阿拉伯叙利亚共和国

伊拉克难民儿童在叙利亚接受社会心理辅导

UNICEF Photo: Syrian Arab Republic, Psychosocial counselling
© UNICEF Syria/2008
一名小女孩在与叙利亚红新月会的志愿者一起玩,这些志愿者受过对需要特殊社会心理支持的儿童案例进行评估的培训。

英格丽达.克鲁扫斯凯特报道

阿拉伯叙利亚共和国大马士革,2009年7月22日 - 六岁的塔莱克*紧紧抱着母亲的衣服,焦急地等待着他每周例行的心理辅导疗程。社会工作者、心理学家和塔莱克的母亲都鼓励这个小男孩,抬起头来说你好,但他就是不离开妈妈的大腿。

社会工作者穆罕默德.喀拉曼(Mohammed Kahraman)说:“伊拉克难民经历过很多事,有些恐怖的经历是没经过战争的人们所无法想象的。让六岁的孩子带着这样的记忆生活,是我们所不能接受的。”

阿里的故事

阿里是另一名到这个儿童友好乐园里的“儿童保护和心理支持中心”来的六岁男孩。这个乐园由联合国儿童基金会和叙利亚红新月会运营,是叙利亚红新月会的志愿者管理的许多中心之一,这些志愿者为伊拉克的难民儿童组织游戏和活动。

三年前,阿里的家人在他目睹了叔叔被一群人杀害之后逃离伊拉克。事件发生之后的一个月里,阿里都坐在角落,不与任何人说话。他变得很怕黑、怕枪声、怕自己睡觉,甚至怕去上厕所。
儿童友好乐园的活动帮助确认需要心理评估的儿童。

志愿者萨拉.扎玛尔(Sarah Jamal)说:“我们观察这些儿童与他们的小伙伴和志愿者之间的关系。有些孩子可能比较暴力,有侵略性;而其他孩子则拒绝参与团体活动。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Mala
一名小女孩在大马士革城外联合国儿童基金会与叙利亚红新月会支持的儿童友好乐园里玩耍。

在进行治疗了六个月之后,阿里变得喜欢心理学家的辅导疗程。他说他开始期待即将到来的新学年。他说:“去年他们说我太小,说我九月份可以上学。我恨不得九月份快点来,我想在学校里交朋友。”

阿里的母亲认为他进步了。她说:“虽然他的恐惧感还存在,但是他现在可以控制声音,不会无缘无故地喊叫了。

塔莱克的故事

塔莱克与治疗师见过面之后,回到候诊室时比较愿意讲话了。他讲了他所喜欢的歌手和游戏。塔莱克的母亲说,因为她先生接到死亡恐吓,她家在来叙利亚之前一直不断地搬家。

她回忆说:“我所有的孩子都目睹了战争最残酷的一面。”为了改善家里的财务状况,她的丈夫最近返回伊拉克,从此就没有了音讯。

塔莱克的母亲讲出真心话,她说:“我有时觉得坚持不住了,就在家里哭。当然,被孩子们看到,觉得更没安全感了。我现在是他们唯一能依靠的人,唯一照顾他们的人。”

归根到底,儿童的心理健康很大程度上受到父母和其他家庭成员精神状态的影响。

中心的一位案例研究员亚瑟尔.莫阿拉(Yasser Moalla)说:“儿童通过父母了解有关世界的一切,如果母亲觉得世界不是一个安全的地方,她就会将她的恐惧和不安全感传递给她的孩子们。”

持续的需求

自2008年4月以来,联合国儿童基金会和叙利亚红新月会建立了综合训练中心,以支持需要特殊协助的伊拉克儿童及其家庭成员。每个中心由一名心理医生、一名心理学家、一名语言治疗师、一名案例研究员和一名社会工作者组成。

迄今为止,在塞达赞纳布(Saida Zainab)、加拉马纳(Jaramana)、麦泽(Mezzeh)和玛兹拉(Mazraa)的这些中心已经接到1600多个案例,并提供了3500多个后续疗程。

* 为保护未成年人,此处为化名。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Syrian Arab Republic

Iraqi refugee children receive psycho-social counselling in Syria

UNICEF Image: Syrian Arab Republic, Psychosocial counselling
© UNICEF Syria/2008
A girl plays with Syrian Arab Red Crescent volunteers who are trained to assess cases of children who need special psycho-social support.

By Ingrida Kerusauskaite

DAMASCUS, Syrian Arab Republic, 22 July 2009 – Six-year-old Tareq* clings to his mother’s clothing and waits anxiously for his weekly psychotherapy session. The social worker, the psychologist and Tareq’s mother all encourage the little boy to lift his head up and say hello, but he won’t leave his mother’s lap.

“Iraqi refugees have been through so much,” explains social worker Mohammed Kahraman. “Some of the horrible things they have experienced are unimaginable for those who have not seen war. It is unacceptable that six-year-olds have to live with such memories.”

Ali’s story

Ali is another six-year-old visiting this Child Protection and Psychosocial Support Unit at a child-friendly space operated by UNICEF and the Syrian Arab Red Crescent (SARC). It is one of the many centres run by SARC volunteers, who organize games and activities for Iraqi refugee children.

Ali’s family fled Iraq three years ago, shortly after the child witnessed a group of men killing his uncle. For a month after the event, Ali sat in a corner crying and spoke to no one. He developed very strong fears – of the dark, of the sound of shooting, of sleeping alone and even of going to the bathroom.

At the child-friendly space, activities help identify children in need of psychological assessment.

“We watch the relationships kids have with their peers and the volunteers. Some children may be violent and aggressive; others refuse to participate in group activities,” says volunteer Sarah Jamal.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Mala
A girl playing in the UNICEF/SARC child-friendly space outside Damascus.

Six months after his referral, Ali has grown to enjoy his counselling sessions with the psychologist. He says he has begun to look forward to the upcoming school year, explaining: “Last year they said I was too young. They said that in September I could go. I can’t wait until September comes. I hope to make friends at school.”

Ali’s mother believes he has made progress. “Although his fears are still very much present, he can now control his voice [and] does not scream for no reason,” she says.

Tareq’s story

After his appointment with the therapist, Tareq returns to the waiting room more willing to talk. He speaks about his favourite singers and games. Tareq’s mother says her family was constantly on the move before their arrival in the Syrian Arab Republic because her husband received death threats.

“All of my children have witnessed the worst side of war,” she recalls. Her husband recently returned to Iraq to try to replenish the family’s finances. He has not been heard from since his departure.

“Sometimes I cannot take it anymore and just cry at home,” confides Tareq’s mother. “Of course, the children notice it and feel even less safe. Now I’m the only person they can rely on, the only one looking after them.”

Ultimately, children’s mental health is very much influenced by their parents’ and other family members’ mental state.

“A child learns everything about the world from his parents. If the mother feels that the world is not a safe place, she will pass on her fears and sense of insecurity to her children,” explains a case worker at the centre, Yasser Moalla.

Ongoing need

UNICEF  and SARC have been establishing multidisciplinary units since April 2008 to support Iraqi children and family members in need of specialized assistance. Each unit consists of a psychiatrist, a psychologist, a speech therapist, a case study worker and a social worker.

To date, the units in Saida Zainab, Jaramana, Mezzeh and Mazraa have received more than 1,600 cases and have provided more than 3,500 follow-up sessions.

* The names of the children in this story have been changed.


 

 

New enhanced search