乌干达

电影里的儿童兵辅导员谈论她在乌干达的工作

《战争中的儿童》在联合国放映

美国纽约,2010年10月12日 – 今晚,联合国秘书长负责儿童与武装冲突问题的特别代表办公室主持了获奖纪录片《战争中的儿童》的全球首映式。

视频: 观看由布莱恩.辛格勒制作并执导的最新纪录片《战争中的儿童》 片段。 在Realplayer中播放

布莱恩.辛格勒(Bryan Single)制作的这部影片历时三年时间拍摄,片中纪录了几名儿童在乌干达北部被叛军绑架并被迫打仗,随后逃离囚禁并开始新生活的故事。

音频: 立即收听

数千儿童被绑架

当纪录片中的创伤辅导员珍妮.埃克余(Jane Ekayu)第一次听到儿童兵与家人团聚的消息时,她就决定要伸出援助之手。在长达20多年的内战中,大约3.5万名乌干达儿童被圣主抵抗军绑架,并受训替叛军杀人。

埃克余女士在广播电台一个叫做“Karibu(斯瓦希里语“欢迎”的意思)”的节目上听到了儿童兵回家的故事,于是她便决定参与儿童兵的复原工作。她联系了乌干达一个私人的非政府组织“Rachele 康复中心”,并问他们她可以提供什么帮助。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010/SMarkisz
乌干达创伤辅导员珍妮.埃克余(Jane Ekayu)。

埃克余女士说:“这些回来的孩子们受到了巨大的创伤。他们复原后我想陪在他们身边。我想让这些孩子在回到父母身边和他们的社区之前,先接受我给他们的心理辅导。”

2004年,她成为了这个中心的一名辅导员,在一对一的辅导和小组辅导中帮助儿童们描述为叛军打仗的经历。

信任和支持

埃克余女士说那些曾经被装部队绑架的儿童们刚来到中心的时候,就把他们按照从低到高的风险类别分了组。低风险类别的儿童们曾经被囚禁,而高风险类别的儿童可能真正参与了杀戮数十人的活动–也许甚至是他们的亲生父母。

埃克余女士说:“辅导员们有责任让孩子们知道叛军绑架他们是不对的。我说的是有一个孩子五六岁的时候就被绑架,过去的十年中一直被囚禁着。他们所知道的一切都是叛军灌输给他们的。”

埃克余女士继续说:“这些儿童们不信任任何人,尤其是成年人。他们被成年人绑架,遭受到成年人的折磨。所以,孩子们怎么能信任你呢?我们必须要建立信任,这是最重要的。”

在帮助了2500多名年轻人重回家园和社区后,Rachele 康复中心于2006年关门了。但是埃克余女士继续在乌干达与类似的机构合作。她还与她在Rachele 康复中心遇见过的儿童们保持着联络,并经常想着那些她没有机会帮助到的儿童。

她说:“还有很多的儿童是我们不知道的。我们希望这些儿童也能回家。”


 

 

音频

2010年10月12日: 联合国儿童基金会广播采访了在乌干达为当过儿童兵的孩子担任创伤辅导员的珍妮.埃克余,最新记录片《战争中的儿童》中亦有对她的报道。
音频 收听

搜索

Uganda

Counsellor for child soldiers, featured in film, discusses her work in Uganda

'Children of War' screened at UN

NEW YORK, USA, 12 October 2010 – Tonight, the United Nations office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Children and Armed Conflict hosts the world premiere of the award-winning documentary ‘Children of War.’

VIDEO: Watch an excerpt from the new documentary 'Children of War,' directed and produced by Bryan Single.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The film, which was documented over a period of three years and produced by Bryan Single, follows the journey of several children who were abducted and forced to fight by rebels in northern Uganda and then return from captivity to begin new lives.

AUDIO: Listen now

Thousands abducted

When Jane Ekayu, a former child soldier and trauma counsellor featured in the documentary, first heard the news of the child soldiers returning to their families, she knew she had to help. During more than 20 years of civil war and strife, an estimated 35,000 Ugandan children were abducted by the Lord’s Resistance Army and trained to kill on behalf of the rebels.

Ms. Ekayu decided to get involved in the rehabilitation of the returning child soldiers after hearing about them on a radio programme called ‘Karibu,’ which means ‘welcome’ in Swahili. She approached the Rachele Rehabilitation Centre, a private, non-governmental organization established in Lira, Uganda, and asked what she could do.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010/Markisz
Ugandan trauma counsellor and former child soldier Jane Ekayu.

“These children come back highly traumatized,” said Ms. Ekayu. “I wanted to be there when [they] are returning. I wanted these children to pass through my hands before they go back to their parents, before they go back to their communities.”

In 2004, she became a counsellor at the centre, helping the children describe their experiences with the rebels in one-on-one and group counselling sessions.

Trust and support

Ms. Ekayu said that when children once abducted by armed groups first arrived at the centre, they were divided into one of several risk categories, from low to high. The children in the low-risk category had spent some time in captivity, whereas the high-risk children may have been involved in the killing of dozens of people – perhaps even their own parents.

“It’s the responsibility of the counsellor to make the child know that it was not right for the rebels to abduct them,” said Ms. Ekayu. “I’m talking about a child who was abducted at the age of 5 or 6 years and has lived in captivity for the last 10 years. All they know is what the rebels have indoctrinated them into.

“These children don’t trust anybody. Especially adults,” Ekayu continued. “They were abducted by adults. They were subjected to torture by adults. So how can a child trust you? We have to build trust – that’s the first thing.”

The Rachele Rehabilitation Centre closed in 2006 after helping over 2,500 young people return to their families and communities. But Ms. Ekayu continues her work with similar organizations in Uganda. She also stays in touch with the children she met at the Rachele centre, and thinks often about the children she never had a chance to help.

“There are still so many children who are not accounted for,” she said. “We want these children back home.”


 

 

Audio

12 October 2010: UNICEF Radio speaks with Jane Ekayu, a counsellor to other former child soldiers in Uganda, featured in the new documentary 'Children of War.'
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search