出席了新闻发布会。

在北部地区的U-报告员和U-报告团队,通过U-报告及时地向受影响的社区传递关于疾病以及治疗的信息。

该计划还提供了一种很有前途的方法,以监察教育和儿童保护工作。U-报告也能成为更可靠和更负责任治理的催化剂。这一创举赢得了乌干达政府和媒体的兴趣,吸引了更多议会成员的参与。

为了扩大这项技术的覆盖范围,联合国儿童基金会日前正在努力开发Luo语言版本的程序,Luo是乌干达北部地区广泛使用的一种语言,还有Karimojong语言版本,在东北部地区广泛使用这种语言。同时倡议电信公司在电话亭提供U-报告服务,使没有手机的用户也可以参与其中。

“U-报告提供了一种成本低廉、易于实施的方式,通过挖掘社区的信息以了解政策和发展计划对各地和人员的影响,亦可用于健康干预和疾病流行监控,”萨普拉先生说。“这是一个很棒的沟通应用,它带来的成果能惠及所有儿童和他们的家人。”


 

 

搜索

Uganda

U-report application revolutionizes social mobilization, empowering Ugandan youth

KAMPALA, Uganda, 14 March 2012 – U-report, a new communications technology developed by UNICEF Uganda and launched in May 2011, is revolutionizing social mobilization, monitoring and response efforts. The initiative equips mobile phone users with the tools to establish and enforce new standards of transparency and accountability in development programming and services.

One Heart Family featuring Bigdeal sing a song about Uganda's U-report application, which is revolutionizing social mobilization, monitoring and response efforts.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

By sending the text message, ‘join,’ to a toll-free number and submitting a few personal details, anyone with a mobile phone can become a volunteer ‘U-reporter’, sharing their observations and ideas on a wide range of development issues.

In less than a year, the population of U-reporters has grown to over 89,000, with 400 to 500 joining the network daily.

Engaging and empowering youth

Collaborating on the effort, UNICEF’s U-report team and a group of nine partner organizations meet regularly to determine which issues to discuss with Uganda’s youth, who make up the majority of U-reporters. Topics have included female genital mutilation (FGM), outbreaks of disease, safe water, early marriage, education, health and inflation.

Once a topic is decided, UNICEF sends a question via SMS text to U-reporters, who can respond either with a simple menu-based reply or with personal messages. The UNICEF team analyzes and interprets the responses, sharing the results and often following up with additional questions or suggestions.

UNICEF Image
U-Report is a free SMS-based system that allows young Ugandans to speak out about what's happening in communities across the country. It also enables them work with other community leaders for positive change.

“U-report is gaining popularity because it has given Ugandans the ability to inform other Ugandans and to take action,” said UNICEF Senior Project Manager James Powell, who leads the U-report initiative. “We can ask questions about issues throughout the country and get answers right away – by district, by gender, by age – and that helps us know where to concentrate our limited response resources and how best to advise our government and aid partners.”

UNICEF Representative in Uganda Sharad Sapra envisioned and embraced U-report’s capabilities early on.

“U-report is a game-changing application,” he said, “not only for Uganda, or for UNICEF, but for improving all development agencies’ and NGOs’ ability to assess progress in processes aimed at achieving various development indicators. For UNICEF, it enables us to harness community information for level-three monitoring so we can judge the effectiveness of our programs in meeting identified needs. It also engages our aid beneficiaries in monitoring programme progress.

Achieving equity for the hardest-to-reach

U-report was instrumental in addressing the recent outbreak of a mysterious epilepsy-related illness known as ‘nodding disease’, which mainly affects children under age 15. Over 3,000 cases have been reported to date. UNICEF noted an increase in messages about the disease

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uganda/2012/Sekandi
A U-reporter wears an ID card in Uganda. These ID cards are given to people who have signed up for the programme.

from U-reporters in northern districts, and the U-report team was able to inform affected communities about symptoms and available treatment.

The programme offers a promising way to monitor education and child protections efforts as well. And U-report may also be a catalyst for more responsible and responsive governance. The initiative is garnering interest from Uganda’s government and media, resulting in increased engagement by members of Parliament.

UNICEF is now working to increase access to the technology by creating of versions of the app in Luo, a language spoken in northern Uganda, and in Karimojong, which is spoken in the north-eastern region. The initiative is also working with telecommunication companies to equip telephone booths with U-report service for those without access to a mobile phone.

“U-report offers a cost-effective, easy-to-implement means of assuring accountability by tapping community knowledge to learn the local and personal impact of policy and development schemes, health interventions and outbreaks,” Mr. Sapra said. “It is a ‘killer app’ for communication toward achieving equitable outcomes for children and their families.”


 

 

New enhanced search