乌干达

联合国儿童基金会建立的电脑亭旨在为乌干达偏远地区提供信息获取渠道

乌干达坎旺卡,2011 年 10 月 14 日 — 由联合国儿童基金会研发的一种叫做“数字鼓”的独特创新将参加美国史密森尼的库珀—翰威特国家设计博物馆的新展会。非正式定居点的快速城市化发展带来了各种挑战,此创新旨在探索应对这些挑战的各种解决方案。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员汤姆.沃尔什报道联合国儿童基金会一项独特的设计:在乡村社区,将油鼓改装成信息门户。 在Realplayer中播放

此次展会的标题为:“为另外的90%设计:城市”。展会于 2011 年 10 月 15 日至 2012 年 1 月 9 日在联合国纽约总部举行,免费对外开放。展会分为六个主题——交流、展现、适应、囊括、繁荣和渠道——联合国儿童基金会的数字鼓将以其创新、简单的设计在“渠道”主题内展出。这一设计将帮助传统意义上的偏远地区增加获取信息和服务的渠道。

 
信息门户

目前“数字鼓”正在乌干达进行建设和测试。“数字鼓”是一种由太阳能供电的电脑亭,用当地坚固的材料制成。“数字鼓”是引人注目的工业简洁性和现代技术的结合体,旨在改变农村地区数百万人的生活。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
联合国儿童基金会研发了一种增加乌干达农村地区信息获取渠道的创新型方式。该方式叫做“坚固的太阳能供电电脑”。

“数字鼓”由焊接在一起的低成本油桶、防水键盘、太阳能板和低能耗笔记本组合而成,经久耐用,从而确保了可持续性。事先上载的内容涵盖健康和教育,因此,“数字鼓”将成为名副其实的信息门户。

“事实上,诸如此类的创新技术在那些能够访问互联网和不能访问的群体之间架起了一座数字桥梁,成本较低,但产品耐用而时尚,”联合国儿童基金会驻乌干达代表莎拉德.萨普拉 (Sharad Sapra) 解释道。

缺乏渠道

如今,在乌干达,使用互联网的人数不足总人数的 10 %。尤其在农村地区,信息获取渠道严重不足,而且生活在城市最贫困地区的人们也没有任何渠道接触网络,如坎旺卡贫民窟的儿童。

世界上大约有 10 亿人居住在贫民窟,而据估计,这一数据到 2030 年会上升至 20 亿。


 

 

搜索

Uganda

UNICEF-developed computer kiosk aims to provide information access to isolated communities in Uganda

KAMWOKYA, Uganda, 14 October, 2011 – A unique innovation developed by UNICEF called ‘The Digital Drum’ will be featured as part of a new exhibition by the American Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, exploring various design solutions to address the challenges created by rapid urban growth in informal settlements.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Tom Walsh reports on a unique UNICEF innovation turning oil drums into doorways of information for rural communities.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The free exhibit entitled ‘Design with the Other 90%: Cities’, will run from October 15, 2011 to January 9, 2012 at the United Nations in New York. Divided into six themes - Exchange, Reveal, Adapt, Include, Prosper, and Access - UNICEF’s digital drum will be featured as part of the ‘Access’ theme, through its innovative, simple design, which will facilitate the availability of information and services to traditionally isolated communities.
 
Information portals

Currently being built and tested in Uganda, ‘The Digital Drum’ is a solar-powered computer kiosk made out of rugged, locally available materials. An eye-catching combination of industrial simplicity and modern technology, it aims to change the lives of millions of people in rural areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
UNICEF has developed an innovative way to increase access to information for rural communities in Uganda. It’s called ‘the rugged solar powered computer.’

Consisting of low-cost oil drums welded together, waterproof keyboards, solar panels, and low-power laptops, the durable design ensures sustainability, and with its preloaded content dealing with health and education, the drums will serve as veritable information portals.

“The innovative technologies like these actually help create a digital bridge between those who have access to the Internet and those who don’t, in a low-cost sturdy fashion,” explained Sharad Sapra, UNICEF Representative in Uganda.

Lack of access

Today, less than 10 per cent of Ugandans use the Internet. Rural communities especially struggle from a lack of access to information, but access also eludes those living in the poorest urban spaces, such as children living in the slum by Kamwokya.

Close to one billion people live in slums around the world, and that number is projected to swell to two billion people by 2030.


 

 

New enhanced search