坦桑尼亚联合共和国

坦桑尼亚青少年记者讲习班帮助儿童认识艾滋病的耻辱感

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Tanzania/2009
在桑给巴尔安古迦岛举办的青少年记者讲习班上,学员们在小组讨论中探讨艾滋病耻辱感的不同表现形式。

坦桑尼亚桑给巴尔市,2010年1月5日 - 在桑给巴尔国际电影节(ZIFF)儿童全景活动中,举办了一个为期七天的青少年记者讲习班,为24位感染或受艾滋病影响的儿童提供分享经验的机会。

17岁的讲习班学员浩拉特是来自桑给巴尔的孤儿。他说:“就因为你是艾滋病带菌者,每个人都离你远远的,护士恶狠狠地看着你,态度恶劣。”

讲习班的学员都来自桑给巴尔受艾滋病影响者协会(ZAPHA +)在安古迦岛和奔巴岛的支援团体。在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,这些团体为面临挑战的艾滋儿童提供辅导、支持和教育机会。

孩子们在讲习班上撰写文章和专题报道,这些作品将刊登在一份简报上,并在十天的电影节期间发行。这份简报也会被送往安古迦和奔巴岛的学校,以提高学生们对艾滋病的认识,减少携带艾滋病毒或感染艾滋病的儿童的耻辱感和对他们的歧视。

普遍存在的耻辱感和歧视

与该区域的其他地方相比,桑给巴尔的艾滋病毒感染率并不高,但是它的耻辱感问题却相当严重。

根据2007-2008年坦桑尼亚艾滋病毒和疟疾指标调查的结果显示,耻辱感和歧视在坦桑尼亚的成年人当中仍然普遍存在。受访者中有约43%的女性和35%的男性表示,他们不会从艾滋病带菌者的商店里购买新鲜蔬菜;而如果家人感染艾滋病毒,51%的女性和41%的男性则选择保守这个秘密。

由于桑给巴尔受艾滋病影响者的耻辱感问题严重,人们不愿去做艾滋病毒状况的检测,不想面对检查结果。这种情况反过来又促进了艾滋病的传播。虽然艾滋病在桑给巴尔已经可以获得治疗,但是许多人担心社区和家人的反应,而选择不去做检测和诊断。

教育她的同伴

由于年轻人容易受到伤害,艾滋病的耻辱感问题在青少年中往往更加严重。耻辱感可能导致排斥、隔离、辍学和医疗机构的拒绝治疗。联合国儿童基金会与桑给巴尔政府和像ZAPHA+这样的民间团体以及其他发展伙伴合作,致力于打击对艾滋病感染者的侮辱,并降低其影响,尤其关注对儿童和青少年的影响。

另一位讲习班学员姆盖妮,在14岁的时候,发现自己感染了艾滋病毒。而实际上,她一出生就已经是艾滋病带菌者了。她说:“当我知道自己的艾滋病毒检测呈阳性反应时,我连哭了三天,情绪低落极了,整整一个星期不能吃东西。”

姆盖妮很小的时候,母亲就因患乳腺癌和艾滋病去世了。结果,姆盖妮的同学都认为她有病而躲着她。

联合国儿童基金会驻桑给巴尔的艾滋病防治项目干事埃米.穆塔勒说,通过小记者讲习班和ZAPHA+儿童支援团体定期聚会这样的活动,在训练有素的青少年辅导员的带领下,孩子们可以自己分析耻辱感产生的原因和后果,获得应对耻辱感的能力,制定改变态度的战略,提高对耻辱感的认识,并减少歧视。

姆盖妮在发现自己是艾滋病带菌者之后不久,就参加了ZAPHA +协会,她在那里学到了许多有关艾滋病的知识。

她自豪地说:“我学到艾滋病的知识后,又去和同学们讲,向他们解释我是怎样感染的。现在,他们更多地了解了艾滋病,也接受我了。”


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Tanzania, United Republic of

Young Journalists workshop helps children raise awareness on HIV stigma in Zanzibar

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Tanzania/2009
During a group exercise in the Young Journalists workshop in Unguja, Zanzibar, the participants discuss different scenarios of HIV stigmatization.

By Jacqueline Namfua

ZANZIBAR CITY, Tanzania, 05 January 2010 - During a seven-day Young Journalists Workshop at the Zanzibar International Film Festival (ZIFF) Children’s Panorama, 24 children who are infected or affected by HIV/AIDS had an opportunity to share their experiences.

“Everyone sits far away from you and the nurses give you this horrible look and attitude just because you are HIV-positive,” said Haulat, a 17-year-old orphan and workshop participant from Zanzibar. 

The workshop participants belong to the Zanzibar Association of People Living with HIV/ AIDS (ZAPHA+) support groups scattered across Unguja and Pemba islands. These groups, supported by UNICEF, provide counselling, support and education for children facing challenges while living with HIV.

At the workshop, the children wrote their own articles and features for a newsletter, which was later distributed during the 10-day festival. The newsletters were also sent out to schools in Unguja and Pemba to raise awareness about HIV and reduce stigma and discrimination against children infected and/or affected by HIV and AIDS.

Widespread stigma and discrimination

Relative to other parts of the region, Zanzibar’s HIV prevalence is not high – but the levels of stigma are.

Stigma and discrimination are still widespread among Tanzanian adults, according to the 2007-2008 Tanzania HIV and Malaria Indicator Survey. Some 43 per cent of women and 35 per cent of men surveyed reported that they would not buy fresh vegetables from a shopkeeper who has HIV, and 51 per cent of women and 41 per cent of men would keep it a secret that a family member is infected with the HIV virus.

Because of the high level of stigma in Zanzibar, people are reluctant to get tested and learn their status. This in turn facilitates the spread of the disease. Though treatment for HIV and AIDS is readily available on the island, many avoid testing and diagnosis for fear of how community and family members might respond.

Educating her peers

Stigma towards young people is often exacerbated because of their vulnerability, and can lead to exclusion, isolation, dropping out of school and being refused treatment at health facilities. UNICEF works with the Zanzibar government, civil society organizations like ZAPHA+ and other development partners to combat stigma and its impact, especially on children and young people.

Mgeni, who also participated in the workshop, only discovered she was HIV-positive at the age of 14, after a lifetime of infection. "When I found out I was HIV-positive, I cried and cried for three days straight. My spirits were so low and I could not even eat for an entire week," she said.

Mgeni’s mother, who died when Mgeni was a young child, had suffered from both breast cancer and AIDS. As a result, her classmates distanced themselves from Mgeni, claiming she was sick.

Through events such as the Young Journalists Workshop and the regular meetings of the ZAPHA+ children’s support groups – led by trained youth facilitators – children are able to analyze the causes and consequences of stigma, get empowered with skills to cope with stigma, and build strategies to change attitudes, increase awareness and reduce stigma, said Emmi Mutale, UNICEF Programme Officer for HIV and AIDS in Zanzibar.

Shortly after finding out her HIV status, Mgeni joined ZAPHA+ and learned more about HIV and AIDS.

“After getting informed, I educated my classmates about HIV and AIDS and I explained to them how I got the virus,” she explains proudly. “Now they understand the disease better and they accept me for me.”


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search