坦桑尼亚联合共和国

亲善大使丹尼.格洛弗探访坦桑尼亚的艾滋病项目

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Tanzania/2009/Bonn
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使丹尼.格洛弗访问坦桑尼亚时,与一位带孩子到诊所看病的妇女交谈。

杰奎琳.纳姆法 李坤报道

坦桑尼亚达累斯萨拉姆2009年7月8日 – 联合国儿童基金会亲善大使演员丹尼.格洛弗(Danny Glover)已抵达坦桑尼亚支持今年的桑给巴尔国际电影节。同时,他还利用这个机会强调有关艾滋病毒的问题,尤其是防止母婴传播(PMTCT)和感染艾滋病毒的儿童及其家庭的耻辱感和歧视问题。

 点击此处观看视频

格洛弗先生在他的访问中对年轻人说:“我哥哥患有艾滋病,他已经与艾滋病毒共同生活了20年。我们的工作和责任不仅限于直系亲属,而且还包括我们所生活的社区。因此,我不认为利用我身为演员在世界上的知名度就可以理所当然地解决问题。”

男性的参与不够

在达累斯萨拉姆的一个产前诊所里,格洛弗先生与前来就诊的孕妇罗丝坐在一起交谈。罗丝感染了艾滋病毒,她是在丈夫哈桑的陪同下来诊所的。

诊所提供艾滋病毒检测、咨询和治疗,以确保产妇可以生下没有感染艾滋病毒的健康宝宝。为了鼓励男性参与整个过程,许多诊所像这家一样,优先服务一起来诊所的情侣。但是,陪同伴侣就诊的男性还是很少。

在格洛弗先生到访间,罗丝是该诊所唯一有伴侣陪同的女病人。

联合国儿童基金会驻坦桑尼亚艾滋病专家缈-辛.尼云特(Myo-Zin Nyunt)说:“男性在‘防止母婴传播’干预过程中的低参与度是在坦桑尼亚提高PMTCT服务的一个障碍。在社区对PMTCT的接受程度上,以及对PMTCT项目中的妇女的支持上,男性起着关键作用。”

罗丝说她丈夫很支持她,她告诉格洛弗先生:“我非常高兴我请他来的时候,他毫不犹豫地立即答应了,并且也做了检查。我们现在正在等待他的检查结果。”

艾滋与耻辱感

格洛弗先生此后还与“桑给巴尔艾滋病患者协会”的青少年会员见了面。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Tanzania/2009/Bonn
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使丹尼.格洛弗与被艾滋病夺去双亲、自已也感染艾滋病毒的男孩交谈。这名男孩正在达累斯萨拉姆的穆巴伽拉兰吉诊所接受辅导。

六位感染艾滋病毒或家人感染艾滋病毒的青少年参加了一个有关他们所忍受的被排斥和孤立感的摄影项目。这些年轻人希望通过强有力的图像和文字说明教育公众,并为减少艾滋儿童的耻辱感和减少对他们的歧视做出贡献。

格洛弗先生称艾滋病的耻辱感是该国工作中的“一个最具破坏性”的因素。他断言:“这就是为什么没有男人和妇女站出来,说‘我要承担责任,去检查。我要知道我是阳性还是阴性’的原因。”

桑给巴尔群岛的艾滋病毒流行情况要比在坦桑尼亚大陆更加严重,艾滋病毒的感染率要高得多。格洛弗先生在与桑给巴尔总统及夫人会面时,强调需要更加关注感染艾滋病毒的儿童和家庭。

青少年支持中心

格洛弗先生凭借自己的亲身经历,与“桑给巴尔青少年教育发展和环境支持协会”的年轻人坦诚对话。该协会提供一系列的服务,包括艾滋病毒检测、咨询、职业培训以及24小时热线电话,帮助处理如吸毒、艾滋病和失业等问题。

格洛弗先生向一位戒毒三个月的年轻人建议说:“有一段时间,我的三个兄弟都在吸毒。一天一天地来,许多人达不到你现在的成绩。我们都在这里为你所取得的进步庆祝。”


 

 

视频(英文)

 2009年7月7日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员李昆报道亲善大使丹尼.格洛弗对坦桑尼亚的访问。
 播放   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

Tanzania, United Republic of

Goodwill Ambassador Danny Glover visits HIV/AIDS programmes in Tanzania

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Tanzania/2009/Bonn
During his visit to Tanzania, UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Danny Glover talks with a mother who has brought a child to a clinic and is waiting to be attended by a nurse.

