UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

坦桑尼亚联合共和国

坦桑尼亚联合共和国:桑给巴尔推广碘盐,对抗“隐性饥饿”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF United Republic of Tanzania/2013/Bisin
缺乏微量元素碘是导致可预防脑损伤和学习障碍的重要原因。如果所有的家庭成员均食用碘盐,碘缺乏很容易被预防。

桑德拉.比辛(Sandra Bisin)报道

坦桑尼亚联合共和国桑给巴尔岛正通过一项联合盐农、社区及政府的策略,应对岛上的缺碘问题。碘缺乏可能造成严重的后果。

坦桑尼亚联合共和国奔巴岛,2013年11月8日 —— 巴鲁克.哈马德.卢萨福(Mbarouk Hamad Yussaf)是桑给巴尔奔巴岛的一位盐农,他刚收到了足够一年用量的碘酸钾及手动喷雾器,这让他长舒了一口气。这是桑给巴尔卫生部发放的设备,在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,当地政府正施行一项健康计划,旨在让岛上所有居民吃上碘盐。

“一公斤碘酸钾售价约7万坦桑尼亚先令(相当于44美元)—— 这是一大笔钱!”他说,“每隔两年左右,手动喷雾器还需要更新,这就意味着得再花5万坦桑尼亚先令。如果只靠我自己,是没法承受这笔费用的。”

“隐性饥饿”的严重后果

桑给巴尔政府正在着手应对当地的“隐性饥饿”——即碘缺乏问题,该问题在幼童及孕妇中尤其严重,而支持像卢萨福这样的农民,是该计划的一部分。

碘缺乏的表现症状为甲状腺肿大。同时,碘缺乏也是导致可预防的脑损伤和学习障碍的主要原因之一。即使是轻度或中度的碘缺乏,也会对大脑发育造成无形的影响,降低学习和工作生活中的智力水平。一份报告指出,以总人口水平,即使是轻度碘缺乏也可以导致严重的学习能力丧失,造成智商下降13.5左右。

“甲状腺肿大仅是冰山一角。”桑给巴尔卫生部长祖马.杜尼.哈吉(Juma Duni Hajj)博士说,“碘的摄入量不足会影响一代又一代儿童,让他们的智力发展受到阻碍,进一步造成日后的经济活动受到影响。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF United Republic of Tanzania/2013/Bisin
奔巴岛很多像巴鲁克.哈马德.卢萨福一样的盐农得到了来自桑给巴尔卫生部的培训与支持,为居民生产加入了碘的食盐。这项计划有几个重点,涵盖从社区到政府的不同层面。

识别问题、制定政策

“如果每一位家庭成员均食用经过处理的食盐,碘缺乏症很容易被预防。”联合国儿童基金会驻坦桑尼亚联合共和国代表贾玛.古莱德(Jama Gulaid)博士说道。但是在桑给巴尔,只有约一半的家庭获得了足够的碘盐。在奔巴岛,食用碘盐家庭的比例更低 —— 只有约四分之一的家庭。

在20世纪80年代和90年代,开始实施碘缺乏疾病(IDD)控制干预。奔巴岛每年约生产2000吨食盐,主要供当地消费。桑给巴尔的一些岛屿并没有参与实施IDD干预,因为之前曾有这样的假设,生活在那里人口会经常食用海产品,海产品含有丰富的碘。

2001年,联合国儿童基金会在桑给巴尔支持的一项研究表明,碘缺乏依然是一个严重问题。一年之后,联合国儿童基金会开始支持桑给巴尔卫生部针对食盐生产者的培训,宣传食用非碘盐的不良影响以及如何生产加碘食盐。

2011年,桑给巴尔政府出台了《粮食安全和营养法》,以立法形式提倡食用加碘食盐。

确保碘盐进入每家每户

和奔巴岛的很多盐农一样,卢萨福先生从2005年开始生产加碘食盐。他的盐场每年生产50公斤食盐。“在我们的社区中,你依然可以看到长期食用非碘盐的不良后果。”他说,“很多妇女流产,许多孩子出生时体重很低。”

联合国儿童基金会支持的这项计划有几个重点。包括加强各盐场技术和管理能力,为卢萨福先生这样的盐农提供培训并配给碘酸钾,为盐农提供手动喷雾器,为商贩和食品检查员提供相关培训,加强地方当局和盐农对碘盐重要性的认识。近日,奔巴岛的所有食盐生产者均参加了如何确保碘盐质量的培训。

古莱德博士认为,检查工作在确保碘盐进入家庭过程中同样重要:“为贯彻食盐生产的相关法律政策,我们必须定期检查市场和商店中所销售食盐的质量,确保没有非法销售非碘盐。”桑给巴尔卫生部,食品、药品和化妆品委员会的所有卫生检查员均参加了质量控制的相关培训。

杜绝那些在立法前已经生产的、被储藏非碘盐的销售。

在桑给巴尔消除碘缺乏疾病

联合国儿童基金会桑给巴尔地方办事处负责人弗朗西斯.莫兰迪尼(Francesca Morandini)表示,要进一步取得成果,“我们需要继续努力 —— 与桑给巴尔盐农协会合作,在各个社区中加强宣传并培训盐农,有效采用适当的包装技术,巩固取得的成果。”

“我们目前所面临的问题是,碘盐依然没有得到妥善的包装和存储,这有可能会导致碘挥发。”她继续说道,“盐农还需要学会使用快速检测试剂盒,检测、控制盐中碘的含量。”

古莱德博士表示,“桑给巴尔一定可以消除碘缺乏。但是,这项任务需要长期保持警惕性,促进利益相关者间的合作,这些利益相关者包括政府、盐商、零售商、检查人员、公共卫生官员、社区。”

访问联合国儿童基金会坦桑尼亚的 Facebook

访问联合国儿童基金会坦桑尼亚的 Twitter


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影:建立营养安全

搜索

Tanzania, United Republic of

United Republic of Tanzania: Zanzibar fights a hidden hunger with iodized salt

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF United Republic of Tanzania/2013/Bisin
Deficiency of the micronutrient iodine is a major cause of preventable brain damage and learning disabilities. The deficiency is easily prevented if all family members consume salt that has been adequately iodized.

