苏丹

特雷扎的故事:我想做一名飞行员

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF-NYHQ/2009/Kavanagh
17岁的青少年记者特雷扎.基塔莱(Tereza Kitale)正在参加由联合国儿童基金会电台、苏丹南部电台和联合国儿童基金会紧急情况下的教育和危机后过渡方案开办的广播电台研讨会。

《儿童权利公约》是一项具有里程碑意义的有关儿童基本权利的国际公约。在联合国儿童基金会即将庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年之际,联合国儿童基金会汇编了一系列故事,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题。以下是其中的一篇报道。

苏丹南部朱巴,2009年8月21日 – 每当特雷扎.基塔莱(Tereza Kitale)仰头看着苏丹南部朱巴镇上空的蓝天,她就能看到她的未来。

她说:“我想成为一名飞行员。但是在苏丹南部这里,女飞行员非常少。”

这位在朱巴日校上学的17岁的学生希望能够改变这个现状。

朱巴广播研讨会

今年6月,特雷扎参加了为10名朱巴青少年举办的为期一周的广播节目制作研讨会。在与联合国儿童基金会有关紧急情况下的教育和危机后过渡的“回到正轨”项目、联合国儿童基金会苏丹南部地区项目及苏丹南部电台的合作下,联合国儿童基金会电台与来自当地学校的五名男生和五名女生一起举办了这个研讨会。

这些年轻人们学会了如何录制、编辑、撰写和制作自己的电台报道。

采访女飞行员

为了她的报道,特雷扎采访了在朱巴为世界粮食计划署工作的肯迪亚女飞行员贾斯汀.塔克齐(Justine Takoki)。

塔克齐女士说女性成为飞行员的一个主要障碍是这一行业基本上是男人的天下。她说:“对女人来说,想要来这里开飞机是很难的。”

她跟特雷扎说:“我给苏丹女孩们的建议就是不要放弃梦想——如果她们真的想要做飞行员,她们应该追随自己的梦想,让梦想成真并为之付出努力。”

塔克齐女士说特雷扎使她想起她在上高中的时候遇到的一名女飞行员。那位女飞行员也是肯尼亚唯一的女机长,她给了塔克齐女士很大的激励。“我去和她交谈——就好像你现在这样——她鼓励我,还告诉我需要做什么。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF-NYHQ/2009/Kavanagh
特雷扎.基塔莱采访在朱巴为世界粮食计划署工作的肯迪亚女飞行员贾斯汀.塔克齐。

特雷扎说:“我希望能和塔克齐女士做同样的工作,我还希望有一天能和她一起飞行。”

特雷扎制作的报道是为了纪念6月16日的非洲儿童日。

年轻人的视角

在今后的几个月中,联合国儿童基金会电台和 “回到正轨”节目将在其他国家举办一系列类似的研讨会。目标是:将青年人的视角纳入有关紧急情况下的教育和危机后过渡情况的讨论中,并以此纪念《儿童权利公约》发表20周年。

与此同时,联合国儿童基金会苏丹南部地区项目正与苏丹南部电台合作以使青少年记者参与到项目中,并通过给年轻人们一个在该地区广播自己心声的机会来赋予他们更大的权力。


 

 

音频(英文)

2009年6月:朱巴一位17岁的学生特雷扎.基塔莱谈她想要成为一名飞行员的梦想。
 音频 收听

儿童权利公约

青年之声

回到正轨

搜索

Sudan

Tereza’s story: I want to be a pilot

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF-NYHQ/2009/Kavanagh
Youth journalist Tereza Kitale, 17, in attendance at the radio workshop sponsored by UNICEF Radio, Southern Sudan Radio and UNICEF's Education in Emergencies and Post-Crisis Transition Programme.

In the run-up to the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child – a landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about progress made and challenges that remain. Here is one of those stories.

JUBA, Southern Sudan, 21 August 2009 – When Tereza Kitale looks up at the sky over the town of Juba, Southern Sudan, she sees her future.

"I want to become a pilot," she says.  "But here in Southern Sudan it's very difficult to find a female who has become a pilot."

The 17-year-old student at Juba Day School hopes to change that.

Juba radio workshop

In June, Tereza was one of the participants in a week-long radio production workshop for 10 young people from Juba. UNICEF Radio – in partnership with UNICEF's ‘Back on Track’ programme on Education in Emergencies and Post-Crisis Transition, the UNICEF Southern Sudan Area Programme and Southern Sudan Radio – conducted the workshop with five boys and five girls chosen from local schools.

The young people learned how to record, edit, write and produce a radio report of their own.

Interview with a female pilot

For her story, Tereza interviewed Justine Takoki, a Kenyan female pilot based in Juba for the World Food Programme.

Ms. Takoki said that a major obstacle for women pilots is that the profession is dominated by men. "For a woman to come in and start flying, it was very difficult," she said.

"My advice to Sudanese girls is to follow their passion – and if they really want to become a pilot they should follow their passion and dreams and realize them and work very hard at it," she told Tereza.

Ms. Takoki said that Tereza reminded her of when she was in high school and she met a female pilot – the only female captain in Kenya – who became an inspiration to her.  “And I went and talked to her – just like you're doing – and she encouraged me and showed me exactly what I needed to do."

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF-NYHQ/2009/Kavanagh
Tereza Kitale interviewing Kenyan female pilot for the World Food Program, Justine Takoki, who is based in Juba.

"I wish to do the same thing as Ms. Takoki," Tereza said. "And I wish to fly with her one day."

Tereza's report was produced to commemorate the Day of the African Child on 16 June.

Youth perspectives

UNICEF Radio and the Back on Track programme will conduct a series of similar workshops in other countries in the coming months. Their aim: to bring young people's perspectives into the debate around education in emergencies and post-crisis situations and to commemorate the 20th anniversary of the CRC.

Meanwhile, UNICEF's Southern Sudan Area Programme is working with Southern Sudan Radio to involve the new youth journalists in its programmes, empowering young people by giving them the chance to broadcast their voices throughout the region.


 

 

Audio

June 2009: 17-year-old student in Juba, Tereza Kitale, talks about her dream of becoming a pilot.
AUDIO listen

CRC @ 20

Voices of Youth

New enhanced search