By Jacqueline Namfua and Kun Li

DAR ES SALAAM, Tanzania, 8 July 2009 – UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador and noted actor Danny Glover came to Tanzania to support this year’s Zanzibar International Film Festival, and he also used the opportunity to highlight issues related to HIV – particularly prevention of mother-to-child transmission, or PMTCT, as well as stigma and discrimination against children and their families affected by the virus.

VIDEO: Watch now

“My brother lives with HIV/AIDS. He has been living with HIV for the past 20 years,” Mr. Glover told young people he met during the trip. “The work and the responsibility we have are not simply to our immediate families, but also to the community that we are living in. So to be able to use my visibility in the world as an actor is not something that I take for granted.”

Men’s involvement limited
At an antenatal clinic in Dar es Salaam, Mr. Glover sat down with Rose, who is pregnant and living with HIV, and who was at the clinic with her husband Hassan.

The clinic offers HIV testing, counselling and treatment to ensure that mothers give birth to healthy babies free of HIV. To encourage men’s participation in that process, many clinics like this one give couples priority, attending to them first. But the number of men accompanying their partners is still very low.

Rose was the only woman at the clinic with her partner during Mr. Glover’s visit.

“This low level of male involvement in PMTCT intervention is one of the barriers in increasing the PMTCT service delivery in Tanzania,” said UNICEF Tanzania HIV Specialist Myo-Zin Nyunt. “The role of men is the key contributing factor to community acceptance to PMTCT, as well as to support the pregnant women who are in the PMTCT programmes.”

Rose said her husband has been very supportive. “I was happy because he didn’t hesitate and accepted immediately to also get tested when I asked him. So we are now waiting for his results,” she told Mr. Glover.

HIV and stigma
Later, Mr. Glover met with adolescent members of the Zanzibar Association of People Living with HIV and AIDS.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Tanzania/2009/Bonn
Goodwill Ambassador Danny Glover talking to an orphan who lost both his parents to AIDS and who is HIV positive. The child is at the Mbagala Rangi Tatu Dispensary in Dar es Salaam for counselling.

Six of these young people, who are living with HIV or with HIV-positive family members, participated in a photo project about the rejection and isolation they had endured. Through powerful images and captions, the young people hope to educate the public and contribute to the reduction of HIV stigma and discrimination towards children.

Mr. Glover called HIV stigma “one of the most damaging” factors at work in the country. “This is the reason why we don’t have men and women stepping forward, and saying ‘I am going to take responsibility and get tested. I am going to find out if I am positive or negative,’” he asserted.

The HIV epidemic in the Zanzibar archipelago is more concentrated than on mainland Tanzania, and HIV prevalence is much higher there. During his meetings with the President and First Lady of Zanzibar, Mr. Glover highlighted the need to pay more attention to children and families affected by HIV.

Youth support centre
Drawing upon his personal experiences, Mr. Glover engaged in a candid dialogue with young people at the Zanzibar Youth Education Development and Environment Support Association, which offers a range of services – including HIV testing, counselling, vocational training and a 24-hour toll-free hotline to help address problems such as drug addition, HIV and unemployment.

“One day at a time,” Mr. Glover offered as advice to one young man who has been drug-free for three months. “At one time, I had all three of my brothers on drugs. A lot of people don’t get to where you are. We are all here celebrating that you have achieved this.”


 

 

Video

7 July 2009: UNICEF correspondent Kun Li reports on Goodwill Ambassador Danny Glover’s visit to Tanzania.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search