阿拉伯叙利亚共和国

现场日记:叙利亚霍姆斯千疮百孔的战区印象

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1725/AL-MASRI
一名身穿冬装的男孩,静静地站在约旦扎阿特里(Za’atari)难民营中。这是一所收容叙利亚难民的营地。这里已经进入隆冬季节,因为要返回叙利亚而来到该地区的难民迫切需要过冬衣物。

联合国儿童基金会紧急事务专员马克.楚努(Mark Choonoo)近期走访了霍姆斯。他介绍了该地区的形势,认为冲突造成的影响已经损害到儿童和家庭。

马克.楚努报道

叙利亚霍姆斯(HOMS),2013年1月15日 —— 在叙利亚持续22个月的冲突期间,霍姆斯是战斗最激烈的几个地区之一,造成数十万居民流离失所。

尽管该市的部分地区未受冲突影响,看起来一切如常;但是其他地区则可以清晰展现出这里爆发过激战 —— 建筑物上遍布枪眼和弹痕,窗户支离破碎,瓦砾成堆。根据我在巴巴阿姆鲁(Baba Amr)郊区的观察,估计多达三分之二的建筑物遭到损坏,其他的建筑物则完全倒塌。

但即便在这个曾经爆发激战的地区,也开始出现复苏的迹象。巴巴阿姆鲁目前相对比较平静,一些家庭正在重返家园,尝试重建他们的生活。偶尔还能听到远处传来的爆炸声和枪声。

冬季寒冷天气的到来,让这里的情况雪上加霜。夜间温度已下降至0摄氏度以下,寒冷刺骨。我看到许多儿童仍旧穿着单衣和凉鞋,或者只穿着袜子,甚至没有鞋穿。与我交谈的所有儿童都对寒冷天气牢骚满腹。看到一些朋友的离世,或者朋友依然漂泊在外,让返回家园的人们感到难过。但是 —— 尽管经历了这一切,能回到家乡依然令人欣慰。

许多家庭的居住条件十分简陋,他们用塑料布遮住破碎的门窗,睡在光秃秃的水泥地上或薄薄的床垫上。这里几乎没有取暖措施且柴油匮乏,人们迫切需要柴油取暖。人们正在充分利用现有的条件,但是是怎样一种寒冷可想而知,尤其是在晚上。

一些家庭在集体避难所避难,他们中的一些得到了当地商人的帮助。

虽然在我走访的地区已经可以正常提供饮用水,但是电力供应极度紧缺。我看到一家肉店因没有电而无法使用冰箱,被迫将每天屠宰牲畜,挂在寒冷的商店外冷冻。

我看到了当地毁于战火的医疗中心,无法投入使用。而这只是社区基础设施遭到破坏的其中一例。基础设施的损毁,让返回家园的人们生活极不方便。给罹患慢性疾病的人和需要接受医疗护理的儿童所造成的影响尤为严重。此外,医疗用品十分匮乏,合格医护人员所剩无几,许多医护人员尚未返回。

在霍姆斯,寒冷的冬季与避难所简陋,肯定会导致患病人数上升,尤其是儿童。

尽管学校遭到破坏,但许多学校仍能照常上课。我走访了一所已经开课的学校,并向一名教师了解到,她的班级约有50名学生。

在霍姆斯,最迫切需要应对叙利亚的冬季的严寒。全国目前有4百万人受到影响,其中近一半为儿童,急需大量人道主义物资,以确保安全过冬。他们迫切需要鞋和冬装。

联合国儿童基金会及其他联合国机构已经通过一个合作伙伴组织向该地区提供援助。在撰写此篇报道时,又有一批应急物资运达霍姆斯,包括5000床被褥、1400条毛毯和2000套家用卫生箱。此外,联合国儿童基金会还为霍姆斯的6400名儿童提供了高能饼干,并为安全学习中心提供支持,使儿童能够继续学业。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Syrian Arab Republic

Field diary: Impressions from the battered war zone of Homs, Syrian Arab Republic

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1725/AL-MASRI
A boy stands, bundled in winter clothing, in Za’atari, a camp for Syrian refugees in Jordan. Winter has fallen on the region, and those refugees who have made their way back to the Syrian Arab Republic are in desperate need of winter clothing.

UNICEF Emergency Specialist Mark Choonoo was recently in Homs. He describes the situation there and the impact the conflict has wreaked on children and families.

By Mark Choonoo

HOMS, Syrian Arab Republic, 15 January 2013 – Homs has been the scene of some of the heaviest fighting in the Syrian Arab Republic’s 22-month conflict, with hundreds of thousands of residents displaced.

While some parts of the city have been untouched by conflict and seemingly carry on as normal, other areas exhibit the unmistakable signs of intense battles – buildings scarred with bullet holes and shell holes, blown-out windows, rubble. From what I have seen in the suburb of Baba Amr, I would estimate that as many as two thirds of the buildings have been damaged, while others have collapsed completely.

Yet, there are signs of life, even here in this battered war zone. Baba Amr is now relatively calm, with some families making their way back, trying to rebuild their lives. One still hears the sound of explosions and gunfire in the distance.

The cold winter weather is adding to the misery. It’s so bitterly cold, with overnight temperatures dropping to below 0⁰ Celsius. Many children I saw were wearing only light clothes and sandals, or socks, without shoes. All of the children I talked to complained about the cold. Many expressed sadness about friends who had gone away and not returned. But – despite it all, they seemed happy to be home.

Many families are living in extremely basic conditions, using plastic sheeting to cover broken windows and doors, sleeping on bare concrete floors or thin mattresses. There is very little heating and a lack of diesel fuel, which is urgently needed for heating. People are trying to make the best of the conditions, but just imagine how cold it must be, especially at night.

Other families take refuge in collective shelters, some of which are being supported by local business people.

Although water was functioning in the areas I went to, electricity seems to come only in short spurts. One butcher shop I saw had no electricity for freezers, so animals were slaughtered daily, their carcasses hung in the frigid cold outside the shop.

I visited a local health centre that has been destroyed and is no longer in use. This clinic is but one example of how the destruction of basic community facilities is creating a major gap for returnees, particularly those with chronic illnesses and children who need access to healthcare. There is also a shortage of medical supplies, and many health staff have left the area, leaving a vacuum of qualified personnel.

The cold winter weather coupled with poor shelter will only contribute to an increase in winter illnesses, especially among children, in Homs.

Although some schools have been damaged, many continue to run as normal. I visited a school that is still functioning and talked to a teacher who has about 50 students in her class.

The most urgent needs in Homs relate to responding to the harsh winter in the Syrian Arab Republic. With four million people across the country affected, close to half of them children, there is a massive need for humanitarian supplies to make sure they are warm and safe. They urgently need shoes and winter clothes.

UNICEF and other United Nations agencies have provided assistance to the area through a partner organization. While I was writing these lines, new emergency supplies reached Homs, including 5,000 quilts, 1,400 blankets and 2,000 family hygiene kits. UNICEF has also recently provided high-energy biscuits for 6,400 children in Homs and supported safe learning spaces to allow children to continue their education.


 

 

New enhanced search