阿拉伯叙利亚共和国

联合国儿童基金会执行主任结束对叙利亚的访问

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Syria/2009/Malkawi
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼在大马士革郊区的贾拉玛纳,与叙利亚红新月会和联合国儿童基金会中心的青少年及志愿者在一起。她于2009年6月25至30日对叙利亚进行访问。

阿拉伯叙利亚共和国大马士革,2009年6月30号 - 联合国儿童基金会执行主任安维尼曼结束其对叙利亚具有里程碑意义的访问,她赞扬了联合国儿童基金会的叙利亚合作伙伴在帮助儿童和青年方面所取得的成绩。

维尼曼女士说:“叙利亚认识到投资于儿童和青少年的至关重要性。但是,还存在一些挑战,包括确保优质教育、为年轻人提供机会和解决干旱的影响等问题。”

维尼曼女士于6月25至30日对叙利亚的访问,是首位联合国儿童基金会执行主任对阿拉伯叙利亚共和国的访问。维尼曼主任参观了联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴所支持的一些项目,深入了解如何面对这些挑战。

应对转变
为强调对叙利亚人和难民家庭及其子女提供综合预防保健的重要性,维尼曼来到收容伊拉克难民的胡塞尼亚(Hussainya)难民营,访问了一个发展迅速的公共保健中心。

该中心拥有一支女志愿者队伍,她们与当地非政府组织的工作人员和卫生保健专家一起工作。这种方法被视为一种模式,在全国各地推广 – 包括推广到叙利亚干旱和贫困问题最严重的东北部省份的一个计划建设的中心。

胡塞尼亚中心还定期举办热闹的母亲大会,它成为保健和育儿教育的一个重要渠道。维尼曼与母亲们交谈,注意到她们的支持网络可以帮助这些妇女更有效地应对她们生活的转变。

支持青年企业家
维尼曼主任对叙利亚访问的大部分时间,在关注影响青少年的问题。例如,她在首都大马士革郊区贾拉玛纳的一个创新型青少年友好家园做短暂停留,很快她就沉浸在伊拉克难民青少年朝气蓬勃的辩论之中。

UNICEF Photo
© Presidential Palace
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼在叙利亚访问期间,与叙利亚总统巴沙尔.阿萨德博士会面。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任对叙利亚显著的经济增长表示赞赏,她恳切地强调,在发展的进程中,不能忘记年轻人。维尼曼主任会见了支持青年企业家的非政府组织代表,并参观了两个创业项目 - 一个欣欣向荣的美容美发店和一个小食品市场,它们是由服务不发达地区的小额信贷贷款支持的。

在过去的几天里,维尼曼主任会见了令人鼓舞的儿童、妇女和青少年,联合国儿童基金会更加振奋,将继续致力于全体叙利亚年轻人所需要的教育、保健和保护工作。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年6月30日:执行主任安.维尼曼考察联合国儿童基金会在叙利亚支持的项目。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Syrian Arab Republic

UNICEF Executive Director concludes landmark Syria visit

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Syria/2009/Malkawi
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman with a group of adolescents and volunteers from the Syrian Arab Red Crescent/UNICEF centre in Jaramana, located in the suburbs of Damascus, during her visit to Syria from 25 to 29 June 2009.

DAMASCUS, Syrian Arab Republic, 30 June 2009 – UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman concluded a landmark tour of Syria by commending UNICEF’s Syrian partners for their accomplishments benefiting children and young people. 

VIDEO: Watch now

“Syria is recognizing the critical importance of investing in children and adolescents,” said Veneman. “Yet challenges remain, including ensuring quality education, providing opportunities for youth and addressing the impact of drought.”

On her 25-29 June visit – the first ever to the Syrian Arab Republic by a UNICEF Executive Director – Veneman toured a number of projects supported by UNICEF and its partners, gaining an insight into how these challenges are being met.

Coping with transitions
Stressing the importance of preventive integrated health care for Syrian and refugee families and their children, Veneman visited a thriving public health centre in the Hussainya camp for Iraqi refugees.

The centre boasts a team of female volunteers working alongside the staff of a local non-governmental organization and health-care professionals. It is seen as a model to be replicated across the country – including at a planned centre in the North Eastern Governorates, where drought and poverty are at their most extreme in Syria.

The Hussainya centre also hosts regular and boisterous mothers’ meetings that serve as a conduit for important health and child-care education. Veneman talked to the mothers and noted that their support network helps these women cope more effectively with transitions in their lives.

Support for young entrepreneurs
Issues affecting adolescents informed much of Veneman’s visit to Syria. For example, she was quickly immersed in the youthful exuberance of a debate among young Iraqi refugees during a stop at an innovative Adolescent-Friendly Space in Jaramana, located in the suburbs of the capital, Damascus.

UNICEF Image
© Presidential Palace
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman meeting the President of Syria, Dr. Bashar Al Assad, during her visit to Syria.

Impressed by Syria’s evident economic growth, the UNICEF Executive Director was keen to stress that young people must not be left behind by the development process. Veneman met representatives from NGOs that support youth entrepreneurs, and saw two entrepreneurial projects – a thriving beauty salon and a mini-food market – supported by microfinancing loans in underserved areas.

Re-invigorated by the inspiring children, women and adolescents Veneman met over the last few days, UNICEF will continue to champion the educational, health care and protection needs of all of Syria’s young people.


 

 

Video

29 June 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on Executive Director Ann M. Veneman’s landmark trip to Syria.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Global Humanitarian Forum

Drought was one of the issues addressed during Ann M. Veneman's visit to Syria. At the Global Humanitarian Forum in Geneva just prior to the trip, she joined a panel discussion on climate change, which is increasingly cited as a cause of drought and severe weather.

Watch the panel entitled 'Humanitarian Actors'.
(external link, opens in a new window)

New enhanced search