苏丹

联合国儿童基金会使者米亚.法罗和马丁.贝尔访问苏丹南部

当地家庭和社区正致力于战后恢复重建

俾斯麦.斯旺因报道

苏丹南部西赤道州,2011 年 3 月 18 日 - 苏丹南部的妇女和儿童成为战乱冲突主要的受害群体。交战方为上帝抵抗军、由苏丹南部控制的乌干达反抗组织、刚果民主共和国和中非共和国。

视频:2011 年3 月15 日—联合国儿童基金会人道主义紧急救助英国亲善大使贝尔讲述了关于战乱冲突对苏丹南部家庭的影响,以及他与亲善大使法罗在当地视察时看到的情况。 在Realplayer中播放

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使法罗和人道主义紧急救助英国大使贝尔于上周视察了苏丹南部的西赤道州,并在联合国儿童基金会支持设立的转接中心(为从上帝抵抗军处解救出的儿童而设立)倾听了这些受害儿童的亲身经历。视察了被暴乱分子毁坏的社区。

“对于每一位寻求希望的苏丹南部人来说,我们的到来至关重要。”法罗女士说:“但是在边境地区,孩子们的生活不断被暴力冲突破坏 - 有时甚至惨不忍睹。跟我交谈的妇女和孩子们生活在恐慌之中,不敢去田里取食物,不敢去学校,甚至不敢呆在家里。她们说最渴望的就是安全和保护。”

“过渡时期”

在阿卜耶伊 (Abyei) 边境地区,法罗女士和贝尔先生亲眼目睹了空荡荡的村庄,迫于战乱,人们纷纷逃走,害怕再遭袭击。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0435/Viquerie
在苏丹南部西赤道州 (Western Equatoria State) 恩扎拉 (Nzara) 镇附近的一个受到破坏的社区,联合国儿童基金会亲善大使法罗怀抱着娅米玛 (Yamima),与孩子的母亲捷丽萨•爱德华(Jerrissa Edward) 亲切交谈

一些在阿卜耶伊动乱中背井离乡的人们最近从苏丹北部返回。由于 1983 年到 2005 年的南北内战,他们在苏丹北部生活了 10 多年,大约几十万苏丹南部人在 1 月 9 日前从北方纷纷返回。1 月 9 日是全民公投日,投票结果是压倒性地选择从苏丹分离,将于 7 月 9 日成立一个独立的国家。

“在为联合国儿童基金会工作的这十年中,我一直觉得这项工作意义重大。”贝尔先生说:“苏丹南部现在处于过渡时期,未来机遇与挑战并存,这个国家的希望寄托在孩子们的身上。联合国儿童基金会正在竭力改善孩子们的生活。

乔伊斯的故事:被绑架与被解救

与乌干达政府进行了将近二十年战争的上帝抵抗军因绑架、特别是对妇女和儿童的绑架而臭名昭著。年幼的绑架受害者往往被迫参与暴力行动或杀死企图逃跑的同伴。他们当中很少有人能成功逃生。那些留在上帝抵抗军的受害者则被充当性奴隶或搬运工、或被迫加入战斗行动。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0436/de Viguerie
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使法罗(中)和人道主义紧急救助英国亲善大使贝尔(后)在苏丹南部的亚姆毕奥 (Yambio)机场受到群众的欢迎。

法罗女士和贝尔先生在看望乔伊斯的时候,乔伊斯向他们讲述了她过去的经历。2007 年,15 岁的乔伊斯在苏丹南部的一个村庄被绑架。她和许多其他被绑架的人被迫穿过山丘和沼泽地,来到刚果民主共和国边境地区上帝抵抗军的基地。

“我当时不知道该怎么办。我很累,但是我还必须假装很强壮。否则,我就会被杀掉。”乔伊斯说。

当上帝抵抗军袭击她所居住的村庄时,她回忆道,他们杀掉了那些企图逃跑的人、烧毁了房子、绑架了所有他们能找到的人。当这些被绑架的女孩到达刚果民主共和国之后,她们被分配给士兵们做妻子。“我们当时别无选择,”乔伊斯说:“我们只能祈求他们不要杀死我们。”

在针对上帝抵抗军基地发起的几次袭击之后,乔伊斯粗鲁的丈夫让她滚。因为这几次袭击使上帝抵抗军的士兵们更分散,他们很难将女人带在身边。乔伊斯最终被解救。在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,中赤道州 (Central Equatoria State) 社会发展部成功地找到了乔伊斯的家人,现在她终于和家人团聚了。

史蒂芬的故事:很高兴能回家

另一名绑架受害者讲述了他的故事。2008年1月,16 岁的史蒂芬在离乔伊斯家不远的一个村庄被绑架。当上帝抵抗军袭击他们的村庄时,他正和几个朋友在外面玩,随即他们被绑架了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0438/de Viguerie
联合国儿童基金会人道主义紧急救助英国大使贝尔视察了苏丹南部一个无家可归者社区。这里的人们在遭到上帝抵抗军的袭击时,逃离家园,来到了这里。

在被绑架的三年里,史蒂芬被迫参与战斗。“他们给了我一支枪。枪很长也很重,他们告诉我,如果我把枪弄丢了,我和我的全家都会被杀死。”他说。

在乌干达、南苏丹和刚果民主共和国的联军对上帝抵抗军基地发起的攻击中,斯蒂芬的腿部被击中。乌干达军队将他解救出来,并送到乌干达治疗。痊愈之后,他飞回南苏丹,与家人团聚。