By Sandra Bisin

Only a few decades ago, iodine deficiency impaired the growth and mental development of large numbers of children. Now, thanks to a simple solution – salt iodization – this disorder can be easily prevented. UNICEF estimates that 75 per cent of all households globally have adequately iodized salt, compared with fewer than 20 per cent in 1990.

With a strategy that spans farm to salt shaker, community to government, Zanzibar is on track to eliminate the hidden, but devastating, problem of iodine deficiency.

PEMBA ISLAND, United Republic of Tanzania, 8 November 2013 – Mbarouk Hamad Yussaf, a salt farmer in Pemba Island, Zanzibar, sighs with relief. He has just received a year’s worth of potassium iodate and a manual sprayer. The equipment was distributed through Zanzibar’s Ministry of Health programme that aims for universal salt iodization on the island, with support from UNICEF.

“One kg of potassium iodate would cost me 70,000 Tanzanian shillings [US$44] – it’s a fortune!” he says. “Nearly every two years, I have to buy a manual sprayer, which costs me another 50,000 Tanzanian shillings. This is more than I can afford.”

A ‘hidden hunger’ with grave consequences

The initiative supporting farmers like Mr. Yussaf is part of a government effort to combat Zanzibar’s ‘hidden hunger’ – iodine deficiency, particularly in small children and pregnant women.

A visible symptom of the deficiency is goitre. But iodine deficiency is also a major cause of preventable brain damage and learning disabilities. It has an invisible impact on brain development, reducing intellectual capacity at school and in working life, even among those with mild or moderate deficiency. One report showed that even mild deficiency can cause a significant loss of learning ability – about 13.5 intelligence quotient points, at population level.

“Goitre is only the tip of the iceberg,” says Zanzibar’s Minister of Health, Hon. Dr. Juma Duni Hajj. “The consequences of insufficient iodized salt consumption will impact generations of children in terms of their intellectual development and economic performance.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF United Republic of Tanzania/2013/Bisin
Salt farmers like Mbarouk Hamad Yussaf of Pemba Island receive training and support from Zanzibar's Ministry of Health in a push towards universal salt iodization. The programme has multiple focuses, from community to government level.

Problem identified, legislation enacted

“Iodine deficiency is easily prevented if every family member uses salt that has been properly treated,” says UNICEF Representative in the United Republic of Tanzania Dr. Jama Gulaid. But, in Zanzibar, only one in two families has access to adequately iodized salt. In Pemba Island, use of iodized salt is even lower – only one in four families.

In the 1980s and 1990s, iodine deficiency disorders (IDD) control interventions were implemented. Pemba Island produces approximately 2,000 tonnes of salt every year, mostly for local consumption. But the islands of Zanzibar did not start implementing the IDD interventions based on the assumption that the population living there had frequent access to sea foods that are rich in iodine. 

In 2001, UNICEF supported a study in Zanzibar that indicated that iodine deficiency was a problem. A year later, the organization started supporting the Ministry of Health to train salt producers on the adverse effects of non-iodized salt consumption and on proper salt iodization.

In 2011, the government introduced the Food Security and Nutrition Act, legislation that promotes the use of iodized salt.

Ensuring iodine reaches the table

Like other salt farmers in Pemba, Mr. Yussaf started iodizing salt in 2005. His farm produces up to 50 kg of salt per year. “We can still see the consequences of decades of using non-iodized salt in our communities,” he says. “There are a lot of miscarriages among women and many children with low weight at birth.”

UNICEF’s support for the programme has multiple focuses. It aims to strengthen the technical and managerial capacity of salt plants, support salt farmers like Mr. Yussaf with training and distribution of potassium iodate, provide farmers with manual sprayers, train traders and food inspectors and sensitize local authorities and farmers on the importance of iodizing salt. Recently, all salt producers in Pemba received training on quality assurance for iodized salt.

According to Dr. Gulaid, inspections are also key to ensuring iodine is reaching families: “To ensure compliance with the legislation on salt production, we need inspectors to regularly check the quality of salt in the market and stop the sale of non-iodized salt.” All health inspectors from the Ministry of Health and the Zanzibar Food, Drugs and Cosmetics Board received training on quality control.

Treatment of salt reserves and enforcement of legislation are lagging behind.

Towards eliminating iodine deficiency in Zanzibar

Head of UNICEF’s field office in Zanzibar Francesca Morandini says that, moving forward, “We need to sustain our efforts – continue working with the Association of Zanzibar Salt Farmers to inform communities and train farmers to efficiently adapt simple fortification and proper packing technologies.

“We are currently facing issues, as iodized salt is still not properly packed and stored, which can cause iodine to evaporate,” she continues. “Salt farmers also need to control the level of iodine in salt using rapid test kits.”

According to Dr. Gulaid, “Zanzibar can eliminate iodine deficiency. But, this task needs vigilance and a strong partnership among stakeholders – the government, salt producers, retailers, inspectors, public health officials and communities.”

Visit UNICEF Tanzania on Facebook.

Follow UNICEF Tanzania on Twitter.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Building nutrition security

New enhanced search