UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

苏丹

一名联合国儿童基金会驻苏丹的工作人员回忆一个硝烟弥漫的夜晚

联合国儿童基金会在世界人道主义日这天与全体人道主义工作者一同纪念那些为工作而付出生命的同仁。

苏丹卡杜格利(KADUGLI),2013年5月21日 —— 我是一名苏丹人,正在担任联合国儿童基金会驻苏丹卡杜格利区办事处的儿童保护官。

2011年6月6日,南科尔多凡州(South Kordofan)首府卡杜格利战事紧张、炮声隆隆。在结束了一天漫长的工作后,我回到家中。炮弹像雨点般落下,很多都集中在住宅区附近。晚上8点,一些邻居涌入我家寻求避难 —— 却发现我们三个人也只能躲在床底下。突然,我的一位美国同事给我打来电话。他住在镇中心,一直在一家国际非政府组织工作。电话中他告诉我,那边的战事不那么紧张,让我去他家躲避。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1489/Holt
儿童们参加卡特米尔(El Khatmia)村的社区会议,卡特米尔位于苏丹加扎里夫州(Gadaref)。

战事紧张的卡杜格利

晚上9点,一名年轻男子闯进我乱作一团的家,让大家立即离开,因为这里即将成为袭击的目标。我的两名同事及屋子里的其他人都跑到了镇中心的警察医院。我决定先去找800米之外非政府组织的那位同事,因为根本没有办法去联合国儿童基金会办公室或任何其他联合国机构的办事处 —— 也有一些同事被困在办公室里,正在打电话呼救。我身上揣着对讲机,悄悄地向市中心走去,那里有一个非政府组织的招待所。去往市中心的路上,对讲机中传来一名同事的呼救声 —— 但没有人能帮得上忙,包括我自己。

路上,我看到一个骑自行车回家的十几岁的孩子被击中,从自动车上摔了下来,不断发出惨叫。我和另外两名路人将他抬到附近的一座政府大楼里,我们没法送他去医院。在不到200米的距离里,我经过了五个检查站。因为对讲机看起来好像一颗手榴弹,我每次都被迫在检查站停下来接受检查。但是最后,我还是安全地抵达目的地。

30分钟后,我的手机嘟嘟地响了起来。

“喂,哪位?”我问道。

“我是澳大利亚墨尔本的娜塔丽(Natalie)。穆罕默德,你现在安全无恙吗?”

“娜塔丽,我没事。你听到什么了?”

“炮声。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1476/Holt
在苏丹卡萨拉州(Kassala),萨米尔(Samir)抱着18个月大的女儿唐娅(Donya)。

“对,我在战事紧张的卡杜格利。”

“联合国儿童基金会大家庭”

娜塔丽是我以前的一位同事;我在卡杜格利执行儿童保护任务时的搭档,一起工作了两年。我们直到2009年才分开。那天晚上,她几乎每隔一小时就给我打一次电话,直到第二天。尽管前途未卜,但崇高的人道主义精神和同事间的关怀像一股暖流从墨尔本一直流淌到卡杜格利,我更真切地感受到作为一名联合国儿童基金会成员的骄傲。

联合国儿童基金会办事处总部转移到该镇以北约17公里处的联合国驻苏丹特派团(UNMIS)基地。她很担心,试图通过对讲机联系上她团队的成员们。

“请不要走动,除非有明确指示。请确认。”她通过对讲机呼叫。

“确认,是的,确认。完毕。”

第二天下午1点,我们所有人都转移到了联合国驻苏丹特派团基地。在长达17公里的转移途中,我看到妇女、老人和孩子们沿公路两侧撤离该镇,不时在树下休息。我看见妇女们牵着孩子,大点的孩子们抱着自己的弟弟妹妹,还有一个男人背着体弱的母亲。这悲惨的一幕让我想起我曾帮助过的生活在卡杜格利街头无人照看的儿童。他们完全没有得到保护,在战争突然打响这样危险的情况下,他们却没有得到任何逃离的指导或建议。

“崇高的工作”

抵达联合国驻苏丹特派团基地后,我与两位同事一起到外面深入了解儿童正面临的流离失所的悲惨现实,并准备做出可能的响应行动。

“啊,这是彼得;你好吗,我的孩子?其他人在哪里 —— 科科(Koko),莱麦丹(Ramadan)……?”

