乌干达

乌干达发生山体滑坡发生后数千人接受援助

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF UGANDA/2010/CHULHO HYUN
在乌干达布鲁车客灾民收容所,一名女孩抱着弟弟站在帐篷前。

楚侯.允报道

乌干达布杜达地区,2010年3月16日 – 两个星期前,一场严重的山体滑坡几乎摧毁了乌干达东部的三个村庄。现在,需要帮助的村民已经得到了紧急援助。但是持续的暴雨和泛滥的洪水让人们不免担心,附近地区也会有再次发生山体滑坡的可能。

对此,乌干达灾害防备部部长说,政府正在考虑重新安置易受灾害影响的50万到100万山区居民,特别是居住在艾尔贡山地区以及西南部的基杰奇和鲁文佐里山区的村民。

为灾民提供必需品

3月1日发生的山体滑坡使80多人丧生,数千人无家可归。政府为帮助灾民在布鲁切克设立了帐篷,大约有3000人已在此登记并接受援助。

此外,四所小学由于洪水泛滥而被迫关闭。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF UGANDA/2010/CHULHO HYUN
在布鲁切克的一个安置帐篷外,一个孩子正在从联合国儿童基金会提供的储水设施里提水。

随时会爆炸的定时炸弹

布达勒加地区的居民开始陆续返回家园,卫生当局和救援人员将工作重点转向被淹没的厕所和遍布此区域的滞水坑。这种条件加大了疟疾和霍乱肆虐的风险,一位联合国儿童基金会工作人员把这种在洪灾之后发生的综合疾病称为“定时炸弹”。

为了消除这些疾病和其它疾病,联合国儿童基金会大力支持政府和非政府合作伙伴,组织进行水的净化,达到可供家庭使用的标准。联合国儿童基金会还分发了5000多个驱虫蚊帐,作为保护措施以预防疟疾的发生。

联合国儿童基金会在危难时刻给予的紧急援助表明了其积极应对灾难的态度,同时这也是联合国儿童基金会和乌干达政府在2009年共同制定的准备计划。


 

 

搜索

Uganda

Emergency assistance reaching thousands after landslides in Uganda

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF UGANDA/2010/CHULHO HYUN
A girl carries her brother in front of tents used to house the displaced at the Bulucheke tent camp, in Uganda.

By Chulho Hyun

BUDUDA DISTRICT, Uganda, 16 March 2010 – Two weeks after deadly landslides engulfed three villages in eastern Uganda, emergency assistance is reaching those who need it. But continued heavy rains and flooding have raised the fear that similar landslides may occur in neighbouring districts.

In response, the Ugandan Minister for Disaster Preparedness said that the Government is considering resettling between 500,000 and one million people from the vulnerable mountainous areas – specifically the slopes around Mt. Elgon and the mountainous areas of Kigezi and Rwenzori in the southwest.

Supplies for the displaced

The 1 March landslides killed more than 80 people and displaced thousands more. At the Bulucheke tent camp – established by the Government for those affected – around 3,000 people have already registered to receive assistance.

Four primary schools were forced to close due to the flooding.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF UGANDA/2010/CHULHO HYUN
Children collect water from a storage tank, installed with UNICEF assistance, at the Bulucheke camp.

‘A ticking time bomb’

As Butaleja District’s residents begin to return to their homes, health authorities and relief workers are turning their attention to the submerged pit latrines and the pools of stagnant water that dot the area. Such conditions pose the double threat of malaria and cholera – a combination of disease that one UNICEF staff member called a “ticking time bomb” in this post-flood situation.

To stave off these and other diseases, UNICEF is supporting the Government and its non-governmental partners in organizing water purification at the household level. It is also working to distribute more than 5,000 insecticide-treated mosquito nets as a malaria prevention and protection measure.

Such emergency aid efforts represent the culmination of a UNICEF response and preparedness plan that was developed jointly with the Ugandan Government in 2009.


 

 

New enhanced search