乌干达

乌干达的流动教室给牧民儿童带来新希望

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uganda/2009/Sekandi
在乌干达东北部莫罗托区的纳马夸ABEK学习中心,一名年幼的儿童上完课后头上顶着一块黑板。

安妮.丽迪雅.瑟坎迪报道

乌干达科玛利特,2009年12月14日 – 在乌干达东北部的莫罗托区,天刚刚破晓。虽然还很早,但是排成好几队的儿童们已经陆续来到了纳马夸卡拉莫贾替代基础教育(ABEK)中心。
 
这个中心位于一棵树下,人们用煤灰划定出一片干净的空地作为教室。教室边上还立着一扇门,孩子们就从这扇门源源不断地涌进来。

学生的年龄小到两岁,大到十八九岁。有的年龄稍大一些的孩子背着弟弟妹妹,一边照顾他们,一边学习。 

在远处,一名年幼的女孩从附近的家里背来一块黑板。她把黑板靠在教室前面的一棵树上。另外两名儿童拿着装有小黑板和粉笔的盒子,供儿童们上课时使用。

创造受教育渠道

纳马夸是在莫罗托区建立的111所ABEK中心的其中一个,这些中心帮助卡拉莫贾的儿童实现他们获得基本教育的权利。作为一个牧民社区, 卡拉莫贾人在位于乌干达东北部的半干旱家园里放养着大群的牛。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uganda/2009/Nybo
在乌干达东北部莫罗托区的纳马夸ABEK学习中心,一名儿童在黑板上写字。

他们世世代代的生活方式和经济活动都是围绕着牲畜。年轻的男孩们负责放牛,长途跋涉地寻找牧草。女孩们要走更远的路找水。正规的教育系统对这个社区来说是一个挑战。

在纳敦盖特负责监管ABEK学习中心的塞缪尔.罗杜克(Samuel Loduk)说:“这个社区游牧的本质意味着他们必须要经常移动,所以在一个固定的地方建学校不符合那里人的生活方式。”

寻求更好生活的机会

纳敦盖特的社区动员者罗斯.那库特(Rose Nakut)说: “我在村子里走家串户告诉家长们送他们的孩子来学校上课。我们应该确保我们的孩子们不会失去寻求更好生活的机会。”

一位听了那库特劝的家长南格洛.娄吾尤(Nangiro Lowuyo)说,虽然他一辈子都跟他父亲和爷爷一样放牛,但是他决定把他的三个孩子送到学校去上学,只有这样他们才能过上更好的生活。

联合国儿童基金会的工作

联合国儿童基金会用“箱中学校”里所包含的教学材料以及装有各种运动和游戏材料的娱乐工具包支持学习中心的教学。

联合国儿童基金会还支持培训ABEK教员及协调员,他们所有人都是从社区里挑选的。中心的课程包括识字和算术,教学材料是用英语和当地的那卡卡拉莫贾语编写的。

娄吾尤先生说:“学校很重要。教育是曙光。一个受过教育的孩子能挣到薪水,能从市场上买食物,甚至在牲口死了或者被偷之后买新的牲口。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年10月28日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员托马斯.奈博就联合国儿童基金会在乌干达支持的流动教室进行了报道。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Uganda

Mobile classrooms give pastoral children new hope

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uganda/2009/Sekandi
A young child carries a blackboard on his head soon after attending a class at the Namatwae ABEK Learning Centre in Moroto District in northeastern Uganda.

By Anne Lydia Sekandi

KOMARET, Uganda, 14 December 2009 – It’s just after dawn in Uganda’s northeastern Moroto District.  Although it’s still quite early, queues of children are flocking into the Namatwae Alternative Basic Education for Karamoja (ABEK) centre. 

VIDEO: Watch now

The centre is situated under a tree, where ash has been used to draw a neat square demarcating the classroom boundaries, complete with a door through which the children are steadily streaming in. 

The students' ages range from as young as two-years-old to the late teens. Some of the older children carry their much younger siblings to school on their backs.

In the distance, a young girl carries a blackboard from the nearby homestead to the ABEK centre where she leans it against the tree at the front of the classroom.  Two other children carry a box containing small blackboards and chalk, which will be given to the children to use during the lesson.

Making education accessible

Namatwae is one of 111 ABEK centres established in Moroto District to enable Karamoja children realize their right to basic education. As a pastoral community, lifestyles and economic activity in the Karamajong have revolved around livestock for generations. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uganda/2009/Nybo
A child writes on a blackboard at the Namatwae ABEK Learning Centre in Moroto District in northeastern Uganda.

“The pastoral nature of the community meant that they regularly move from place to place, so having a school in one place did not quite fit with the lifestyle of the people,” said Samuel Loduk, who is in charge of monitoring and supervising ABEK learning centres in Nadunget. 

This realisation led to the establishment of non-formal ABEK centres, or 'mobile classrooms' designed to suit the needs of the Karamajong. Lessons take place early in the mornings, ideally before the boys go out to graze the herds, and later in the evenings as they return home. 

A chance for a better life

“I move around the village telling parents to take their children to school. We should make sure our children don’t miss this chance to have a better life,” said Rose Nakut, a community mobiliser in Nadunget.

One parent who has embraced Nakut’s message is Nangiro Lowuyo, who says although he has spent his entire life raising cattle like his father and grandfather, he has decided to send his three young children to school, so they can have a better future.

What UNICEF is doing

UNICEF supports the mobile learning centres with instructional materials contained in the 'school-in-a-box', as well as recreational kits containing various materials for sport and play. 

UNICEF has also supported the training of ABEK instructors and facilitators, all of whom hail from within the community. Instruction at the centres integrates literacy and numeracy, based on manuals developed in both English and the local NgaKarimojong language.

“School is very important,” said Mr. Lowuya. “Education is the light.”


 

 

Video

28 October 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on a UNICEF-supported mobile classroom in rural Uganda.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search