“我不知道。”彼得说,“他们跑丢了。胡达(Huda)在哪里?我好饿啊。”

“我要去找她,还要找些吃的。”我答应道。

在那一刻,除了年龄的差异,我与小彼得看起来没有什么不同。过去三天里,我穿着同一身衣服;为了生存,我必须向一个同事借钱。我所有的财物都在我的住所,而且拿不回来。

9岁的彼得是一个聪明的孩子,但他认不出一个家人。胡达是一名社工兼社会福利专员。当我打通她的电话时,她告诉我,她正在用一辆皮卡车运走36名家人。

我竭尽全力地保护彼得,并帮助他寻找失散的伙伴。但这很快也变得无法做到,因为第二天我被要求向喀土穆转移 —— 彼得和他的朋友们只能留在完全不安全、悲惨的环境中。

帮助儿童 —— 特别是弱势儿童是一项崇高的工作。无论走到哪里,我都会专注于帮助需要支持的弱势儿童。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影:满足儿童需求

搜索

Sudan

A UNICEF staff member in Sudan recalls a night caught in fierce fighting

UNICEF commemorates World Humanitarian Day by recognizing all humanitarians who have lost their lives in the course of their work, and those who continue to serve.

KADUGLI, Sudan, 21 May 2013 – I’m a Sudanese national working with UNICEF Sudan as a child protection officer in Kadugli Zone Office.

On 6 June 2011, I returned home after a long working day just as fierce fighting and shelling overtook Kadugli, the capital of South Kordofan state. Shells rained down, largely focused on our residential areas. At 8 p.m, members of neighbouring households poured into our house looking for refuge – only to find its three occupants lying under their beds for safety. Suddenly I was called by an American colleague of mine who used to work for an international NGO to join him in his house in the centre of the town, advising me that fighting around his place was sporadic and light.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1489/Holt
Children attend a community meeting in El Khatmia Village in Sudan's Gadaref state.

Kadugli under fire

At 9 p.m. a young man rushed into our chaotic home and instructed everyone to vacate immediately, as the place was becoming a target. My two colleagues and the rest of the guests ran to the police hospital in the centre of town. I decided to join NGO colleagues some 800 metres away, as there was no way to reach the UNICEF compound or any other UN agency premises - some colleagues were trapped in the office and calling for help. I took my radio handset and sneaked my way to the city centre where the NGO guesthouse was. As I did, I could hear a colleague calling for assistance on the radio - but nobody, including me, could help.

As I carried on, a teenager who was cycling home was shot and fell, yelling. I joined two passers-by to carry him to a nearby government house, unable to get him to the hospital. Finally I reached my destination safely, after being stopped at checkpoints five times in less than 200 metres; it seemed my radio handset bore a resemblance to a hand grenade.

Thirty minutes later, my cell phone rang, peeb, peeb.

“Hello who is this?” I ask.

“This is Natalie from Melbourne, Australia. Mohamed, I hope you are OK and safe.”

“Nats, I’m fine. What are you hearing?”

“Shelling.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1476/Holt
A father holds his daughter, 18 months old, in Kassala state, Sudan.

“Yah this is Kadugli under fire.”

‘UNICEF family’

Natalie is a former colleague of mine; we worked as a child protection team in Kadugli for two years until 2009. She kept calling me that night every hour until the next day. Despite the uncertain situation, I felt really proud to be a member of the UNICEF family stretching from Melbourne to Kadugli and enjoyed the sense of humanity and caring for each other.

The head of the UNICEF office was relocated to the UN Mission in Sudan (UNMIS) base some 17 kilometres north of the town. She was worried too, trying to locate members of her team by radio alone.

“Please do not move unless instructed. Confirm,” she announced over the radio.

“Confirm, yes, confirm. Out.”

The next day at 1 p.m., we had all been relocated to the UNMIS base. Along the 17 kilometres distance I had seen women, elderly persons and children walking on the sides of the road, taking rest under trees for a while, evacuating the town. I saw women trailing children, children carrying their siblings and a man carrying his ailing mother on his back. This miserable panorama reminded me of the unaccompanied children I work with who are living and working in the streets of Kadugli. They are utterly without protection or even guidance or advice about such a dangerous situation as the fighting that had taken all of us by surprise.

“A noble job”

After reaching the UNMIS base, I went out with two colleagues to get an impression of the displacements and the horror that children were facing, and to prepare for a possible response.

“Eh, here is Peter; how you are my child? Where are the rest - Koko, Ramadan ...?”

“I do not know,” said Peter. “They ran away. Where is Huda? I’m very hungry.”

“I’m going to look for her and for food,” I promise.

At that moment, apart from the age difference, I looked no different from Peter, as I had worn one set of clothes for the last three days. I borrowed money for survival from a colleague, as all my belongings at my residence had gone for ever.

Peter is a smart 9-year-old child who cannot even identify a single member of his family. Huda is a case worker and a social welfare focal point. When I phoned her, she told me that she was putting her 36 family members in a single pickup truck and getting away.

So I tried my best to be the guardian of Peter and look for his missing mates. But that didn't work either, because the next day I was asked to relocate to Khartoum - leaving behind Peter and his friends to their totally unsafe and miserable environment.

Working with children - and particularly the vulnerable ones - is a noble job. Wherever I go, my eyes see only the vulnerable children who are in need of support.


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Meeting child needs

New enhanced search