史蒂芬说他很高兴能够重返家园,返回学校并继续完成学业,他补充说:“我会放下过去的一切,努力赶上学习的进度。”

联合国儿童基金会通过与南苏丹政府合作,为像乔伊斯和史蒂芬这样的年轻人以及他们的家庭提供一系列基础服务,让他们能够更好、更快地融入社会。


 

 

搜索

Sudan

UNICEF Ambassadors Mia Farrow and Martin Bell visit Southern Sudan

Families and communities struggle to recover from impact of war

By Bismarck Swangin

WESTERN EQUATORIA STATE, Southern Sudan, 18 March 2011 – Women and children in Southern Sudan have been among those most affected by the activities of the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA), the Ugandan rebel group operating from Southern Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Central African Republic.

VIDEO: 15 March 2011 - UNICEF UK Ambassador for Humanitarian Emergencies Martin Bell reports on the impact of conflict on families in Southern Sudan, where he travelled with Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow and UNICEF UK Ambassador for Humanitarian Emergencies Martin Bell visited Southern Sudan’s Western Equatoria State last week and listened to first-hand testimonies at a UNICEF-supported transit centre for children rescued from the LRA. They also visited communities displaced by the rebels.

“We have come here at what should be such a hopeful time for everyone in Southern Sudan,” said Ms. Farrow. “But the lives of children along the border areas continue to be torn apart by violence – at times with unimaginable brutality. The women and children I spoke to were living in terror, afraid to go to their fields for food, afraid to go to school or even remain in their homes. They told me that what they want and need most is safety and protection.”

‘A time of transition’

In the border region of Abyei, Ms. Farrow and Mr. Bell saw empty villages abandoned by families fleeing recent clashes or fearing further attacks.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0435/Viquerie
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow, holding Yamima, speaks with the child’s mother, Jerrissa Edward, in a displaced community near the town of Nzara in Western Equatoria State, Southern Sudan.

Some of those displaced by the tension in Abyei had recently returned from Northern Sudan, where they lived in displacement for more than a decade due to the north-south civil war that raged from 1983 to 2005. Hundreds of thousands of Southern Sudanese streamed back from the north ahead of the 9 January referendum in which southerners overwhelmingly voted for secession; they are due to form an independent country as of 9 July.

“In all my ten years with UNICEF I have never found its work more necessary,” said Mr. Bell. “Southern Sudan is in a time of transition, with great opportunities and great dangers ahead. The new country’s future lies in its children, and UNICEF is concentrating its efforts on changing their lives for the better.”

Joyce’s story: Abducted and rescued

The LRA, which has waged war against the Government of Uganda for close to two decades, is notorious for abductions, particularly of women and children. Young abductees are often forced to participate in acts of violence or to kill fellow child captives who have attempted to escape. Very few of them manage to flee to safety. Those who remain with the LRA are used as sex slaves or porters, or forced into combat operations.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0436/de Viguerie
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow (centre) and UNICEF UK Ambassador for Humanitarian Emergencies Martin Bell (background) are greeted at Yambio's airport in Southern Sudan.

Joyce, a young woman who testified about her past experiences during the visit by Ms. Farrow and Mr. Bell, was abducted in her village in Southern Sudan in 2007 at the age of 15. She and many other captives were marched through hills and swamps across the border to DR Congo, where the LRA has bases.

“I didn’t know what to do. I was tired but I had to pretend to be strong. Otherwise, I would have been killed,” said Joyce.

When the LRA attacked her village, she recalled, they killed those who attempted to flee, torched homes and abducted anyone they could find. When the abducted girls arrived in DR Congo, they were distributed among the fighters as wives. “There was no option,” said Joyce. “We only prayed that they should not kill us.”

Joyce was recently rescued after her abusive rebel husband let her go following attacks on the LRA bases, which scattered the fighters and made it difficult for them to take the women along. With support from UNICEF, the Central Equatoria State Ministry of Social development successfully located Ms. Joyce’s family, and she is now reunited with them.

Stephen’s story: Glad to be home

Another former abductee who told his story, Stephen, 16, was taken in January 2008 from a village not far from Joyce’s. He had gone out to play with his friends when the LRA attacked and abducted him with some of his friends.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-0438/de Viguerie
UNICEF UK Ambassador for Humanitarian Emergencies Martin Bell visits a community of displaced people in Southern Sudan who fled their homes after attacks by the Lord’s Resistance Army.

For three years, Stephen was forced into fighting. “They gave me a gun. It was long and heavy, but I was told that if I lost it, I and my entire family would be exterminated,” he said.

After an attack on the LRA bases by a coalition of the armies of Uganda, Southern Sudan and DR Congo, Stephen was shot in the leg. He was rescued by the Ugandan Army and transported to Uganda for treatment. After making a full recovery, he was flown to Southern Sudan and reunited with his family.

Stephen said he was happy to return home, go to school and complete his studies, adding: “I will put the past behind me and work hard to catch up with my school.”

Working with the Government of Southern Sudan, UNICEF provides a basic package of services to children and young people like Joyce and Stephen, and their families, to foster effective reintegration into the community.


 

 

New enhanced search